We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In of a little refurbishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Norwich, U.K.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“In of a little refurbishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights at either end of a cruise and found that it was not the best Holiday Inn we had visited. Overall the hotel seemed a little worn and maybe in need of a little updating and refurbishment. For example paintwork was scuffed and bathroom fittings a little outdated. That having been said it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient although one of the concierge staff could do with some wider knowledge on the attractions of the city! On our second visit we were upgraded to a suite on the third floor and the layout was strange to say the least with a view of a completely blank wall from the windows! Breakfast was rather expensive so we only used it once preferring to visit one of the many excellent nearby eateries.
Although only one block from the hectic and very noisy Bourbon Street bars and clubs it was quiet. Excellent location for all the French Quarter attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to leave us some constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. Our staff strives each day to maintain a high level of customer service through helpful suggestions for downtown attractions and a providing a helping hand whenever necessary. We hope that you will stay with us again during your next cruise or trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    283
    98
    30
    24
See reviews for
84
233
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel, clean and tidy with good location to Bourbon Street. Close enough to all the bars and restaurants which are open to the early hours, but far enough way for a quite night. If you are in certain rooms on the fifth floor you can hear the hotel air conditioning but did not affect my sleep. After a good night out with great food I often wanted a quite nightcap so disappointed the hotel bar closed at 10.00pm, as I did not want to go back out again. Several people also turned up after ten to be turned away so why not a residents bar? Couldn't even stay in the bar to finish the drinks as often being rushed out so they could clean up. Would I stay again? Probably yes but it does feel tired and needs a refurbishment. Staff were polite and friendly enough. It was spring break when I stayed so may have clouded my judgement. Bourbon Street is like Blackpool on steroids..

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for making us your hotel of choice for your spring break travels. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location close to the restaurants and bars of Bourbon Street. We appreciate the notes regarding the hotel bar, and we will definitely keep them in mind as we continuously grow and improve. We hope to see you again for any future trips you take to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The one thing I want to make sure no one does after reading this review "is don't pay extra for a balcony room". It is just not worth it.The balcony doors don't open cause the carpet pulls up from the floor and it is then blocked. Also it is very Noisy with a balcony. Construction is going constantly in New Orleans so make sure to check this situation if you book at another hotel. This is a standard Holiday Inn. There is nothing special about the rooms, they are the same Holiday Inn rooms off every interstate. Hotel needs to be totally refurbished and this hotel has seen better days. This my second stay at this hotel and I am finished.
Two positives: Location is great (SO find another hotel nearby) and it does have a nice bar, although always empty. Holiday Inn could improve this property 100%.

Room Tip: Maybe in the courtyard but the buildings are old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We would like to begin by thanking you for your stay, and for taking the time to leave us some notes. We are pleased that you enjoyed the bar in the hotel and our great location near many of the French Quarter's top attractions. However, we are concerned to discover that you were disappointed with your balcony room. We apologize that the doors leading to the balcony were sticking on the carpet, and we wish we were had been given the opportunity to remedy this while you were with us. We value the experience of each guest, and never want anyone to leave dissatisfied. We would like to address your concerns more thoroughly, so if you would please contact our Guest Services Manager at 504-581-1303 ext. 270 or todd.theriot@ihg.com. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We used my husband's points to stay here last year for an overnight stay while on a road trip. It was conveniently located near Bourbon Street so we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel. The hotel and rooms were obviously a bit older, however, everything was very charming. We had a small balcony and we enjoyed some wine and people watching out there before we hit the town. In the morning, we still wanted to sight see, and valet was nice enough that they brought our car around so we could put our items in it, and then they valeted it again for us until we were done with our day, for just the one time/one day rate.

We will definitely be interested in staying here again if we are back in New Orleans!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy that you found the location near Bourbon Street to be perfect for walking everywhere you wanted. Enjoying a glass of wine on your balcony overlooking the city is the perfect start to an evening in New Orleans. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Chateau LeMoyne now represents the Intercontinental brand in the French Quarter. Its location at Bienville and Dauphine makes for easy walking to all the things you'll want to take in, whether it's Bourbon St., Decatur St/Riverfront, or antiques on Royal St. There are many good restaurants nearby which is good since the hotel itself does not have full restaurant service any longer. There is breakfast, which we did not try, but it looked nice.

