We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Amazing Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Amazing Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Right in the French Quarter and walking distance to Jackson Square and the streetcars. The concierge service was one of the best I have ever experienced. They were totally honest about what tours to spend our money on and when to save it. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. Heated outdoor pool was lovely and we very much enjoyed our stay there. I was stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a few kind words about your most recent stay with us. We work to maintain top-notch customer service that can match our location within walking distance of the most exciting things to do in New Orleans. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    284
    100
    30
    24
See reviews for
85
235
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is in a great central location for all the activities on Bourbon St. It's also an easy walk to Harrah's Casino and the aquarium in one direction, and to Jackson Square, the French Market, Cafe DuMonde, and the river walk in the other direction. Valet parking is available at $34.95 per day. Your vehicle is secured in a gated outdoor lot across the street from the hotel.

The hotel has an attractive ground level bar overlooking Dauphine St. It is great for meeting/greeting members of your party. Although the bar closes at 10 PM, the bartender stated that he would extend the hours if it was busy. The hotel has an excellent restaurant that overlooks the central, outdoor courtyard with it's heated swimming pool. The restaurant serves breakfast daily till 11:30 AM. The breakfast served is not the free buffet type offered at many economy hotels. Breakfast options are listed on an extensive menu and cooked to order. We found that the menu items were not expensive and cheaper than those offered at the "famed" restaurants in the French Quarter with their inherent long lines and waiting times. Add in the great service and you had a convenient way to start your day.

The rooms at the Chateau Lemoyne are the typical Holiday Inn fare, clean and comfortable. The cental heating/AC is controlled by a wall mounted thermostat which kept the room's temperature very comfortable. There is no ceiling fan. We were disappointed that our standard, double rooms did not have a refridgerator or microwave. The coin operated drink machine down the hall only accepted quarters during the beginning of our stay and eventually accepted nothing toward the end. The availability of electrical outlets in the rooms was minimal and inconvenient. The bathroom contained the only easily accessible outlet that also doubled as a power source for the hair dryer and coffee pot. I felt rather squeemish about plugging in my cell phone charger near a water source (the sink). The other wall outlets in the room were behind various pieces of furniture and did not have any open outlets. Ironically, the room did have a large area of empty wall that would have been ideal for an additional electrical outlet (or fridge?).

I would probably stay at this property again unless I found another hotel in as convenient a location, with cheaper parking rates, and a refridgerator in the room. I especially liked the friendliness of the very helpful staff and the armed security on the premises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the elements of your stay from the location near the action to the made-to-order breakfast served each morning. As you mentioned, the Bienville Lounge is perfect for meeting up with other members of your party. Our customer service team strives to be as accommodating as possible, and we would not be here without our wonderful guests. We hope you choose to stay with us during your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gecko831
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights just before Christmas. The front desk clerk was very nice & always helpful. The room had 2 double beds & overlooked the center courtyard if the hotel, which was very pretty. The hotel is in an old historic building & as a result the bathroom is super small & electric outlets are limited but I felt the charm of the building made up for it. The hotel is within walking distance of Jackson Square, the French Market, Bourbon Street, Royal Street & lots of great food & restaurants. We had breakfast at the hotel once, but it was expensive ($40 for a waffle w/bacon, an omlet skillet, 2 coffees & an orange juice) but all food establishments in this area seemed expensive. My only compliant is the valet parking - several times there was just one valet trying to help several groups of guests or there was no valet to be found. Parking was $34.95 per day plus tax, expensive, especially considering when we got home we noticed the bumper of our car had noticeably been damaged. My guess is that that while the car was being parked in the tight confines of the French Quarter the car accidentally bumped a wall. Accidents happen but we should have been told about it - I highly doubt the person driving the car didnt notice the car ran into something. However, because we didn't notice the damage until we got home there was not much we could do - I should have checked it before we left because i can understand the hotel has limited ability to address the problem once guests have checked out. I only mention this because if you use the valet service make sure you double check your vehicle before you check out for damage that was not there before you checked in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in downtown New Orleans, and the close proximity it puts you to many great historic and modern attractions. It is wonderful that you appreciated the charm of the building we are housed in. We regret to hear that your experience with the valet service was not up to par. We hope you will stay with us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurghGirl71
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The location is on Dauphin, one block north of Bourbon just off Bienville and about a 30 second walk to Arnaud's, Bayona, or GWFins.

Our room faced Dauphin which caused some noise on Friday and Saturday nights. (What can you expect-it's one block off Bourbon St. In the center of a large, active city with nightlife and traffic.) We heard no noise generated from within the hotel by patrons and it was busy with a home Saints game. The pool was nice on a 75 degree day. It was clean and towels provided. No changing area however. We ate breakfast at the hotel only one day and it was acceptable. Basic good food, comparable in price to other places we found. Like everywhere in NOLA portions size was way too big. The free WI-Fi was about as good as anywhere speed-wise and better than most hotels regardless of "class." we were surprised.

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating. That includes all of the front desk staff, concierges, bar and breakfast room, and housekeeping. My husband had to have a package delivered and the front desk informed us of the delivery immediately and offered to bring it to our room right away. Additionally, we had a 6 am flight on our departure day so we had to move to a hotel by the airport. Not wishing to leave NOLA too early to move out of the FQ, the concierge held our bags in a secure location for several hours and then called a cab for us.

The bed was comfy. The trendy numerous half-pillows were terrible -hated them. We were so busy we kept forgetting to ask for normal pillows which you can do.

