We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel

Save Saved
You added Empress Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a NO star hotel. Most fo the people who stay there actually live there. It's that kind of place. The rooms are small and some are better than others, the first room we got had dirty sheets and the sink would not drain, they gave us another room and it was surprisingly nicer and bigger. Don't get your hopes up - this is a dorm, at best. You have to leave your room key at the desk when leaving the building, and be buzzed in if returning after 11 pm. That being said, that staff is very nice. Despite the questionable appearance of some residents, we were never bothered, hassled, etc. It's very quiet at night - people who live there have jobs, so no partying going on. I'm sure there are drugs being sold and used there - that was pretty obvious. If you are "doing" New Orleans the right way - you will spend so little time in the hotel that it won't matter where you stay. Also parking is free, and it's only 2 blocks from the quarter. This place is not for the faint of heart, but it's not as scary as it might seem.

Room Tip: second floor - you won't hear poeple being buzzed in at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We use actual keys, and we don't want a guest to have to wait for us to change a lock. The "drop key" system is convenient and easy and you don't have to worry about losing keys. We are glad that you let the clerk know of your issue with the room and that they were given a chance to accommodate you. We do not have anyone living at our hotel. We do have regular guests who rent with us often. We are happy you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    25
    18
    93
See reviews for
7
32
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked before Hurricane Sandy- after the airports were closed. I was unable to contact the hotel. When I finally contacted the next week, they told me they were without power. They refused to refund any money or give me a credit. I contacted Better Business Bureau and they refused to respond to them. I should have read the reviews before I even booked.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
There is a generous cancellation policy in place on all reservations. We only ask that both parties abide by what they agree to abide by when booking (or setting up booking). Unfortunately the Empress Hotel can not predict acts of God. Louisiana has hurricanes, California earthquakes, etc etc. We also can not control Entergy, our city power company (although trust, we wish we could!) Sorry we couldn't accommodate you during that particular time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrive after dark, need a key to get through the door. Desk clerk looks like Milky from Me, Myself and Irene... wearing a white apron... behind a glass wall. When you go into the room, the bed might as well be on the floor, with a 1980s comforter, and one pillow. NO BOX SPRING, just mattress sitting on the frame. The tv was the size of an ipad, and bolted to the wall. Space heater... AC unit in the window. The bathroom- you could see the toilets pipes outside the wall, the shower curtain was nailed to the wall on one side, so you couldn't steal it. One towel... One bar of soap. Room was about 10x10 if you are lucky. In a horrible part of town for "out of towners" NOT easily accessible to bourbon st.... NON REFUNDABLE FIRST NIGHT!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. It is a one star economy Euro-style hotel...not a four star hotel. That being said, it's small, clean, and great for the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

ok..i see all the bad reviews here.now i stayed here for a week in march,1 night in dec,and 3 nights during jan.for the bad review people let me explain this.hotels in new orleans are $200-300 a night,this place is $55.let me tell you what to expect the rooms are small and not super clean,drunks/bar people,some less fortunate people walking around outside,maybe a gay person or 2,its only a place to sleep.im sick of the" its not like the holiday inn".well its a mom and pop motel.say you want to go out for a drink.you can go to bw3 or harry buffalo and pay out the butt for a drink and food.if you choose you can go down to the local s-hole corner bar for a third of the price thats what this is compared to.the neighborhood is SAFE unless youve never left your $300,000 home type neighborhood. the people are friendly the service is good.its 3 min walk to food,gas,bourbon st,liquer stores.i love this hotel and will continue to stay here every time i go down.this motel is not for children and wealthy people. recommened use for this motel is for party/bar people,college kids,people like me that dont have money,and people that just dont give a you know what about where they sleep.only thing this motel needs is some remodeling and updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you. We look forward to hosting you again. We love our neighborhood and our guests, and are glad you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Simple backpackers room with small bathroom. That’s it. No more. Coffee is provided in the morning... The whole place is barely surface clean. The décor was predictably shabby, off white, chipped corners & grime. Bed had a roll-together mattress. There were odd & unidentifiable stains on the linen bedframe & the sack-cloth base had been torn at sometime. A rug gave the illusion of some warmth but on closer inspection it had been cut in half to double its value - missing section hidden from view at doorway. Even TV setup could not escape criticism. Viewing only possible from right hand side of bed so we decided it was easier to read. Apart from a very basic table, the only other thing in the room was the air conditioner fitted below the window. The unit was deafening & powered on by use of the reset & test buttons of a surge plug. The bathroom had that desperate misery about it. The sink had a long history of limescale abuse & lazy scouring.

An experience… but what can you expect for a room two blocks from the French Quarter at fifty dollars a night.

Room Tip: There isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are absolutely the best deal in town for the area. We are happy you stayed with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was much better than I was expecting having read some of the reviews online! Staff here were cool, really helpful and laid back guys/girls. Location is excellent, I liked this area a lot, about 7(?) or more blocks south on Ursulines you've got the Croissant D'or patisserie for breakfast - fantastic! My only complaints are that my room smelled of cigarettes and the air con was noisey. It's a good price, I got a good sleep, it's got WiFi. It suited me just fine on my own in town for a conference. Decent guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Glad you loved the location! Hope you stay with us again :) Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the worst place I have every stayed. Dirty, bad neighbor, and the staff is not very friendly. This place is ready to be demolished. If you go to the French Quarter be prepared for a long walk back in the dark in a not very safe neighberhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would expect that guests use the same precaution when traveling on foot at night as they would in New York or Chicago or any other big city. Take a taxi if it's late. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.