We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Great Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Very nice hotel. Great Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Unique Hampton Inn, historic renovated building. Breakfast was very good, and the rooms were very clean and quiet. The valet staff were very cheerful and helpful, even though the hotel was full from Mardi Gras, and they were very busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    215
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
162
144
26
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment we walked in until we checked out the staff treated you like a special guest! The staff want everyone to enjoy their stay in the Big Easy! It was Mardi Gras, the lobby was decorated for the occaision which made you feel part of the festivities. And, a great way to spend Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. Converted warehouse I believe with very high ceilings and windows in the room. Extra large room with nice furnishings. Parking is expensive (valet only) during special events. Also require early checkout 11am. But overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very comfortable beds clean room smaller than most we stayed in (on tour) Breakfast was very nice in a comfortable area.Location was not as good for the French Quarter. (about 15-20 minutes) depending on how fast you walk. Staff were frienfly and helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this Hampton. We stayed in the warehouse side with a nice view of a park and the downtown off in the distance. Comfortable bed and spacious room. The Front Desk employees were very friendly and helpful. When visiting the French Quarter during the day, we walked a few blocks down to the RiverWalk (Julia Street) and took the streetcar. A little inconvenient. The streetcars come by about every 20 minutes. A taxi at night cost $7.00 to get to Jackson Square in the Quarter. Took a creole cooking class in the RiverWalk which I really enjoyed. The chef was very entertaining and we got to eat what was cooked (shrimp creole, red beans and rice, and Bananas Foster). Several nice restaurants in the area. Enjoyed a cinnamon King Cake from Rouses Grocery. We bought two to take home with us. We had a great muffaletta take-out from Verti Marte deli on Royal Street. Would definitely stay at this Hampton again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the front of the hotel (park view). Try not to get the rooms facing the Interst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stay here at least once a year because we have Mardi Gras events we attend at the convention center across the street. We can't say enough good things about this hotel. The room variety is very vast. We usually stay in a room with a kitchen and have stayed in at least six different floor plans-all nice, spacious and very different. The hotel is in an old warehouse and we love the high, huge ceilings and the brick walls many of the rooms have. It adds so much character and that "New Orleans" charm to the rooms.

The decor in the rooms is nice and the kitchen is well stocked. They often give you a few extra snacks and coffee. The rooms are always very clean and very quiet (probably all of the brick). The color scheme is nice but could be a bit updated but it is tasteful. The kitchen and suite rooms are on the front desk side of the hotel and the regular Hampton-type rooms with two beds are on the other side. The bed is very comfortable and plush and the bathrooms are very big. The den has a sofa, coffee table, armoire with TV and end tables. The kitchen has a dining area with chairs. There are also several mirrors in the room (full length and wall).

The breakfast is diverse and wonderful. There is a huge selection like there is at all Hampton Inns. Eggs, waffles, sausage, cereals, pastries, oatmeal, etc. I think there are cookies in the evening also but we get in late so we don't get any!

The front desk staff is excellent. Every time we go and have a special request or upgrade, they never hesitate to accommodate us. They often give us bar coupons upon check-in. Now that we have stayed there so often, they now greet us by name upon our arrival and welcome us back. Christopher has helped us the past few times and he is always funny and courteous. He makes our stay much more pleasurable.

The valet staff is always friendly and quick and also greets us when we come and go.

The hotel has a "courtyard" look by the pool and bar area which is very New Orleans-like.

The location in the warehouse area is an area of town we like a lot. It is reasonably priced, quiet and easy to walk to restaurants, bars, the river and the French Quarter (a bit farther but not a bad walk or you could take the river streetcar). We especially love how we walk out the door and across the street and we are in the convention center.

We have never had a bad stay here. This is always our first choice to stay when we are down in this area of town.

Room Tip: Never hesitate to ask for an upgrade. The kitchen "suites" are the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Convenient and easy access, this Hampton Inn & Suites provides easy access to the convention center, great dinner locations, and other sites for work or pleasure. I stayed here for work, but if I had extra days for pleasure, I would not go anywhere else.

Room Tip: go for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.