We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The laid back feel of New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Storyville to your Saves list
Hotel Storyville
1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The laid back feel of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was GREAT! Beautiful sidewalked street with comfortable front porch to relax with a drink. I traveled there with my 18 year old daughter and we enjoyed the easy come and go, the close proximity to the French Quarter. The taxi was usually ten dollars or less. This is New Orleans. Forget about the big hotel. The rooms were large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the amenities and it was a nice place to come home to each night. We look forward to going back soon. We are from Boston and it was notably quiet and relaxing at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong booking your stay here. We had a lovely 3 night-er!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    35
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
65
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

When I arrived no one was there to greet me, just a note on the door with my keys. I have friends in the city who met me at the hotel and I locked us out of the room. Upon calling the owner of the Hotel Storyville to let me back in my room I was informed that she was "at dinner" and couldn't come for another 30 min. After about 15, my friends and I started sharing music with each other on the deck and it wasn't for another 30 minutes after that that the owner arrived to let us in our room. Immediately upon seeing me there with friends I was accused of letting 5 people stay in a room meant for 1-2. This however was not the case, as I mentioned above that I have friends who live in the city and the other person with me was my partner who I was sharing the room with. The owner doesn't believe me, accuses me of causing too much of a ruckus at her "esteemed hotel" and was then told I had to get out and that my money wasn't welcome there. From here the owner physically turned around and left the property. I called her and asked her to come back and speak to me however I was told over and over again that I wasn't the kind of business welcomed at her hotel and she would under no circumstances come back and speak to me. Authorities would threatened to be called if I did not vacate the premises. I have never been so rudely treated and felt so threatened in all of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Are you looking for a fun night on Bourbon or the more "locals" frequented Frenchman St? Maybe you'd like to stroll through downtown, or the shops on Canal? How about the French Market? You're only a short walk away from Hotel Storyville.

Nestled in the historic French Quarter, Hotel Storyville offers all the comforts of home and makes traveling feel like anything but... Upon my arrival Barbara the Hotel manager, greeted me with a warm smile and gave me a tour of the facility that included a spacious and inviting back yard complete with a patio perfect for lounging. As we made our way upstairs, I was shown the balcony that would prove to be the perfect place to sip my morning cup of "Joe" and people watch.

We opened the door to room which to my delight had been upgraded, free of charge. The room was clean, furnished well, and reminded me of my apartment in the Caribbean with its bright, warm, colors and ceiling fans. The room just begged for anyone walking in to "stay a while." Shortly after, Barbara threw some local knowledge my way and suggested places I might want to give a look during my stay. I would later meet the housekeeper (I regret missing her name) who was equally as friendly and welcoming.

If you're ever in town, Hotel Storyville is your home away from home. Don't forget to take advantage of the unique culinary experience while you're there . We're talking beignets, po boys, gumbo, and oysters like you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere. Come to Hotel Storyville and "stay a while."

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Situated on historic Esplanade Ave. between the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhood, Hotel Storyville delivers a clean, we'll appointed room in a great location, for an affordable price. Innkeeper Barbara Ann Locklear serves as a wonderful hostess and concierge, offering directions and advice on where to find the best food, music, art and entertainment. My wife and I visited for our 20th wedding anniversary and we could not have been more pleased.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I traveled to New Orleans in late October 2013 for a business meeting. Went a day early to goof off prior to the meeting. I stumbled upon Hotel Storyville as I was trying to find a room for a 1 night stay on a Saturday night. I didn't realize until late in my planning that almost the entire city was booked up for a trio of professional conventions. Good thing I found this place.

First, I can't say enough good things about the owner, Barbara. From my initial inquiry until my checkout, she was pretty much always available to help. When I checked in she answered questions, made suggestions and had discount coupons just for hotel guests. Super nice lady and a great resource for NOLA visitors.

The hotel itself has been nicely restored. Very lovely NOLA architecture. Really nice, landscaped backyard and sitting area, too. I stayed in the studio on the first floor. Great space for a solo traveler. Room was plenty big, plus it has a coffee pot, refrigerator, and toaster oven.

I have never stayed in the Esplanade / Treme neighborhood before. If you want to have a real NOLA experience, this is definitely a place for you to stay. Obviously, Treme is where jazz was pretty much created. You are also within walk/bike distance of Frenchmen Street and the Faubourg Marigny. Both Frenchmen and the Marigny have great restaurants, bars, and music venues. These are places where locals hang out. Much preferable to Bourbon Street and other tourist dominated spots. You can also head over to Armstrong Park and Congo Square.

Word of advice: rent a bike. I rented from Crescent City Bike Tours on Rampart Street. This is a great way to get around, especially in the neighborhoods to check out music and bars.

Anyway, Hotel Storyville is a really nice place for you to lay your head while visiting one of my all-time favorite cities. Give Barbara a call. She will set you up for a great visit!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends recently. The hotel is gorgeous and huge, and it was a perfect stay. Barbara was sooo accommodating to our needs! She went out and got us essentials (beer) and cooked a shrimp boil for us all 1 night. It's close to Bourbon St., and every suite of 2 bedrooms has its own living room, kitchen, and bathroom. The backyard and tiki bar are awesome-- I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I don't like giving up this little secret. It may hinder the chances for me getting back there.BY FAR the best guest house hotel experience you'll have in New Orleans. That's all you get out of me and if it's booked next time I want to visit. I may be knocking on your door to sleep on the floor.LOL. Charles Tucker tuckertransmissions.com Madisonville, Louisiana.

Room Tip: Stay out of mine.I like'em all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Storyville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.