We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Storyville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Storyville
1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Provincetown, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Hotel has a perfect location 1 block from the French Quarter and minutes from Frenchman St. The owner, Barbara, couldn't be nicer. The suites are like condo's with a full kitchen and separate bedroom. Clean, nicely appointed and secure parking all minutes from the action, and amazingly quiet at night. The backyard is a lovely retreat rivaling the best courtyards of the Quarter. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    32
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
61
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Storyville during the Voodoo Fest / Halloween festivities. The property had some halloween decor tastefully adorning the entrance and back yard. The property is located a short walk from Frenchman Street about a 10 minute walk into the heart of the French Quarter. Ask for the Beach House, suite #1. It's located on the first floor near the entrance. Ample off street private parking...this was a plus as we did not have to worry about our car or finding parking once we arrived back to the property. The ambience was great and Barbara provided wonderful guest services.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the first floor to avoid the stairs. Be sure to enjoy the back yard. The large gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Storyville and were very impressed with the property! The suite was extremely clean and offered all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay in the Big Easy. The hotel's location, in the heart of the French Quarters, is definitely the place to be to see all that New Orleans has to offer (even an unannounced parade in the middle of the day). Simply stated, it was a wonderful experience. So when planning to visit New Orleans in the future, we'll definitely check to see if the Storyville has availability before searching for any other hotels in the city. We recommend that other prospective visitors to the city do the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We found Hotel Storyville an excellent place to call home for the weekend we were there. It's on the edge of the French Quarter and just a short walk to the French Market and Jackson Square. We particularly enjoyed the "back yard/courtyard" as it was a fantastic place to unwind with an afternoon cocktail, talk about what we had seen during the day and plan our evening out on the town. Barbara was most accomodating and did whatever necessary to assure our visit to NOLA was what we wanted it to be. I'd recommend Hotel Storyville to anyone searching for a very laid back environment which is close to most everything for which one would go to New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The first time I visited NOLA, I stayed in a new hotel. I decided this time I wanted an authentic stay. Hotel Storyville is one of the original houses of Storyville, which I found amazing. We had the downstairs suite which was perfect. The full kitchen had a knife block, blender, measuring cups, dishes, etc. My favorite part was the beautifully landscaped backyard. So nice to sit out around the fish pond in the breeze after a night of partying. My second favorite was the wonderful gift bag I received. I won't ruin the suprise but it was by far the nicest I've ever received anywhere. Barbara, the innkeeper, is happy to give you coupons and tell you the best places to eat. I enjoyed reading the books about NOLA left in the hall for guests too. You can literally just pack your bags and find everything you need here. It doesn't hurt that it also has secure off-street parking, which is rare. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, I recommend the downstairs suite. It has two seperate bedrooms, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Can not wait to return! Our 4 night stay there went by way too fast. Charming space, beautiful garden, relaxing balcony, secure parking, and all within walking distance to Frenchmen st and the quarter. You can tell Barbara works hard to maintain the Inn and all of her hard work pays off! I can not quit singing about this place to all of my friends and family. I miss that balcony already and it's only been a week. We had planned our trip last minute and were expecting the efficentcy suite but lo and behold someone must have cancelled or something because we recieved a room with a queen(?) bed and full kitchen! Also, Barbara went out of her way to hook us up with coupons for food and coffee at places a block away from the hotel. She also gave us a voucher for a free tour through frommer's best of tours. We went with the scandalous cocktail tour and had such a lovely time. We will be returning in 2013 for sure. Thank you Barbara for everything you do!

Room Tip: every room is probably amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had such a wonderful 2 nights at this cute and cozy hotel. The location was prime and just a few minutes walk to the French Quarter. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Barbara was the sweetest!! Always available when you needed her. We had our room upgraded to a massive room which was awesome! She left us little welcome bags with all sorts of goodies in them including some coupons to some local restaurants and bars. I would definitely go back and stay with Barbara again! We had such a great time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Storyville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.