We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #13 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great value in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel, in the warehouse district of New Orleans, offers wonderful "suite" accommodation at reasonable prices in a converted cotton warehouse (ask for that building - there is also a more modern addition with nice rooms, which we have also stayed at). High ceilings, a nicely furnished small kitchen and table for two, exposed brick wall, huge windows. Bed and bedding were clean and very good quality. We faced the park on St. Peter's Street, so we are not sure if the other side of the building, which is close to the I-10, would be noisy. Breakfasts, as usual for the Hampton Inn, were included in the price, and pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    217
    44
    13
    7
See reviews for
162
148
26
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
American Falls, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We got in really late,prior to a cruise sailing and the staff helped get all 8 of us settled ,including a 5mos old baby! They couldn't have been nicer!! Even made sure we got a special shuttle buss to the ship-which by the way we could see from our hotel room!! That just added to the start of a great vacation. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Service was great, front desk staff incredible friendly and knowledgeable
Room very nice and spacious
Location close to local restuarants, bars and convention center but the French Quarters is about 12 plus blocks away. Walking was good because it completed our sightseeing tour:-) The first day we started out walking to the French Quarters about 5 blocks away from hotel we got a cab cost $9.00 for three of us.
I have had better continental breakfast but it served its purpose.
My only disappointment was the old television, hotel was so nice I think they should upgrade to plasma/flat screen.
I loved that it was and old warehouse it has much character and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Great large suites with kitchens. Friendly and helpful staff.

We loved our room. Very big, huge bed, nice little kitchen, big bathroom, very large windows and good housekeeping.

The breakfast isn't bad either, and is included in the price.

Quite central, downtown is only 5 minutes walk away, or a short cab ride.

I will stay there again when I am back in the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I have nothing but good to say about this hotel. We just got back from a cruise and this Hampton Inn made it "smooth sailin". Yeah, that is corny but the truth! The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are immaculate. We did a cruise and park package. The parking garage is totally secure. I did not have a second thought about leaving anything in the car. They delivered us to the terminal and were there to pick us up. We got back to the hotel and honestly, we were in our car, fully loaded and on the way in 5 minutes. The staff was awesome. The night we came in, the bellman asked me several times if I needed anything. French Quarter is within walking distance IF you want to walk. We took a cab.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I checked into Hampton Inn on Friday, 7/30 for a convention. The hotel does not have an airpoort shuttle, so we used other transportation. We were a part of 15K visiting N.O. for a convention. Check in was quick and the staff was awesome. I wish I could remember the name of the gentleman that checked me in as he was wonderful. The hotel is very quaint and was clean when we entered. The rooms and lobby areas remained clear our entire stay. We had some very minor challenges with housekeeping, but nothing that would keep us from returning or detailing here.

The daily breakfast was actually quite good. I was not expecting much and was surprised in the daily variety of foods.

The hotel is DIRECTLY across from Hall E of the convention center and easily accessible by foot or taxi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The hotel was ok, my room was really cold and even when I tried to adjust the temperature it stayed the same. I didn't complain to the front desk though because I didn't mind it being cold, since it was 100 outside! There was also a really weird smell in the room , I couldn't pin point it, it was musty, moldy or maybe smoke but I was in a non-smoking room and I was on the 6th floor so it wasn't becasue I was in a basement. either...I did call the hotel and they assured me that it was a non-smoking room and they could send somebody up to see what the smell was, but I thought I was being picky so I declined. Overall, the hotel was nice and clean, the people at the front desk were really nice and helpful too. The location is bad if you want to do any sightseeing. It's too far to walk to Bourbon Street and any other attraction, you will spend a lot of money on cabs. But I was there for a conference and it's a great location for that. All I had to do was walk across the street. I switched hotels for the weekend so I could be closer to the attractions, I would recommend doing that if you want to enjoy New Orleans at night. Also, there are no hotel shuttles anywhere, so when I needed a cab to get to my other hotel, they charged us a flat fee of $10, I think that's what it was, even though it would have been cheaper if I had them drop me off at the restaurant next door, then it would have only cost $5. I didn't use the pool, but I walked over to it and it was very small..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.