We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Family Inns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Family Inns to your Saves list
Family Inns
6303 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
easthazelcrest il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nasty place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is the worst hotel in New Orleans, "Bedbugs,Bedbugs,Bedbugs", I can't believe just by even looking at the place they re still open. The rooms were dirty, the curtains had holes in them, and the pool looked like it had'nt been cleaned in ages, but the worst for me was the bedbug issue which the owner dismissed as a regular bug. The rooms are "heavily infested", and obviously this place have no pestcontrol program in place to address this very prevelant issue, he related to me that he's been in the business of runnining a hotel for over 25 + years, i asked him was he a licensed certified technician? He replied by saying(I know a bedbug when i see one) Wow ! That was really odd to me, because i actually work for a pestcontrol co. for 13 years and counting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    6
    15
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

for the money you get a clean room ,wifi,cable tv,polite and friendly service from front desk to
the house keepers. was a very plesent stay. easy to down town,just 5 min.to 10min to french
quaters.they tell me they never jack ther rates up - for mardi gras, ball games and other events,the dome is 5min away. cant do better for the money.been here twice and will be back agin.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I would stay at the Super 8 across the street, but never here again. The room was old and dirty. The toilet was broken. The shower was nasty and there was NO hot water at night or in the morning. There was no internet service like they had promised. There were no blankets on the beds and when we asked for some were told they could not be delivered till the middle of the nite since only one staff person was available and she had to stay at the front desk until someone else came in to work. The breakfast room was dirty: unsanitary doesn't even begin to describe it. The staff was belligerent, and uncooperative. Customer service to them means they are right and the customer must be deluded! Worst stay of my life.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere or keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is old, so my room has a moderate amount of damage, and the shower curtain and light fixture are rather rusty. The woman at the front desk was polite and friendly. The maids do a good job of cleaning, and the linens are good quality. No bedbugs, but I've seen 2 cockroaches, another species of bug I couldn't identify, and I liberated a wasp to the outdoors. There is a very small table, one chair and no desk. Surprisingly, there is a microwave and fridge. The old TV gets just 10 channels, two of which are local content. They have wireless Internet and a continental breakfast. There's truck parking in the back and an outdoor pool. It's in a rather noisy location, with Interstate 10 and Route 90 just yards away. Hookers are available on the corner.

This is the cheapest hotel I could find, and of course ya gets what ya pays for. The management is trying to make the place nice for their guests, but unfortunately they're hampered by an old building and a not-so-good location. This hotel is OK as long as you don't mind a few bugs and a room in slightly rough condition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goslar, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

It is probably the cheapest hotel there is except the one which was in a ghetto. Across the street is also a hotel for more than $100. This hotel had a good price and a nice room.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Inn
#123 of 156 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#63 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inns

Address: 6303 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Family Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.