We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical charm in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Historical charm in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great experience from the time we arrived. The valet was very pleasant. The registration process moved very quickly. We did have to call down after 35 min. of waiting on our luggage. The valet stand is on the 1st floor and then you take the elevators to the 3rd floor to register. You do need to have your elevator key with you in order to use the elevator. The hotel is across from McDonalds, and down the street from an I-Hop, so no need to eat in the hotel unless you want to splurge. If you get a chance, check out the public restrooms in the 3rd floor lobby. Beautiful décor. Plenty of chairs in the public spaces to sit, relax and read. Our room had some paint chipping (719), and it was facing Canal Street with quite a bit of emergency traffic through the day.

Room Tip: Choose a club level room, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    431
    164
    91
    40
See reviews for
220
613
55
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just swung by for an overnight last weekend. Standard great service and beautiful rooms. The lounge is hopping on a Saturday night, and Jeremy Davenport and his band are terrific. This is the only place we stay when we want to be close to the French Quarter, as the experience is top notch and location is fantastic. We also used the Spa for massages. The facilities are nothing special there for a high end place but the service is always terrific.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Maison Orleans if you wan't a truly memorable experience, but even the basic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This place is over the top nice. Rooms are super clean. You walk in and the room screams luxury. And it doesn't stop there. Service was above and beyond. Talk about making our stay unforgettable. The hotel customer service found out that my daughter was celebrating a birthday during our stay. Sure enough there was a card and a gift bag waiting for her when we got there -Thank you Priscilla!
The hotel is located right on Canal street, a short walking distance to Bourbon street. Loved it.
The only negative is the parking fees. It's a bit high at $50, not sure if this is the average rate in the area, but as an overall experience, it was super.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 3 nights to move our daughter into college. The hotel itself was lovely, although a little dark, and had an odd layout. We had to use several elevators and walk across the hotel just to get to our room.
Other than that, the food at the restaurant was exquisite with great, live music.
But never before have I experienced such great service. This was the best service at any hotel I've stayed. They accommodated my request for a very quiet room (hotels don't always do that so successfully.) The staff was very courteous and helpful. The concierge staff, in particular Karen Ford, were wonderful. With all of our daughter's college activities we had to change our dinner reservations a few times. Karen rearranged them swiftly and without complaint. She also recommended wonderful restaurants for our family and friends.
We did have a snafu with our daughter's birthday cupcakes which I'd previously ordered. Marco Fanelli (Asst. restaurant manager) took care of the problem expertly and located new cupcakes the morning of our daughters birthday at a beautiful bakery on the way to her college and took care of the charge. I was very grateful for his quick remedy which turned out to be fantastic. I can't say enough about this hotel's staff. They were amazing. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just what you'd expect from The Ritz Carlton. Great historic building, great location, excellent service. Within walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. The bistro in the hotel was great also.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard. The view was exceptional but there were speakers right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Love this historic building. The authentic post Katrina restored architecture speaks volumes. Loved the internal courtyard but wish the pool wasn't in the basement. Great music and fun times. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This review is wayyy overdue. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in July. I love the heavy culture of the French Quarters and the City of New Orleans. It was a 5 star experience from the phone call I made to set the reservation, to John(valet extraordinaire) closing my driver door of my Jag waving bye as we drove off! We stayed here 3 days and never encountered one negative person. Everyone was pleasant. Dwight(bellman extraordinaire) was excellent with his service also. I read other reviews where people complained about having to change elevators to get to the top floors. It didn’t bother us really. It added to the exclusive feel of the Ritz. We had a small maintenance issue with the room and the maintenance guy was just as patient as the front desk concierges! One night I saw the management staff out front fussing at the cab drivers because they were not treating the Ritz guest properly. Talk about the pride and passion! My wife and I are celebrities in our own right and we were treated as such. The room was cozy yet elegant. We are planning to come back to New Orleans next year and there is no doubt where we are staying! WAY TO GO RITZ CARLTON NEW ORLEANS!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#11 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#17 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
#37 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.