We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Nice hotel with an old, charming, southern feel to the decor. Across the street from the convention center and very close to the cruise ship docks and Riverwalk Mall. The location of this hotel is about a mile and a half from bourbon street. There is a nice park across the street if you have any pets or a nice little picnic. Great service and free HOT BREAKFAST (Waffle maker too)! They also have a laundry mat where you can do your own laundry. Can't go wrong with this hotel. No frills, but a good hotel none the less. Oh yeah, rooms also have a refrigerator and microwave. no safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    240
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
184
165
32
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

But the getting double charged for Valet parking and not call back from the Manager makes this hotel not a good choice to stay at.

We only had an issue with one Valet Staff that was very rude, he told us to go park our own car and that they would find it later and re park it. My husband nicely explained to him " Excuse me we are paying for Valet Parking and it's your job to park our car", needless to say he told us to park it in front of the hotel and he would park it for us.

But to our suprise when we got home and check with our bank we got charged twice for Valet Parking. When I called the hotel thisafternoon, I was told I could leave a message for the mananger, I was told his name as Manny that was at 1:40pm (CT), I left a detailed message with our confirmation number, our phone number the issue I was calling about and yes I am still waiting for a call back.

I am disappointed, we travel alot, being a Military family and we always choose to stay at Hampton Inns for their outstanding service and clean hotels, now we will be wondering if we should choose a continue to use Hampton Inns or not.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraBartlett, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites we strive to uphold a high level of customer service for all of our guests. Should we ever fall short of our expectations we would like to know, and appreciate you taking the time to fill out a survey. In this situation your bill was reviewed and determined that you were not overcharged. At check in your card is authorized for the entire amount of room and tax and $30 extra per day for any incidentals you may incur. If a debit card is used, the bank automatically withholds this amount from your account. At check out the final balance is settled and any additional authorization is released once the charge is posted to your account. Our Front Office Manager will be in contact with you shortly to discuss the matter further. We do hope you choose to stay with us again during your next trip to New Orleans.

Manny Singh
504-566-9990
msing@highpointe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We changed our hotel to this one after I saw the good reviews about it. I am happy that I did this, as the hotel was located exactly across the street from the convention center where the AAD meeting was held. This was the closest hotel to the convention. As for the rooms it was quite spacious and clean and we had breakfast included in the rate as well. The hotel used to be a warehouse long time ago and it was converted to hotel and renovated beautifully. The hotel was in 20 minutes walking distance from the French quarter (Bourbone St.). Anyhow I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting New Orleans and especially for those that have a meeting in the convention center.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Good hotel at a reasonable price.
Very good free breakfast buffet.Parking is very expensive .We parked free for three days on the street about 100 feet away from front door.saved about $55.00.Be careful to check for parking signs.Approx. 15-20 minute walk to french quarter.Very safe large well lit street.
There may be some cheap buses but in good weather it's a pleasant walk.It's usually better to not use the car.Parking and traffic may be difficult in the french quarter.
The hotel is made up of two sections.The older part which I beleive was a factory.High ceilings old brick walls with a lot of character.The other side is modern and probably
cheaper but very functional.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Our trip wasn't actually for business, but rather a gymnastics meet being held at the convention center in New Orleans. We wanted to be as close to the meet site as possible and as my daughter (who is a drug rep) knows the area quite well, suggested we stay at the Hampton Inn, we all agreed. This was unlike any of the Hampton Inns we've stayed in for business trips. It was magical stepping inside the foyer, from the beautifully decorated entrance to the front desk. The old high ceilings and ambiance of the entrance just set you back in time. The hotel is in the historical warehouse district and we understood it was once a cotton warehouse. Our rooms were great, very clean and we had a corner room in the front. Great view of the park outside with the memorial statue of Katrina. We were within walking distance of Riverwalk, Mulattes, and numerous other restaurants and sights. Can not wait to go back for a weekend just to relax and enjoy New Orleans. Recommend reservations. Extra perk - morning breakfast was great. Dining area has ceilings that are least 20 feet and there were plenty of hot items on the menu. We had spanish omelet and bagel bites, but there were many other items. Overall great weekend thanks to this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

If you're going out of New Orleans on the Carnival Triumph and need only a one night hotel stay before your cruise, this is a good choice. Their park/cruise program is convenient, since traffic and construction around the port of New Orleans is miserable. The hotel has pretty common areas and a good complimentary breakfast-lots of hot foods choices. We crammed four immediate adult family members into a standard double/double--not ideal, but it was what we got for the park/cruise deal, and for one night it was tolerable. Our room was not one of the updated ones, so if that's important to you I'd ask at the front desk. It's a 20-minute walk to the French Quarter, fine for the daytime but more sketchy at night (we took a cab.) On embarkation day the shuttle van picks you up in front of the hotel and drops you at the front door of the cruise terminal. On debarkation, all you have to do is make a phone call once you clear Customs, and the shuttles picks you up at the same spot in front of the cruise terminal. If you want to spend more time in the Quarter or have more than a one-night stay I'd choose a hotel closer to or in the Quarter--but overall, a good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Stayed here during a Catholic Youth Minister's Conference. Great location (the outside looks like it was an old brick factory building) - right across the street from the Convention Center - we were able to walk out of the brisk weather and into one end of the Convention Center in order to reach Halls A or B. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying with lots of hot/cold choices. It was also great that coffee was available all day, so at the end of one day I grabbed some coffee before sitting down at the hotel bar (they give a 2-1 drink coupon) and added some Kahlua for a nice wind-down. Business center was convenient for immediate internet access and printing (although only 1 of the 2 computers was working, I never had to wait). The king-size room was comfy, especially at the end of a day of a conferences and seeing at the sights of "Na Orlens."

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.