We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Storyville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Storyville
1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 147 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Beaufort, SC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I just got home from a 3 nights stay in this lovely property. The location is perfect for being near but not in the French Quarter. Only a few blocks to all of the action and far enough away to offer a tranquil respite. The owner, Barbara, was a doll. She made us feel so welcome and was so helpful every step of the way. There were 3 of us and the two bedroom apartment had a kitchen, dining area and living area which was perfect for spreading out. The garden out back is so beautiful, relaxing and quiet - the perfect place to hang out between jaunts around NO. I feel comfortable speaking for our crowd when I say that all of us felt safe walking in the neighborhood both day and night. Loved watching the Second Line walk right past the Hotel Storyville - it was a fun amazing sight right from the comfortable front porch. I can wait to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Be careful if two or more need to dry your hair. We blew a fuse while getting ready. Barbara took...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    31
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
60
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Storyville for a long weekend. It was PERFECT! The location could not be any better! It is just outside the French Quarter which was awesome. We were able to stroll in and out of the chaos but still easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go. We felt safe at all hours of the day and night walking in and out of the District.
We had two bedrooms with a kitchen and living room so plenty of room for three gals. It was a bit musty but we expected that from a historic home. We opened the windows and it freshened up nicely. There is a garden in the back that was heaven! Clearly, a lot of work goes into this oasis!
We did blow our pilot light out of the hot water heater so had cold showers the last morning which was a small hiccup. Barbara, the owner, was AMAZING! She came right down and fixed the heater. All weekend, she was on property making sure we were comfortable. What a great host she was to us!
Overall, I would highly recommend Hotel Storyville and can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Storyville for a work trip in March and would highly recommend it. The location is excellent, literally only a few minutes walk to Frenchman Street & the French Quarter and all it's bars and restaurants. Rooms were spotless and Barbara really was the best hostess you could possibly ask for. She went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable as possible and gave us excellent recommendations of where to eat and drink, places you wont find in tourist guidebooks! My favourite thing about Hotel Storyville was the spacious, calm garden. There was nothing better than relaxing by the pond with a drink after a long days sightseeing. If I ever return to New Orleans I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Last week my wife and another couple stayed at Hotel Storyville on two seperate nights and we were exceedingly happy with both visits. As others have stated, the location is awesome. The proximity to both Bourbon Street and Frenchmen Street (which is without question the better venue) make it a no-brainer if you're not looking for a five-star hotel. Even though Barbara was wildly busy during our stay, she couldn't have been more responsive prior to our arrival.
We both liked our clean, spacious eclectically painted rooms. During our stay we used both the front balcony and the back patio area to relax. Nice touch.
There are a couple of small markets in the neighborhood if you need to pick up supplies and we used both of them. Buffa's Bar and Cafe is just a few blocks down the street and it proved to be a fun destination...especially for Sunday brunch with jazz.
We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We asked for upstairs rooms and were quite happy with them, but be prepared to lug your luggage up m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Blocks away from the French Quarter, entertainment, music, bars, restaurants, and the crowd. The services were exceptional and the hotel was very clean. The staff were very friendly and made all accommodations to ensure a great stay. The other guest were very courteous and friendly as well. This hotel is comparable to the comfort of being in your own home and provides a piece of mind. I plan on staying at this hotel for every future visit to N.O.!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The owners of this hotel are simply amazing! Everything from reservations to actually staying there was amazing. I stayed there last year in august with a gang of my buddies and have been meaning to write this review every since. I absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone. It's an authentic New Orleans experience unparalleled by other huge hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I hosted my sister's bachelorette party in New Orleans this year during Mardi Gras. We had an amazing time, primarily because of our stay at this awesome place! This hotel came highly recommended by a friend and the rates were wonderful. The building itself is a classic New Orelans house with the beautiful balconies and gardens that we all know and love. Each room we stayed in had a living area and kitchen also, which was very convenient. We stayed just a short walk/few blocks from Bourbon Street and walked everywhere that weekend. The grounds were beautiful and clean, and Barabara the owner was generous, gracious and completely accomodating. She actually gave us an extra very discounted room because all of us girls took up so much space with our things :-) She was a wealth of information about the area and we got goody bags filled with local coupons for free drinks/meals and other fun stuff. Check-in and out were completely stress free, and we had the best time. I'm planning on going back with my husband as soon as we can get away for a weekend. Excellent place to stay, with great staff!
Laura P

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Storyville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.