We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter to your Saves list
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Location and Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and were pleasantly surprised. Although the room is not huge, it is decent size and there was plenty of room for my sister and me. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine.
We never made it to the breakfast that was available but the staff was accomodating in allowing us to get a yogurt at no cost.
The location is great - it is a very easy walk to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Harrah's, Superdome, etc. We did not take public transportation at all during our stay here as we were able to walk everywhere.
There was a city wide water treatment problem where you were advised to not use the water to wash your face and brush your teeth. It lasted about 24 hours and the hotel provided plenty of bottled water.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    123
    49
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
83
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 4 day visit to New Orleans for a wedding. We were very happy with our hotel choice - it made getting around a dream as it really is right in the middle of everything a visitor could wish for. The hotel is a wonderful surprise as it looks like not much from the outside, amazing on the inside. Very spacious lobby area with a wonderful fireside living room for catching up with friends. Great breakfast dining area that was always filled with guests. The staff was friendly, the advice and help with getting around, doing tours etc was top notch. Our room was comfortable, bed was great, pillows got a gold star. However, I recommend requesting a room on the second floor. We were on the ground floor & our room was on a parking lot with cars pulled up right against our window which was a bit disconcerting. Otherwise, great value in a great city!

Room Tip: Definitely request second floor and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed three nights at this Courtyard on St. Charles just blocks from the French Quarter and on the Canal and St. Charles Streetcar lines. We had a beautiful corner room and it was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a JW Marriott right next door that charges over a $100 more a night, at least. St. Charles St. become Royal Street in the French Quarter. The hotel is near some of the best restaurants within Walking distance. It is not far to walk to Jackson Square or the Harrah's Casino. One can catch the Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus at Harrah's and also the Riverside Streetcar line. We enjoyed our stay here very much. Dennis of the door staff was very helpful all week.

Room Tip: Parking is valet and it is worth the cost to just leave one's car for the duration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while on a stop over on our way to Alabama. This hotel is very conviently located to all the attraction in the French Quarter, everything is an easy walk from this hotel. The rooms are very nice and the hotel in general is very updated and nice. I would reccomend valet parking if you happen to have a car. I would reccomend this hotel and am definately planning to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here easter weekend and had a great time. I do like the location of the property, as it is close to canal street and the French Quarter. Since the property is on St Charles I stongly suggest that you take the street car and tour St. Charles Ave. It's Lovely! However, for the price, I do not feel that this property will give you the bang for your buck. Thank God I was able to stay for 2 free nites due to a Marriott promotion; it appears that guests had to pay upwards to over $200 a nite! Ouch! The room was quite small but was clean and well appointed. The lobby area has the updated Courtyard vibe and I sat there and watched a Bulls game one afternoon, and met some nice guests. I never ate there, and wouldn't since there are so many better places to eat. Would I stay her again...Yes, but only if I get a promotional rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip. The hotel was convenient to everything you'd want to do in New Orleans. It was quiet at night and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel appeared at all times to be clean and tidy. The bathroom had nice walk-in showers with new, updated tile. Overall a very modern hotel. A previous poster here mentioned bed bugs. I admit I did notice a three bug bites after I had departed, but I am not certain they came from bed bugs (not that I doubt the previous poster). I did an awful lot of walking around the city over the course of time I was there, so they could have come from anything as far as I know. New Orleans is pretty buggy this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor with a balcony on St. Charles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My Girlfriend, her friend and myself all stayed at this Courtyard earlier this year. All three of us slept in the room this evening. When we woke up all of us noticed small bite marks on different parts of our body. After getting a shower and getting into the car I slowly realized just how many bites I had on the drive back home. I was covered in bug bites. The bites were large and swollen on me and little concentrated red ones on my girlfriend. I checked my body when I got home and found 35+ bites on my scalp, eyelid, forehead, arms, legs, back, chest, and so on. Due to the severity of the bites and my swollen eye I went to the doctor who confirmed that these were bites and most likely bed bug bites due to the pattern of the bites and the location where I got them. I brought this to the manager’s attention at the hotel that proceeded to get the room checked for evidence; he called to tell me that they checked the room and did not find any trace of bedbugs. The manager I spoke with kept blaming it on bugs outside in the streets. I explained that we were no where else to get the bites and that when we entered the room no one had any bites and 8 hours later when we woke up all three of us had the same bites. I further explained that they could be fleas or something but something in the room bit all of us in an extreme manner. The manager was no help and was accusatory. I eventually got put in touch with a claims department who’s customer service was even worse than the manager at the hotel. I explained that I am a platinum member and have never filed a claim or made a formal complaint before and I stay in Marriott hotels over 200+ nights a year for 4 years now. I was still treated like a liar. No manager would ever show me proof that the room was checked and cleared of bed bugs. I forwarded the claims department photos of both my bites and my girlfriend’s bites along with a doctors bill and prescription bills for the visit after the hotel stay. I was refused any payment for my belongings that I discarded before getting back to my home. In the end Marriott treated me horrible. The management staff refused to pay for the bag that I had to throw out and the change of clothes that we threw out. I wanted my experience to be heard so that future customers can no what to expect from Marriott regarding their handling of a situation such as this. Keep in mind that I am a high level Platinum Elite member and this is how I was treated. Imagine if how they would treat someone with no status at this company.

Room Tip: Check the mattresses for signs of bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena J, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
"Thank you for your review. I am the Assistant General Manager at the Courtyard. We have the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience and Marriott takes hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously. As a result, Marriott has established very strict standards of cleanliness for all hotels that either meet or exceed public health department regulations, including pest control. On a regular basis we have a licensed laboratory check our hotels for pest control, cleaning, sanitizing and food safety handling to insure the highest levels of cleanliness in our hotels. The latest assessment performed by this third party clears the hotel of pests. I can make it available to you in this special situation.

We strive to have every guest leave with a positive impression of our city and hotel. I apologize that your stay and subsequent treatment did not meet your expectations and I would be happy to speak further with you about the issue. Please provide contact information privately or contact me directly at 504-581-9005 ext 4109.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.