We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel that is away from all the excitement but in walking distance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #69 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel that is away from all the excitement but in walking distance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed here for the Essence festival in july2011. This was perfect! You were a couple blocks from Bourbon street but still secluded.

This is a small boutique type hotel so if maintenance or any other assistance was needed, you were able to get assistance in a timely manner.

The only down side was the bathroom was small, but we weren't in our hotel room a lot to complain about the size.

Great hotel to stay in French Quarter. Don't have to deal with the "crazies" and the smell of bourbon street like the other holiday inn that is located in the heart of French Quarter

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    310
    105
    34
    28
See reviews for
95
260
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed at the Chateau Lemoyne for five nights in Room 449 overlooking the courtyard with the swimming pool. The room had a very comfortable king-sized bed, as requested and was much larger than an average hotel room.

The pool area is lovely and the pool itself was very clean. It was nice to return to the hotel for a quick dip before going out at night.

The staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful.

In terms of location, the hotel is in the north west corner of the French Quarter. We spent a lot of time on Frenchmen Street which is a good 20 minute walk away, so next time I might pick a hotel that is closer to that location. However, having said that, the walk did provide an excuse to continually try different routes through the Quarter...

All in all, it is an excellent hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here for three nights with my wife and two daughters (21 and 18). We booked two rooms, my daughters had a balcony room overlooking Rue Dauphine with two double beds and my wife and I had a room with a queen size bed overlooking a wall. Both rooms were nicely furnished, a bit nicer than what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. The bathrooms were very small, the door nearly hits the toilet when open.

The location was perfect, a block away from Bourbon Street (and the noise and smell) but close to several excellent restaurants (GW Fin, Arnauds, Louisiana Bistro). There was a lovely salt water swimming pool in the courtyard of the hotel, and the staff was helpful and courteous. I'd give them 5 stars except they had some sort of mixup with our payment and actually disabled our keys temporarily. A visit to the desk straightened thongs out, but there was no apology or explanation other than "Sometimes cell phones cause the keys to not function".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Alan and Roy are 2 of the hotel's greatest employee's. They we're so helpful and kind and patient! Gave us the best advise on tours as well as where to eat and shop. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and perfectly placed in the quarter( Walking distance 2 blocks from canal st and 1 block off bourban). Safes in all rooms for free!!! Ask Alan to set you up for the airboat adventure tours, a must do while you are there!!!!

Room Tip: every room in this hotel has an awesome view of something and good air in all the rooms too. Beds ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Chateau LeMoyne is a larger French Quarter Hotel located a block off Bourbon. The hotel is an old style Holiday Inn with a full service resturant and bar, I mean old style with uniformed waiters and a really nice courtyard patio with table adjoining the resturant. The bar is extremely nice but not real busy, There is no free breakfast but the resturant's food and view of the courtyard make it worth the price.

The rooms are definately CLEAN and well appointed, not overly big but more than adeqate, you could put a family of four in there. The bathroom was excellent except for the towels, they were well past there expiration, sort of like drying off with sand paper. The hotel is a marvel in its inadequacies are off set by unusual amenities that are more than what you would expect in a Holiday Inn.

The closet contains a combination safe large enough for your laptop - see pictures; this is an innovation that shows that the owners are aware of the customer's needs, the free WiFi is alos a plus. The top of the line shampoo and soap are a plus with the coffee maker and hair dryer.

The layout of the hotel is perfect for a New Orleans vacation; restored Creole Town Houses made into a top flight hotel. The courtyard pool area also retains the old outdoor kitchen area with the brick oven. This is where the meals were cooked 200 years ago; the pool lounge chairs are adjacent to the old kitchen area and overlook the pool; the chairs are bufffeted with large French doors. This is a real nnovation you will not see any where else.

The service was o.k. but I won't say it's exceptional with the exception of Housekeeping, they are excellent.

The best part of the deal is the location, one block off Bourbon, and two blocks from Canal; one door down from one of NOLA's up and coming reaturants, the Louisiana Bistro.

The Chateau Lemoyne's rates that I looked at seemed low considering what you get but you definately want to stay away from the valet parking charge. Really using a car in New Orleans is not necessary due to the street car and the pedistrian friendly layout.

Enjoy the Chateau LeMoyne and New Orleans you will want to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I chose this hotel due to reviews on tripadvisor and I am so happy I stayed here. What a delightful boutique hotel. Staff was gracious, rooms were spacious, inner courtyard was lovely. We stayed in a corner room where we had 3 private balconies. Bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. No reason to pay 200+ for a room when this one is just as nice as the more expensive hotels in the French Quarter. You are in the Quarter and not far from Bourbon St so don't expect the weekend nights to be quiet until about 2 am.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with our 12 year old for the Junior Olympics Track and Field. The hotel was a very nice place to stay for location, price and atmosphere - in that order......; our room was clean and the pool area was nice. You may have some noise depending upon what is going on in the halls or alleys at the wee hours; but I'm sure that is common anywhere near Bourbon street. For a FAMILY - I would skip Bourbon and walk on down to the Market area and Jackson Square..... We had a lot of fun!!!

Pralines, ACME Oyster House, Biegnets and coffee, shops, live music, street performers, Good local cigars, great drinks, street cars, Lots of fun...

Taxis are the best way to get around longer distances (i.e. the airport), while most of everything is really just a short walk from this hotel.......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne

Address: 301 Rue Dauphine, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For distinctive boutique hotels, New Orleans offers the historic Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne. At this New Orleans hotel, immerse yourself in the nostalgia of a bygone era, just steps from Bourbon Street. Radiating quaint, New Orleans-style charm, this French Quarter hotel features a beautiful, secluded setting and historic architecture with modern amenities for your getaway. Pamper yourself with classically-decorated accommodations and thoughtful amenities including room service, complimentary high-speed Internet access and pay-per-view games and movies. Some rooms even offer windows or balconies with picturesque views of the French Quarter.Guests of New Orleans French Quarter hotels will not have to walk far to discover antique shops, art galleries and charming restaurants. A quick drive away, you can cheer on the New Orleans Saints at the Louisiana Superdome and take in some culture at New Orleans Fairgrounds race track, home of The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.After exploring the vibrant area, return to our boutique hotel to unwind as you lounge in the lovely courtyard tucked amid a dazzling collection of lush plants, flowers and incredible artwork. With a coveted locale near the Central Business District, Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau Lemoyne offers the best of both worlds among hotels in New Orleans. Experience the charm of the city s storied past combined with the luxury of present-day conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn Chateau Lemoyne
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.