We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice, old hotel in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A very nice, old hotel in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I decided we wanted to stay in the French Quarter during this trip to New Orleans. After checking several hotels and discovering either a lack of rooms or really expensive rooms due to the juxtaposition of July 4 and the Essence Music Festival, we finally found the Chateau Lemoyne, which had rooms available in our price range.

Our room and bath were both small, but clean and tidy. The room had two beds, a small round table, a 3-drawer dresser with a TV on top, an iron and ironing board, and an in-room safe. I was surprised at how small the closet was. Instead of the bar running side to side, it ran back to front and pulled out. It was so short that I had my husband hang up his shirts while I left all my clothes in the suitcase. At least the countertop in the bathroom was a good size and the water pressure in the shower was good and strong with plenty of very hot water. The room had a somewhat wimpy air conditioning system, so, since there was no ventilation in the bathroom, the room became humid and pretty much stayed that way. The beds were reasonably comfortable and the room (on the 4th floor) was quiet most of the time.

The hotel has a lounge (open from 3pm to 10pm) and a dining room (open from 6:30am to 10:30 am for breakfast). There's a small pool in the courtyard. Valet parking is extra and kind of pricey, but typical for the area. On the whole, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would stay here again, though it probably wouldn't be our first choice.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for leaving your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans and we welcome your notes in regards to our accommodations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    304
    103
    32
    28
See reviews for
89
251
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is a safe bet for a value stay in French Quarter. Close enough to all sites and action but just out of the real loud & noisy streets.

Check in is quick and friendly and room ( king side balcony) while dated was good size and clean.
Small balcony with table & chairs is a nice option for evening drink & passing sites below.
Down side is no mimi bar fridge ( they are available upon request on a first come basis apparently, so book one when you make initial reservation if necessary)

Bathroom is adequate with ok shower pressure and housekeeping is quick and efficient.

TIP; forget paying high price for conducted local tours, just take the red trams to end of line and back and then next day the green tram to cross town garden district and zoo and museums. cost for each ride $2.00 each way!! fantastic.

Tip: If you stay during hot weather make sure you top up on ice early as later guests can "run the machine dry" for short time.

Overall experience met expectations and would recommend for value stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for higher floor balcony rooms. Room 402 was OK .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our ideal location. Thanks also for leaving the great tip on using the trams to explore. Future guests will surely appreciate it. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before we took our cruise. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Valet, while pricey, was very prompt with our car and very personable. I remember one valet team member, Richard, was super! The front desk staff was also wonderful. We actually booked the room on Priceline, and we had never heard of it before. We were very happy!! We had a balcony room, and the street noise was nonexistent. We would love to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and our stellar staff. Thanks for mentioning Richard, specifically. Hope your cruise was phenomenal! We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is beautiful! The service was great and everyone was helpful! They even booked us a city tour and gave us advice and directions on where to eat. Plan on paying $30-40 to valet your car every night. It is not an option either... well, unless you want to park your car on the street in New Orleans (which is not advised). We left our car in valet and chose to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Face the pool. It's a beautiful view and I'm pretty sure it's cooler since you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you had an excellent time on your tour. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our excellent staff, I'm glad they could make your stay even more enjoyable. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Staff was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable -- our stay was amazing. Special thanks to Crystal at the front desk & Ryan in Security. Will definitely return!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We appreciate your kind review and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for taking a moment to recognize our fantastic staff. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

As a Platinum member of Priority Club, I was a little disappointed that my upgrade at the Chateau LeMoyne only meant a standard hotel room with a balcony overlooking a side street. I understand this is an older hotel, but it seems to me there are things they could do to make a loyal member feel more "pampered". How about the customary bag of goodies at check-in? How about a fridge/micro? Those complaints aside, I must say that the staff here is exemplary and went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms, though dated, are clean and neat. The lobby is nicely appointed, too. The pool area is beautiful!

More negatives: The waitress in the restaurant who was quite rude one morning at breakfast. My friend and I sat at a table near the pool that wasn't set up (which we had done the previous morning with no problem), only to be hollered at by the waitress that she wasn't serving "over there", all of 4 feet away from where she stood. Things went downhill from there when we told her that we had sat there the previous morning and the waitress that day served us at that table. She responded with a comment like "Excuse me for taking a day off." Huh? We didn't bother going back for breakfast again. Who needs that first thing in the morning?

Another issue: With the "do not disturb" sign on the door, housekeeping came in anyway while we were out. Unacceptable. We didn't say anything to management, but made sure that we kept our personal belongings under wraps if we left the room.

Although the location to activities in the French Quarter is convenient, I would likely not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks very much for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. We appreciate your notes and this opportunity to respond to some of your concerns. The perks for Priority Club members are not standardized across all Holiday Inn hotels, so we are continually looking for the best ways to reward our Priority Club members for choosing us. Your feedback is very helpful. We apologize profusely for your negative dining experience. We have addressed this with our wait staff. Finally, our “Do Not Disturb” signs actually read “Do Not Disturb until 2 p.m.” Of course, if you request with the front desk that our cleaning staff not go in we will make sure they do not enter your room. I apologize if this caused undue distress. Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed our pool area and felt staff went out of their way to ensure you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the middle of the French Quarter as mentioned in other reviews. Three observations. 1. Staff is wonderful and nice and rooms are clean and quiet. 2. I didn't know to feel comfortable or uncomfortable by the needed for armed police to be at the front door of the hotel 24-hours-a-day. I felt safer...but then wondered what the need was and if I was safe... 3. Being from Mississippi, I can park my own car. The $38 a night required fee is expensive. And the valet parking is not optional. There is literally no where else to park.

My suggestion...add the fee to the room and state is as so. Or give us an option to park your own car. Nice hotel...but just felt odd....but maybe that's part of the ambience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thanks for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location and superb staff. It's nice to be so close to all the action but far enough away for a peaceful night's sleep. We'll take your notes on the valet service as we move forward and appreciate your taking the time give us some feedback. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Address: 301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For distinctive boutique hotels, New Orleans offers the historic Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne. At this New Orleans hotel, immerse yourself in the nostalgia of a bygone era, just steps from Bourbon Street. Radiating quaint, New Orleans-style charm, this French Quarter hotel features a beautiful, secluded setting and historic architecture with modern amenities for your getaway. Pamper yourself with classically-decorated accommodations and thoughtful amenities including room service, complimentary high-speed Internet access and pay-per-view games and movies. Some rooms even offer windows or balconies with picturesque views of the French Quarter.Guests of New Orleans French Quarter hotels will not have to walk far to discover antique shops, art galleries and charming restaurants. A quick drive away, you can cheer on the New Orleans Saints at the Louisiana Superdome and take in some culture at New Orleans Fairgrounds race track, home of The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.After exploring the vibrant area, return to our boutique hotel to unwind as you lounge in the lovely courtyard tucked amid a dazzling collection of lush plants, flowers and incredible artwork. With a coveted locale near the Central Business District, Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne offers the best of both worlds among hotels in New Orleans. Experience the charm of the city s storied past combined with the luxury of present-day conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn Chateau Lemoyne
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.