We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, but the breakfast is unbeatable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overall good, but the breakfast is unbeatable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I like the location of this place, it's not in a loud area of the city, it's quiet. But, close enough to walk anywhere and right across the streets from the Convention Center which is convenient for business purposes.

The first room we went to smelled like chemicals so they gave us another room. It smelled like mildew but we dealt with it. Opening the window would have had tremendously, but you can't open the windows.

The breakfast is so good! It's my favorite breakfast at any hotel. You can eat healthy or unhealthy and there are plenty of options. The hot food is always hot and fresh.

The staff here is very friendly and greet you. The cookies in the evening are a nice treat. The young man who checked us in noticed we were tired from traveling all day and gave us a bottle of water :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    244
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
185
168
33
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATL..Yall
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A group of 50 of us went to New Orleans for the Falcons vs Saints game.

I read most of the reviews online, so I wasn't shocked to find that this was an older hotel, or as some people say its Historic.

It was within walking distance to the RiverWalk Market Place and the Shops at Canal Place and while some people had no problems with walking to Bourbon Street, I thought that too far of a walk and took a taxi.

When we checked in a two people (well four since it was double occupancy) requested new rooms. They claimed their rooms smelled moldy and wet. These request were honored with no problems.

Just like any other hotel, you don't want to be near the elevator or ice machine or you are bound to hear people walking and talking all night.

Our room had two double beds, and there was a post note on one of the beds that stated that the linen had been changed. Not sure why it was there, but THANKS!! We also had a mini fridge, and a flat screen TV and all the buttons on the remote were still marked.

I left my phone charger home and I called down to the front desk and asked them if they had one I could use, she asked me what type of phone I had and when I answered her, she stated that they only had them for older phones. That was my only interaction with the staff.

I was sorta bummed that there was no restaurant on premise, cause once you leave all that drinking on Bourbon Street, it'd be nice to be able to order up to your room. There were some places that delivered, but when we called them they had wait times over an hour.

They have a okay continental breakfast, the three days we were there, I mostly went with pink grapefruit slices and muffins (saving my calories for New Orleans foods) but they had the standards bagels, eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, etc types of food.

I went down to get juice one day after the breakfast was over, and it was empty and didn't seem to be something they offered throughout the day, but tea bags and hot water were accessible all day.

Not sure how far the SuperDome is because the bus we took down drove us to the dome, but it was about a ten minute bus ride.

Would stay again if I was in New Orleans, but I would prefer to be closer to where the action is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The next time you're in the area we would be glad to have you again.

Charlene Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel was nice, comfortable, and clean! The morning breakfast I enjoyed each morning. The hot food selection was changed each day, and there was more than enough danish, cereal, yougurt, fruit, and oatmeal options for those that would prefer somthing a bit more 'on the go'. Each evening, there were very yummy cookies, and no matter what time I came in, coffee was there to warm me up!

The rooms were equipped with mini fridges, and microwaves, and a nice good sized flat screen tv! There was enough linen provided so you didn't need housekeeping to refresh each day.

The ONE thing that is a turn off with this hotel is the VALET PARKING COST! I understand there is no room on the street to park, however, $30/day for parking is starting to get a bit ridiculous especially when the rates for the hotel are a bit high also (even though there was no event at the Convention Center). They know you MUST take advantage of valet parking, so whatever THEY set as the rate is what goes....not a good look Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that parking cost was of concern; we strive to offer our guests a cost-affordable experience by researching parking costs in the area and charging a comparable amount. We will work to inform our guests of all charges on our website or at the front desk upon check in. Thank you for your review and happy Holidays!

Charlene Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Beautiful building, convenient to Convention Center. Staff was very friendly and helpful, from initial reservations to check in and out (particularly Katie and Christopher). Excellent breakfast buffet, good variety of hot and cold items - even a grab and go breakfast for the early morning sessions. Rooms were spotless. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevators - could hear people & elevator noise from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I reserved a room at the hampton just for a night out and was I suprised! Everything was perfect this hampton is fantastic. Its not your average hampton its everything you'd expect from a hampton and so much more. I made a mistake when booking my reservation and staff especially ms. Katie were so helpful and accomodating. A very kind lady made small talk with me in the lobby and asked about my stay boy was I shocked to find out I was speaking to the manager charlene. This hotel really is the finest example of old new orleans charm and southern hospitality. I will return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of a tour of Texas & Louisiana. The reception & breakfast area was very welcoming and there is a small shop selling a variety of snacks & drinks.

Room was clean & comfortable with free wifi. As the layout of the hotel is quite confusing it can be quite a long walk from your room to get out of the hotel. With this in mind it would be helpful to sell bottled water in the vending machines rather than having to trek to reception.

As a previous review has mentioned, Mulate's (a 10 minute walk) is definitely worth a visit and we had a great meal - you should try the blackened alligator! It tastes like chicken!

However the best thing about this hotel are the extremely helpful & friendly staff. Unfortunately I had a medical issue whilst staying and would like to thank the concierge for his help with this and putting me at ease during a worrying time, especially not being used to the US medical system. He recommended a local urgent care clinic and called ahead to ensure I could be seen, before getting a taxi for me. On arriving back at the hotel the reception staff made a point of asking how I was and if there was anything they could do. The next morning the concierge also went out of his way to check on me.

This personal touch was very much appreciated and is what makes the hotel stand out from all the others.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed over a weekend. The price was very reasonable for downtown New Orleans. This is a very nice Hampton in with a lovely courtyard/pool area. We enjoyed a hot breakfast each morning and the attendant was super nice. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was great to have a fridge and microwave in the room. The room was clean and comfortable . We felt safe in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.