We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect it all except Complimentary Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter to your Saves list
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #85 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Worcester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expect it all except Complimentary Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the 1st Marriott Courtyard I've stayed at that does not offer complimentary coffee. Admittedly, it's a small detail. But I think Marriott Courtyards everywhere should be consistent on fundamental features. Free coffee should be one of them. It's not that I'm cheap, I simply don't want to worry about waiting in line at 6am for a cup of coffee. Everything else about this property delivers in spades on what you'd expect from a Marriott Courtyard experience. Exceptional common space. Modern rooms. Friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    123
    49
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
83
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuck in North Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose to stay here as part of our round-trip Amtrak trip. We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased. We got in on Amtrak about 9:30 PM and caught a cab to this Courtyard Marriott just a block from Bourbon Street.

We had a great lady to check us in and when we mentioned my husband's damaged knee, she upgraded us to an accessible room which was right around the corner from the desk. We got the AAA rate which included breakfast which was a very good deal. Coffee was available in this area and also water so we felt very well taken care of.

The lobby furniture was clean and comfortable and laid out in an attractive pattern so we felt we were in a much more expensive hotel. What a deal! I hope they are running the same deal when we return to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - you *are* in New Orleans and expect some noise from partying neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week over Halloween. First let me say that the location of the hotel was perfect. It was just off of Canal, and 2 blocks away from Bourbon. It was close to the French Quarter without having to deal with all of the noise that can come with staying in the FQ. The room was a great size with plenty of space for all of our bags. The bathroom was a little small and it was hard for the 2 of us to be in there at the same time, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The front desk was very helpful in recommending places to eat, as well as setting up our tours and what not. I would definitely recommend staying her, and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this hotel as a last resort when most other hotels in the area were booked for a conference, but we're extremely glad we did. It had clean rooms, courteous staff, and easy access to walk to the French Quarter or bus to the Garden District. It was just close enough to the hot spots of New Orleans to make for easy trips, but far enough away that we could get some rest when we headed back to our room. Absolutely perfect for location.

If I could improve one thing, it would be the curtains. The window looks directly into the bed and the courtyard style meant the windows were looking in from the hallways and other rooms. The curtains worked fine for privacy, but never quite closed all the way, leaving a small gap. I had to prop them closed with my laptop bag to make sure a gust of the air conditioning didn't expose us in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just spent a week here and the hotel staff is very friendly, always saying hello and the door greeter always says, 'Welcome Back' when you return to the hotel. The room was clean, but the pillows on the bed were small, not the larger pillows found at most Marriott's. The front desk staff wore football t-shirts instead of Marriott outfits, which I found unprofessional and frankly, weird, but they were friendly and helpful. The hotel is 1 block from Bourbon street, making the location nearly perfect. A short walk to the casino and just down from beautiful Royal Street. This isn't the best Marriott I have stayed at, but it is in the top 5 overall and with its perfect location...I will definitely stay here again when I head back to the Big Easy..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and were pleasantly surprised. Although the room is not huge, it is decent size and there was plenty of room for my sister and me. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine.
We never made it to the breakfast that was available but the staff was accomodating in allowing us to get a yogurt at no cost.
The location is great - it is a very easy walk to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Harrah's, Superdome, etc. We did not take public transportation at all during our stay here as we were able to walk everywhere.
There was a city wide water treatment problem where you were advised to not use the water to wash your face and brush your teeth. It lasted about 24 hours and the hotel provided plenty of bottled water.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 4 day visit to New Orleans for a wedding. We were very happy with our hotel choice - it made getting around a dream as it really is right in the middle of everything a visitor could wish for. The hotel is a wonderful surprise as it looks like not much from the outside, amazing on the inside. Very spacious lobby area with a wonderful fireside living room for catching up with friends. Great breakfast dining area that was always filled with guests. The staff was friendly, the advice and help with getting around, doing tours etc was top notch. Our room was comfortable, bed was great, pillows got a gold star. However, I recommend requesting a room on the second floor. We were on the ground floor & our room was on a parking lot with cars pulled up right against our window which was a bit disconcerting. Otherwise, great value in a great city!

Room Tip: Definitely request second floor and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.