We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, charming hotel, not your usual chain lobby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #26 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location, charming hotel, not your usual chain lobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We loved this place! Great value, great location, charming (not what you think of when you think of a chain) The breakfast was really good, lots of choices. Lounge/lobby very tastefully decorated with atmosphere. The hotel is in the Warehouse District, very charming, nice landscaping, great restaurants nearby. Low key compared to the French Quarter but with lots of excellent dining choices nearby. Very convenient to the conference center--3 minutes if you have to wait to cross the street.
The only complaint was that on one day it took 2 phone calls to get the room made up--and this was at 3 pm.--housekeeping hadn't shown up all day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    337
    70
    26
    11
See reviews for
254
219
41
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

My parents and I spent three nights here in February, 2011, and we would gladly return.

Like many others, we were in New Orleans for Mardi Gras, and chose this hotel only because prices at hotels closer to the French Quarter were too high.

This hotel's staff were all very friendly, and tried hard to make our stay nice. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, and it was very clean and spacious.

The advantage of staying here, rather than in the French Quarter, is that the area around the hotel is much quieter than the Quarter is, so we did not have our sleep disturbed by drunken revelry outside the hotel.

This hotel is only about a fifteen minute walk from the Quarter, so we were easily able to walk to the Quarter to see the Mardi Gras parades, or eat dinner. There were enough pedestrians out at night that we had no problem walking back to our hotel at 10 PM.

We also took two walking tours of New Orleans, one of the Garden District and one of the French Quarter, sponsored by Historic New Orleans. We really enjoyed both tours, and highly recommend them to anyone who wants to learn more about the history of New Orleans. Historic New Orleans' website is www.tourneworleans.com.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the French Quarter, but doesn't want to pay French Quarter hotel prices, or listen to noise from partyers all night long.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My girl friends and I were supposed to be in a king suite for 3 nights. On the second day the roof sprung a leak which was pretty significant (it was pouring outside). The staff was so accommodating, professional and gracious about the entire thing. We could not stay in the suite and since it was the week before Mardi Gras, there was not another available. The hotel moved us into a regular room, with a roll away complimentary. The staff could not have been nicer! I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat. Everyone from check-in to valet, to housekeeping was great. Besides the leak, that suite rocked!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Nice hotel with an old, charming, southern feel to the decor. Across the street from the convention center and very close to the cruise ship docks and Riverwalk Mall. The location of this hotel is about a mile and a half from bourbon street. There is a nice park across the street if you have any pets or a nice little picnic. Great service and free HOT BREAKFAST (Waffle maker too)! They also have a laundry mat where you can do your own laundry. Can't go wrong with this hotel. No frills, but a good hotel none the less. Oh yeah, rooms also have a refrigerator and microwave. no safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

But the getting double charged for Valet parking and not call back from the Manager makes this hotel not a good choice to stay at.

We only had an issue with one Valet Staff that was very rude, he told us to go park our own car and that they would find it later and re park it. My husband nicely explained to him " Excuse me we are paying for Valet Parking and it's your job to park our car", needless to say he told us to park it in front of the hotel and he would park it for us.

But to our suprise when we got home and check with our bank we got charged twice for Valet Parking. When I called the hotel thisafternoon, I was told I could leave a message for the mananger, I was told his name as Manny that was at 1:40pm (CT), I left a detailed message with our confirmation number, our phone number the issue I was calling about and yes I am still waiting for a call back.

I am disappointed, we travel alot, being a Military family and we always choose to stay at Hampton Inns for their outstanding service and clean hotels, now we will be wondering if we should choose a continue to use Hampton Inns or not.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraBartlett, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites we strive to uphold a high level of customer service for all of our guests. Should we ever fall short of our expectations we would like to know, and appreciate you taking the time to fill out a survey. In this situation your bill was reviewed and determined that you were not overcharged. At check in your card is authorized for the entire amount of room and tax and $30 extra per day for any incidentals you may incur. If a debit card is used, the bank automatically withholds this amount from your account. At check out the final balance is settled and any additional authorization is released once the charge is posted to your account. Our Front Office Manager will be in contact with you shortly to discuss the matter further. We do hope you choose to stay with us again during your next trip to New Orleans.

Manny Singh
504-566-9990
msing@highpointe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We changed our hotel to this one after I saw the good reviews about it. I am happy that I did this, as the hotel was located exactly across the street from the convention center where the AAD meeting was held. This was the closest hotel to the convention. As for the rooms it was quite spacious and clean and we had breakfast included in the rate as well. The hotel used to be a warehouse long time ago and it was converted to hotel and renovated beautifully. The hotel was in 20 minutes walking distance from the French quarter (Bourbone St.). Anyhow I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting New Orleans and especially for those that have a meeting in the convention center.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Good hotel at a reasonable price.
Very good free breakfast buffet.Parking is very expensive .We parked free for three days on the street about 100 feet away from front door.saved about $55.00.Be careful to check for parking signs.Approx. 15-20 minute walk to french quarter.Very safe large well lit street.
There may be some cheap buses but in good weather it's a pleasant walk.It's usually better to not use the car.Parking and traffic may be difficult in the french quarter.
The hotel is made up of two sections.The older part which I beleive was a factory.High ceilings old brick walls with a lot of character.The other side is modern and probably
cheaper but very functional.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower Garden District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.