We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wrote this shortly after we left...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel

Save Saved
You added Empress Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I wrote this shortly after we left...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Simple backpackers room with small bathroom. That’s it. No more. Coffee is provided in the morning... The whole place is barely surface clean. The décor was predictably shabby, off white, chipped corners & grime. Bed had a roll-together mattress. There were odd & unidentifiable stains on the linen bedframe & the sack-cloth base had been torn at sometime. A rug gave the illusion of some warmth but on closer inspection it had been cut in half to double its value - missing section hidden from view at doorway. Even TV setup could not escape criticism. Viewing only possible from right hand side of bed so we decided it was easier to read. Apart from a very basic table, the only other thing in the room was the air conditioner fitted below the window. The unit was deafening & powered on by use of the reset & test buttons of a surge plug. The bathroom had that desperate misery about it. The sink had a long history of limescale abuse & lazy scouring.

An experience… but what can you expect for a room two blocks from the French Quarter at fifty dollars a night.

Room Tip: There isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are absolutely the best deal in town for the area. We are happy you stayed with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    25
    18
    92
See reviews for
7
32
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was much better than I was expecting having read some of the reviews online! Staff here were cool, really helpful and laid back guys/girls. Location is excellent, I liked this area a lot, about 7(?) or more blocks south on Ursulines you've got the Croissant D'or patisserie for breakfast - fantastic! My only complaints are that my room smelled of cigarettes and the air con was noisey. It's a good price, I got a good sleep, it's got WiFi. It suited me just fine on my own in town for a conference. Decent guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Glad you loved the location! Hope you stay with us again :) Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the worst place I have every stayed. Dirty, bad neighbor, and the staff is not very friendly. This place is ready to be demolished. If you go to the French Quarter be prepared for a long walk back in the dark in a not very safe neighberhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would expect that guests use the same precaution when traveling on foot at night as they would in New York or Chicago or any other big city. Take a taxi if it's late. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I try usually to be fair however the word coming to mind is - Dump. Spend an extra $20 and go stay at the holiday Inn or the Best western down the street. Its not 2 block away from the French Quarter as such more like 4 and you wouldnt want to walk home after 9pm on your own... I will say for a old hotel with paint peeling from the walls that the room was clean by a lovely young man who did a good job.. the night clerk was nice and rather sweet and tried to put a smile on things...sadly that didnt make up for my room which had springs coming out of the mattress till i complained...the bedding has seen better days. there is a tiny window about 2 feet by 1.5 feet so you feel like youve been buried in a tomb...horrible
If i could have recieived a refund from my booking agent AGODA i would have moved immeadiantly as i booked for a week...sadly Agoda was not helpful and i will no longer use or recommend this site for further travel bookings...
Do yourself a favour and dont stay here...

Room Tip: theres no such thing as a good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
"theres no such thing as a good room in this hotel" We are bothered by this..one can not possibly know that. We are sorry that you had a bad stay. We are happy that you found your room clean and the staff friendly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Walking in here was like walking into the reception of a mental hospital. The room was really gross, crappy small old bed, just manky and dirty looking. The other "guests" were more like long term mental patient boarders, because the whole place is more like a boarding house than a hotel. I would not call this a hotel. There is no phone in the room to call reception, it is expensive for how awful it is (even though its likely the cheapest), and we did not feel safe there whatsoever. I would not recommend staying here. The Olde Town Inn, however, is about the same price or less, and is AMAZING. Stay there instead!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are an economy hotel and are the best deal in town. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I were traveling through New Orleans on our way to Florida. We found this nice little hotel while site seeing in Treme. They had off street parking which was a plus. Upon coming in the hotel it was very clean and the clerk was very friendly. While checking us in we asked her what are somethings we can do while in New Orleans and she set us up a tour for the next morning as well as places to eat for dinner and breakfast. The room was clean and it smelled nice. We had a lovely time overall. In fact we stayed an extra night because it was such a lovely place and New Orleans is as well. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come again :) We have more and different tours available now :)

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Louisiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My friend booked this room for us to attend her wedding and we did not see or hear anything about the hotel before arriving there. It is in a horrible area and is one of the creepiest experiences I ever had. Literally stayed for 10 minutes and just lost our money spent on the room without argueing about it. Blood stain on the bed, no lock on the door, hotel has a curfew, bathroom was tiny and disgusting, tv is over the bed, weird desk clerk, ect. Don't even waste your time or money. Seriously would compare this place to a 1940's horror movie.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We would like to address some of these: First, we would have absolutely taken care of the bed situation if that happened. Second: The area is historic throughout history and lively and diverse. Third: All of our rooms lock and have locks. Fourth: Our rooms, and bathrooms, are small but clean and great price for the value. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.