The bar is limited, but if you are staying here and need one last drink to take up to your room, you can get one.

The rooms are standard sized, clean, reasonably well maintained. Like many older hotels, the bathrooms are diminutive.

We stayed on the top floor, which was interesting, as the building has a French-style mansard roof, which provides for slanted ceilings on the top. There are gallery windows in the corridor that give a view of the hotel courtyard and the rooftops of the French Quarter.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, including holding luggage for us and giving good advice on restaurants. Although it was a very busy time with a large convention getting started, we felt well looked after.

Just be advised that the price you are paying for this hotel reflects its location, and is not an indication of luxury. You will find very standard hotel towels, soap, etc and there is no Priority Club welcome item.

Room Tip: If you care to splurge, the balcony rooms might be worth consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location during your trip to New Orleans. We are located within just a few minutes of some of the most visited attractions and restaurants in the city. We are happy that you found the rooms to be clean and well maintained, and that the staff was helpful throughout your stay. We do hope that if you return to the Big Easy, that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is only the second "negative" hotel review I have posted and both revolved around a poor staff attitude. The location is very nice, the rooms spacious and clean, but staff is not concerned. As a Platinum Priority member, requested "a high floor, room with a view, please". Got a room on the 3rd floor of 5 and a "view" of a construction site. To make matters worse, the debris pick-up for the site was at 4 AM! OMG!!! Went on for over 30 minutes. Called for coffee at 6:15..."call back at 6:30, we aren't open yet". Seriously....you can't write down a coffee order?!?! Then my dry cleaning/laundry came back at 9:30 PM....after I had returned from dinner. Nice! Will never stay at this property again!

Left and spent two nights at Crowne Plaza - Airport. Highly recommend that property if you have an early flight. The staff was amazing, professional, and appreciated you staying there.

Room Tip: Here's a tip....don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for the candid review of your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, and you appreciated our location. We apologize that you felt our customer service team were less than responsive. We greatly value the guest experience, and never want to hear that someone felt unwelcome during his or her stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to address your issues and concerns directly. Please contact our Guest Services Manager at 504-581-1303 ext. 270 or todd.theriot@ihg.com so that we may discuss further. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the Chateau and were very pleased with the room. We were in a perfect location to walk all over the French Quarter, WWII Museum, street cars etc., yet on a quiet street. We were only 1 block from Bourbon Street but without the craziness. The room was large and comfortable. They even brought us a small refrigerator free of charge. The bed was nice. We had drinks in the lounge and a nice breakfast (not included) in the mornings. They also had a pleasant courtyard and pool internal to the hotel. Valet parking was a bit steep at $34 per night but our car was safe behind a fenced lot. Overall we enjoyed the service and ammenities.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask to be away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very happy you enjoyed your room and the location most. It really is a rare treat to be within walking distance to so many main attractions of a city while on vacation. We are pleased that you took advantage of the lounge for drinks and ate breakfast with us in the morning. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn Chateau Lemoyne
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Address: 301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For distinctive boutique hotels, New Orleans offers the historic Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne. At this New Orleans hotel, immerse yourself in the nostalgia of a bygone era, just steps from Bourbon Street. Radiating quaint, New Orleans-style charm, this French Quarter hotel features a beautiful, secluded setting and historic architecture with modern amenities for your getaway. Pamper yourself with classically-decorated accommodations and thoughtful amenities including room service, complimentary high-speed Internet access and pay-per-view games and movies. Some rooms even offer windows or balconies with picturesque views of the French Quarter.Guests of New Orleans French Quarter hotels will not have to walk far to discover antique shops, art galleries and charming restaurants. A quick drive away, you can cheer on the New Orleans Saints at the Louisiana Superdome and take in some culture at New Orleans Fairgrounds race track, home of The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.After exploring the vibrant area, return to our boutique hotel to unwind as you lounge in the lovely courtyard tucked amid a dazzling collection of lush plants, flowers and incredible artwork. With a coveted locale near the Central Business District, Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne offers the best of both worlds among hotels in New Orleans. Experience the charm of the city s storied past combined with the luxury of present-day conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.