We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very good choice of hotel in New Orleans” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a very good choice of hotel in New Orleans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is attractive as you walk in and the concierge is very nice but the rooms are void of any amenities. The breakfast...the only meal they serve...was awful...cold, enough salt to choke you and the presentation turns you off before you even eat the food. We sent it back. You will do much better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Only good thing about this room is it is far enough away from the noise of the Quarter to be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that the concierge provided a warm and friendly welcome for you, but I am sorry to learn that your room did not meet your expectations. I am also dismayed to learn that you were not happy with your meal at our restaurant. We would love the opportunity to discuss this feedback further if you would be willing. If so, please contact our Guest Services Manager at 504-581-1303 ext. 270 or todd.theriot@ihg.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    302
    100
    32
    28
See reviews for
89
251
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
University Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited New Orleans to go a Saints' Football game. The city was crazy busy, but lots of fun. The hotel staff attitude left a lot to be desired. When we arrived around 2pm there wasn't anyone at the desk for over 10 minutes. The "concierge" and I use the term lightly, was not helpful. " Not his job" attitude. Someone from outside finally wandered by and said someone would be there soon.
Room was decent. Old hotel that needs renovating. Location was great for walking everywhere. But, the noise level from the street did not subside until around 3 a.m. And the walls were paper thin, so if your neighbor came in late you heard his every move and conversation.
There are so many choices in this area (French Quarter) that I doubt that we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street, like an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing this review. New Orleans is also an exciting place during the NFL season. I apologize for the experience you had at our front desk. Our guests should expect nothing less than a warm and personable welcome when they arrive at Chateau LeMoyne, and it is clear that this is not the experience we delivered for you. I am happy that you enjoyed our location, which as you say is a convenient for walking to anywhere in the French Quarter. We would love the opportunity to learn more about your experiences at the hotel, especially with regards to our concierge service. If you would be willing, please contact the hotel with more details by contacting our Guest Services Manager at 504-581-1303 ext. 270 or todd.theriot@ihg.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! The staff was friendly! The rooms were comfortable and best of all they were quiet. With this hotel being so close to the always bustling Bourbon street, I was worried that the rooms would be loud all hours of the night!! I was wrong! I will definitely recommend this hotel to all if my friends! I cannot wait to go back here in two weeks!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. It's an honor to be considered one of the best hotels you have visited. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your experiences with our staff, and your recommendations to friends are much appreciated. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is a block from Bourbon St and within walking distance of many New Orleans attractions. There is an outdoor pool, which we didn't use. The restaurant is open for breakfast and service was quick and pleasant. All the employees were very cordial and helpful, especially Robert the concierge. He gave us directions several times, hailed cabs for us and made dinner reservations for us. Valet parking is extra but worth is since parking in the French Quarter is a nonexistant. Though this is an older hotel, it was very clean and nice. It would be hard to make updates without losing the character of the building. That being said, the only reason I didn't give an excellent review was for the lack of electrical outlets. In this age of computers/tablets/cell phones and ereaders, it was impossible to find someplace to plug in our electronics. If we go to New Orleans again we will plan to stay at this hotel and will bring a power strip with us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you your excellent feedback. I'm delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Robert knows New Orleans better than anyone, and he always has the perfect suggestion whatever you want to see or do in the French Quarter. We will look forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a girls weekend and felt this was a great deal. Minutes to everything. We didn't take advantage of the pool, but it was heated. We had a balcony and were able to sit outside and enjoy the view. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. One of the great things about New Orleans is that here a girls' weekend in can be almost anything you want it to be - whether that's a relaxing time admiring the sights from a scenic balcony, or cruising Bourbon Street from one party to the next. We hope to see you again soon on your next weekend getaway. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our eighth (8) Holiday Inn on our trip and our third visit to the Big Easy but a first to this property .

It is a very interesting looking hotel from the exterior and exciting to stay at a historic looking building with a courtyard pool.

Location is in the French Quarter and very close to Bourbon Street.

Valet parking was courteous and just a note that it is very close (across the street) to the hotel which would be good for in & out and worth the high cost of parking.

We had booked 2 King Bed Leisure rooms adjoining.

Front desk staff were accommodating but not too warm as she seemed busy at the time but we were the only guests there?

Made sure to confirm that we asked for adjoining rooms and clerk said it was noted on the reservation and they were.

We received rooms 351 & 352 which you would believe were close but not adjoining but that would be fine for us.

When we arrived at the rooms, which by the way are a very long way from the elevators (actually 352 is the farthest room possible) due to the courtyard in the middle of the hotel we found we were actually not near each other but that we were around the corner and at the end of another hallway! What happened to adjoining? We called down to the desk and were told the hotel was booked and that was all that was available! Thanks a lot!

Room 351 was a good size room and what we expected except that the "view" was a wall right outside the window that blocked every inch of view except a 3 inch narrow view of the pool at a 45 degree angle!

