We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #17 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This Hampton is located directly across the street from the convention center. Great location for a conference but also within easy walking distance to the French Quarter and shopping on Canal Street.
This business hotel not only has the standard free breakfast but has a bar that comes with a few 2/1 drink tickets on check-in, free internet, free business center and printing. It resulted in quite a savings compared to the more "up-scale" hotels down the street.

It's workout room is not big but can handle 6 people on cardio and comes with weights and a pool. It's an old cotton factory with intersting decor. I had a king room that was modern, spacious and very comfortable.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    228
    50
    15
    8
See reviews for
177
156
29
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

I have stayed in quite a few Hampton Inns and I have to say that this hotel is the best one by far! The staff was very friendly and helpful. From the moment I walked in the lobby, I was impressed. The room exceeded my expectations! It was very spacious, clean and I loved the exposed brick walls and high ceiling. The only thing I didn't care for was the fact that it is a little farther from the French Quarter than I like when I am staying in New Orleans, but it was not too far from the trolly that takes you into the Quarter. I would definately stay in this Hampton again....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed at the Hampton Inn during the Esence Music Festival 2009 and I have no complaints. Everything was above satisfactory and will stay here again the next time i'm visiting N.O.! The rooms were clean, well stocked, not overly spacious but definitely adequate sized, and the free breakfast was great. The hotel offered access to the business center and provided baggage storage which was much needed, given that my flight wasn't until 7pm. One last thing, the location is in walking distance to the convention center, mall, and restaurants which was also a plus.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed at this hotel during the SHRM 09 Conference. Hotel is excellent - 1/4 block from the Convention Center. Rooms are large, clean, lobby is large, comfortable, breakfast was wonderful at 6 am and at 10 am - hostesses were polite and constantly cleaning and restocking. Christopher at the front desk was full of information about New Orleans and tips for our sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

This is an unusual Hampton Inn both in terms of size (it's quite large) and the fact that it is in an old warehouse. I did not stay on the warehouse side, but in the Riverside building facing the convention center. I heard from colleagues that the rooms in the warehouse building were larger (my "King Study" was smallish).

Breakfast and bar areas are spacious and well-decorated. Staff was very friendly. Wish there was a phone on the desk in my room, but at least the one by the bed had a long cord so I ould move it to the desk. My very basic room did have a microwave and small refrigerator.

The location is the big selling point of this property as it is directly across from the convention center. It is about a 10 minute walk to Harrah's Casino which is about half-way to the French Quarter. Riverwalk is very close and as it is on the edge of the CBD, some funky restaurants are nearby.

I was there for the beginning of Bike Week (think Harley-Davidson, not Schwinn) and as I was coming back one night there was a very loud outdoor concert taking place just a block away. I was concerned about being kept awake, but my room was perfectly quiet.

One big plus - the HVAC unit kept an amazingly constant temperature and WITHOUT the clunking noise many make when the A/C compressor kicks in. It was quiet and comfortable 24/7. One big minus - water pressure in the shower is not very good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I was part of a large group that stayed at this Hampton Inn for about a week in March. We were moved to this hotel from another location at the last minute...long story there...and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Katie and Charlene were particularly helpful, but each employee we had contact with was great. This particular Hampton Inn is set in a re-furbished factory, and it's more hip and urban than other Hampton Inns I've been to. The lobby is huge and has several comfy sitting areas, and the breakfast nook was always clean and well stocked. The rooms were also really comfortable and clean. Also, there's a small swimming pool located in the courtyard of the building, surrounded by a cute patio. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to New Orleans. The convention center is across the street, and it's not too far to get to bars, restaurants, and the French Quarter. Furthermore, this hotel is close to a major thoroughfare through the city, so getting there by car is very easy. It was a great stay for my colleagues and myself, and I'll definitely stay there again should I be in New Orleans!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Convention Center for the 2009 Sugar Bowl as part of the halftime entertainers which was made up of 160 high school dancers and chaperones. Most hotels are less than thrilled when you arrive with an army of teenagers, but the staff at the Hampton was absolutely wonderful. They could not have been more accommodating. The hotel is lovely; both public areas and rooms are clean and comfortable. I really cannot say enough about the staff and how well we were treated. We will definitely stay at this Hampton on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.