The hotel is badly in need of an update. While the furnishings were ok-NOLA colors and fleur-de-lis style, the chair seat was sun-faded and curtain liners torn. There aren't enough electrical plugs for the multiple devices 2 people have these days. The elevators are small and the interior finishes badly stained or marked. (I guess though when you consider the activities and state of many people staying in NOLA it isn't a surprise, nor a surprise that Holiday Inn doesn't continually invest in updates when ppl are just going to trash it.) The bathroom was very small for 2 people.

I would definitely stay here again. It is a great location and adequate sleeping quarters. If you're in NOLA that's probably all you are doing in the room anyway so luxury -at least for us-isn't an issue. I can't imagine staying on Bourbon on a weekend or during an event. The noise is incredible. At least here you are away from 95% of it. I also can't imagine staying away from the FQ where much of the action and interests lie. Cabs are cheap and the public transit cheaper and easy to use if you wish to go elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your helpful review of our hotel. We appreciate the notes you give for returning and future guests. Our location near the heart of the action in the city can lead to a noisy stay, but we have done all we can to ensure that does not happen for our guests. We are so happy that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, as customer service is of utmost importance to us. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just placed a phone call over to Chateau LeMoyne, and was not very happy. I called to get some information to fax something to someone in the hotel. After being answered very by Ron, but eventually getting the information I needed he than THOUGHT he had hung the phone up properly which I than heard him rudely insult me, by making fun of my speech impairment, and repeating what I said...well after feeling so disrespected I called back to the hotel and a man name Todd answer and was not very helpful says he was the front office manager and really acted like what I had to say was not important at all...I felt as if he didn't care. I have worked in the hospitality for several years and I have never assisted any of my guest like I was treat by them. It is very sad to know that our local hotels have staff like this in our beautiful city. I really hope that Human Resource Manager, and General Manager really take this into consideration. I will be waiting to be contacted by the General Manager. This hotel is very beautiful and has such a wonderful appearance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to review your interaction with our hotel. We are deeply apologetic that you felt you were treated disrespectfully - as that is most certainly not the impression we look to make. We would absolutely appreciate the opportunity to discuss this situation with you further if you would please provide General Manager Al Stento, at al.stento@ihg.com, with your contact information. Again, we profusely apologize for your experience and would be grateful for the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location of Chateau Lemoyne is nicely situated. Quiet street with minimal traffic, yet you are within walking distance of Bourbon Street and great restaurants. Also a nice casual walk brings you down to Jackson Square.
The lobby of the hotel is small but adequate. The staff and concierge were all friendly and attentive. There is no parking so you drive your vehicle to the front of the hotel and the attendant takes care of it from there. There is security present at all times. The hotel is situated in one of the old time structures so expect a lot of old time architecture to be present. The rooms are small but adequate and most give a view to an inner courtyard and swimming pool. There is no complimentary continental breakfast nor is there a coffee station. There is a nice dining room where breakfast can be bought. I found the most filling and least costly breakfast was the breakfast skillet which was delicious and filling. The service was also wonderful. Didn't get a chance to go to the bar but it seemed to have a nice ambience to it.
So this is still a Holiday Inn in spite of the fancy name. It is adequate, clean and accessible to most attractions in the french quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. We are happy that you found the staff to be friendly, the location to be quiet yet close to everything, and that you felt safe staying here during your trip. Classic French Quarter architecture as a setting for a modern New Orleans experience is our specialty. We hope that you will stay with us again during your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel was convenient as far as location and I was able to a great rate through Poppa Noel. It is a bit dated in that the bathroom was very small and so were the elevators. The staff was nice for the most part with the exception of one "gentleman", Roy. He was quite snippy and sarcastic while trying to cover with a forced laugh each time I dealt with him. Not pleasant. We had breakfast in the restaurant and the food was good although they got my husband's order wrong. They corrected it. It was rather noisy at night with lots of arguments heard outside on the street although we were on the 3rd floor. Don't think this will be my first choice the next time I visit NO. If you just care about convenience and can get it at a good rate, it's okay.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to review your stay with our hotel in New Orleans. We are concerned to hear that you experienced customer service that was not up to par, but are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and rates. Your notes are appreciated as we continue to grow and improve. We value the guest experience, and if you would like to discuss your visit further, please contact our Guest Services Manager at 504-581-1303 ext. 270 or todd.theriot@ihg.com. Thank you again for your notes. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn Chateau Lemoyne
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Address: 301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For distinctive boutique hotels, New Orleans offers the historic Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne. At this New Orleans hotel, immerse yourself in the nostalgia of a bygone era, just steps from Bourbon Street. Radiating quaint, New Orleans-style charm, this French Quarter hotel features a beautiful, secluded setting and historic architecture with modern amenities for your getaway. Pamper yourself with classically-decorated accommodations and thoughtful amenities including room service, complimentary high-speed Internet access and pay-per-view games and movies. Some rooms even offer windows or balconies with picturesque views of the French Quarter.Guests of New Orleans French Quarter hotels will not have to walk far to discover antique shops, art galleries and charming restaurants. A quick drive away, you can cheer on the New Orleans Saints at the Louisiana Superdome and take in some culture at New Orleans Fairgrounds race track, home of The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.After exploring the vibrant area, return to our boutique hotel to unwind as you lounge in the lovely courtyard tucked amid a dazzling collection of lush plants, flowers and incredible artwork. With a coveted locale near the Central Business District, Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne offers the best of both worlds among hotels in New Orleans. Experience the charm of the city s storied past combined with the luxury of present-day conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.