Room 352 was a very small room - so small that there was not even an easy chair (part of the King Leisure Room Description), a chest of drawers that was in a corner with the desk that could not be opened if you were sitting at the desk as it went over half the desk or only half the desk was usable but we did have a view of an enclosed back courtyard. The washroom opened directly into the room not at the side or down a hall and was less than private for anyone using the washroom as anyone else there had to look inside the washroom!

Mini fridges are not a part of the room but you can get one if you call down but on a first come basis.

In 33 years of staying at Holiday Inn this was the smallest and worst laid out room ever, but at least I didn't look out at a wall!

Both rooms had great king beds but the beds had 5 of what I would call "Golf Ball" pillows, Standard Pillows not king or queen that were wrapped into themselves to be round balls and very weird! They were not even close to the standard Holiday Inn Pillows we are accustomed to and although labelled soft & firm were actually all identical!

Air is controller from a wall thermostat and great and easy to use.

Rooms are surprisingly very quiet for being in the French Quarter.

Washrooms were a bit small but adequate, well lit with great towels and amenities and good water pressure.

Rooms and halls were very clean although in the two days we were there a small note pad page laid in the hall during the entire time.

Rooms were made up promptly every day and not too early.

Staff are courteous and helpful (except the front desk issue) and mostly eager to assist.

The pool area is a delight and makes you want to stay there with good towels and very clean.

We had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good with great service and product.

Make note there is no room service at this hotel and the restaurant is basically a breakfast use area. There is no service around the pool which is quite a surprise as it cries for this service.

All in all a great site with great amenities but very poor desk service some very poor rooms and views and could spoil your time in the Big Easy!

Upon checkout I asked the front desk to have management (manger temporarily not available) contact me and left my card but to date no contact from them.

Room Tip: Check your room and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for this very detailed review and for all of your comments and helpful feedback. I'm happy that you found so much to enjoy about your stay, from our comfortable beds and quiet ambiance to our breakfast service and courteous staff. However, we are dismayed to hear of your experience with both the special request in your reservation and the difficulties you encountered in rooms 351 and 352. Finally, we are very sorry that you have not been contacted as requested. We will look into finding your contact information which you left, but if you would be willing: if you can contact the Guest Services Manager at 504-581-1303 ext. 270 or todd.theriot@ihg.com that may prove a more prompt solution. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Came to New Orleans for Halloween and Voodoo Fest. Originally had another hotel booked, but due to scheduling conflicts, could not accomodate us Saturday night. So about a month prior, had to book with Chateau Lemoyne. Being my first visit to NO, wanted a balcony, a bar, a pool and close (but not too close) to Bourbon Street.

This hotel met all the criteria. The hotel was clean, staff friendly (but their directions suck...), pool was warm, rooms well maintiained and our balcony got the morning and evening sun.

Location was key, easy walking distance to the trolley, the cemetery and Bourbon Street.

I personally felt the price was a little high even though everything was great. But I have a feeling that between Halloween and Voodoo Fest the price skyrocketed for that weekend.

Breakfast was good, not used to the heavy food, but we found one plate fed 2 people. I misread something somewhere and was under the impression that breakfast was included. It's not, you recieve a voucher for $20 off your breakfast, but with 3 of us splitting plates and the voucher, breakfast ran us about $5.00 each.

Overall, an amazing stay, will return, but maybe on a less busy weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review and for choosing us when your original plans fell through. We agree that your list of criteria fits the Chateau LeMoyne to a "T." New Orleans is always an exciting city, but Voodoo Fest is absolutely one of the wildest annual events in the city. That makes it all the better to have a quieter hotel to escape to during the festivities, without traveling far away at all. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Address: 301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For distinctive boutique hotels, New Orleans offers the historic Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne. At this New Orleans hotel, immerse yourself in the nostalgia of a bygone era, just steps from Bourbon Street. Radiating quaint, New Orleans-style charm, this French Quarter hotel features a beautiful, secluded setting and historic architecture with modern amenities for your getaway. Pamper yourself with classically-decorated accommodations and thoughtful amenities including room service, complimentary high-speed Internet access and pay-per-view games and movies. Some rooms even offer windows or balconies with picturesque views of the French Quarter.Guests of New Orleans French Quarter hotels will not have to walk far to discover antique shops, art galleries and charming restaurants. A quick drive away, you can cheer on the New Orleans Saints at the Louisiana Superdome and take in some culture at New Orleans Fairgrounds race track, home of The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.After exploring the vibrant area, return to our boutique hotel to unwind as you lounge in the lovely courtyard tucked amid a dazzling collection of lush plants, flowers and incredible artwork. With a coveted locale near the Central Business District, Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne offers the best of both worlds among hotels in New Orleans. Experience the charm of the city s storied past combined with the luxury of present-day conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn Chateau Lemoyne
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.