We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Storyville to your Saves list
Hotel Storyville
1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We did a great little stay-cation here and don’t think you could find a more perfect place. It’s relaxed. It’s charming. It’s unique. It’s comfortable. It has a fantastic location. The entire hotel has a beachy/nautical theme. Our room had a sailing ship motif that brought to mind New Orleans’s status as one of America’s great port cities. All the rooms are equipped with full kitchens, which allow for some of the comforts of home while on the road. What better way to celebrate the morning than by making a pot of coffee and taking in the beauty of Esplanade Avenue from your balcony? You could feel like you live in New Orleans here even if you don’t. I've paid at least three times as much for a four star hotel room in this city only to wind up in a postage stamp sized box with no character. Our room at Storyville was spacious and bright. There is a large backyard/garden area which we unfortunately weren't able to take advantage of because of the wintery weather. It was a five minute walk (at most) to the French Quarter and Marigny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    33
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
65
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Storyville has one of the best courtyards I've seen around New Orleans. The room decorations are right on point. And it is in the perfect location, close enough to the fun of the French quarter but not right in the middle. It's great for a romantic getaway...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I recently spent five days in New Orleans just to kick around, relax and enjoy the great food and music this unique city has to offer. It was my second stay at Storyville and certainly wont be my last. My room was very nice and clean. The owner, Barbara, has obviously been hard at work. Particularly on the back yard which has been transformed into a lush garden with a covered bar and sitting area perfect to enjoy book and a cool beverage. Storyville itself is in such a premium location. Quite neighbourhood just two blocks from Little Dizzies for breakfast or Buffas a laid back local bar also with great food and live entertainment. Only a few blocks further is the Fr Quarter. Got to love it! I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed here on five occasions. This place is a treasure. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The location is convenient to the quarter,Marigny,the museum district, and restaurants. We have greatly enjoyed our stays and will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gan Yavne,, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed there on September 2013. The owner - Barbara, was very friendly and helpful. the room was big and very clean. Storyville hotel is located not far from the Frence Quarter.. We will advise our friends to stay there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Storyville for a few nights on a recent trip to New Orleans. My room/suite was very nice, very clean. As the other reviews noted, Barbara is a good manager. The hotel is located not to far from Frenchman Street and Bourbon Street. I would stay here again for sure. Make sure you take a trip to Buffa's nearby for food and live music.

Room Tip: you can request a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was GREAT! Beautiful sidewalked street with comfortable front porch to relax with a drink. I traveled there with my 18 year old daughter and we enjoyed the easy come and go, the close proximity to the French Quarter. The taxi was usually ten dollars or less. This is New Orleans. Forget about the big hotel. The rooms were large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the amenities and it was a nice place to come home to each night. We look forward to going back soon. We are from Boston and it was notably quiet and relaxing at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong booking your stay here. We had a lovely 3 night-er!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Storyville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.