We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Cantonment, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's so beautiful, especially if you are on a high enough floor to look over the city and the Mississippi River! The rooms were very roomy and comfortable! Very quiet and relaxing place whether business or pleasure and the breakfast was very good! The lobby was gorgeous and there is also two buildings...one is more modern and the other is where they remodeled an old warehouse and it's amazing as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    215
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
162
144
26
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience staying at this Hampton Inn & Suites in New Orleans. The hotel staff were friendly and the service was awesome. The hot continential breakfast was enjoyable. The troller was not far to get to and the area have some great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The rooms were one of the best I have seen for the price. Room had a kitchenette with Microwave, Dishwasher, etc. The room had a TV area overlooking the kitchenette and a separate bedroom with attached toilet block with a Wash basin outside. Excellent breakfast included in the price.

One of the best hotels if you are having business at the convention centre. The bar is also nice for an evening drink. An outside place within the hotel next to the pool if you want to have coffee in the open.

Room Tip: Take the room with the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Normally I get to stay in some fancy hotels with fancy prices, but I booked late and this was all I could get. So having stayed in a Hampton Inn years ago in another part of USA I approached with some trepidation. OMG! Wow! The room is one of the very best I have had for years! Huge! All the facilities you require and in very good state of repair. And best of all I only havew a one minute walk to work in the morning across the road at the Convention Center.
For the location and price I will definitely rebook here next time I am in New Orleans.

Room Tip: No restuarant, but not a problem. If you are like me and you just want a little fuel in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecicut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn ans Suites under a group rate we arranged for a pre-cruise stay for 2 nights. From the time we set foot in the door they couldn't have done more for us. We had an early flight and luckily they had 2 out of the 3 rooms our party needed ready for occupancy. Karen and Chris at the front desk were so so helpful at both check in and check out. It's nice to have friendly knowledgeable people when you are in unfamiliar places. The hotel is a renovated old warehouse and some of the original brick and flooring are still in tact. The pool area was a little small and the pool tended to be too shaded this time of year but we really didn't utilize it, We just sat at the tables. There is a was s small bar that opens in the early evening and free hot breakfast in the morning. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There isn't much around the hotel as far as bars, restaurants or drug stores so you do have to walk a bit to find them. The trolley is a short walk away or you can take about a 20-25 minute walk to get to the French Quarter from there. It was nice so we opted for that several times and took a cab or trolley back. It is convenient to the cruise port and has a free shuttle for those interested in a pre or post cruise stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This re-do of several buildings across from the Convention Center made a convenient spot for a wedding we attended. We wanted to spend the day at the WW2 Museum and then head to the wedding that night, which was in the French Quarter. (And we knew we didn't want the noise of that area to sleep!) It was an easy walk to the museum and an inexpensive cab ride from the wedding. The staff was wonderful, especially Perry, the concierge who was a DELIGHT! The only reason I rated a 4 rather than 5 is because our tub didn't drain and I didn't know that until I took a shower. I let the staff know when I checked out and they were glad to get the info and said they'd fix it immediately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my mother were picked up at the port but when leaving they said get a Taxi cab, the cab cost for two people is $33! If your saying for a business trip the convention center is across the street. It's a good idea to get an all day bus/street car pass, it only cost $3 per person.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to our shuttle service. I apologize for any miscommunication that you might have received in regards to our shuttle service buy our shuttle will drop off and pick up guests at the cruise port only. We do not provide airport transportation. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area. - Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.