We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Overall Choice In the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, United States
1 review
“Best Overall Choice In the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Best choice for a number of reasons. Location of this hotel was great because it wasn't too deep in to downtown area. Directly across the street from Convention Center and in close proximity to freeway. All staff member were extremely courteous from the curb to front desk and everyone in between.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    195
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
146
127
25
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The checkin was quick and the cookies were excellent. The room was clean and seemed like new. The breakfast was a major disappointment. The bagel toppers were a turn-off and the cheese omelet was cheese in a tortilla - no eggs at all. Parking is a bit expensive at $29 per night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. Although I was glad to read you found our rooms to be clean and you had a good check-in experience, I understand that you were disappointed regarding our food selection. We are always listening to our guests’ feedback and I assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve the quality and selection of our menu items. - Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this nicely located hotel. This would be a great option prior to a cruise as its located close to the cruise ship pier.

The beds & pillows were extra comfortable. The rooms were clean & nicely decorated. The check in process was easy & well organized. Our grandchildren enjoyed a swim in the outdoor pool which also seemed clean with lots of pool towels available.

The complimentary breakfast was the most extensive that I've ever seen. So many choices of hot & cold items. The breakfast area was huge with lots of seating & attentive staff refilling the dishes as needed.

We would definitely return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hampton Inn in New Orleans is certainly anice surprise. Eventhough I know the chain from other places, this hotel is a pleasent surprise. The service is good and the staff is quite serviceminded and very kind. The rooms are nice are quite big. The beds are wonderful and we all slept fantastic. The bathroom is big. All in all everything worked perfect in our room. There are a lot of shops and restaurants in walking distane of the hotel. We will absolutely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I hadn't been to New Orleans in many years so I really wasn't sure where to book my hotel. I was looking for something close to canal street and the french quarter and I found this Hampton that was close to those areas. As soon as I walked into the hotel lobby I was immeadiately impressed!!
I was equally impressed with the incredible suite I was given. The convention center is right across the street and you are only located 5 or 6 blocks from all of the restaurants and shops. This is one
hotel I would definately love to stay in again!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms in the hotel are suites that would be my first choice even if it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The Hampton suites in New Orleans is a great place to stay while you explore the big easy. It is literally across the street from the massive convention center and it's a short walk to the trolley. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance and plenty of stores and pharmacies. The bed sheets and towels were always fresh. My only complaint was that the rooms and beds were small. Instead of queen sized they were doubles so sharing a bed is really difficult if you have more than two people in a room. To end on the positive note, the pool, bar, breakfast services, and gym were all great. For breakfast, there's something available to appeal to everyone. The pool was small but the outside space around it was beautiful. The gym had several treadmills ellipticals and weights as well as a stock if medicine balls. The front desk even made cookies everyday. It doesn't get much better than that. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel, frendly and great service. Only complant is not much to do close to the hotel. No restaurant in hotel. Trolley station nearest hotel was closed, had a good walk to next trolley station. Beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn & Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list