We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Service Ever Experienced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Best Service Ever Experienced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 3 nights to move our daughter into college. The hotel itself was lovely, although a little dark, and had an odd layout. We had to use several elevators and walk across the hotel just to get to our room.
Other than that, the food at the restaurant was exquisite with great, live music.
But never before have I experienced such great service. This was the best service at any hotel I've stayed. They accommodated my request for a very quiet room (hotels don't always do that so successfully.) The staff was very courteous and helpful. The concierge staff, in particular Karen Ford, were wonderful. With all of our daughter's college activities we had to change our dinner reservations a few times. Karen rearranged them swiftly and without complaint. She also recommended wonderful restaurants for our family and friends.
We did have a snafu with our daughter's birthday cupcakes which I'd previously ordered. Marco Fanelli (Asst. restaurant manager) took care of the problem expertly and located new cupcakes the morning of our daughters birthday at a beautiful bakery on the way to her college and took care of the charge. I was very grateful for his quick remedy which turned out to be fantastic. I can't say enough about this hotel's staff. They were amazing. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    370
    145
    80
    36
See reviews for
185
512
46
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just what you'd expect from The Ritz Carlton. Great historic building, great location, excellent service. Within walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. The bistro in the hotel was great also.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard. The view was exceptional but there were speakers right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Love this historic building. The authentic post Katrina restored architecture speaks volumes. Loved the internal courtyard but wish the pool wasn't in the basement. Great music and fun times. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This review is wayyy overdue. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in July. I love the heavy culture of the French Quarters and the City of New Orleans. It was a 5 star experience from the phone call I made to set the reservation, to John(valet extraordinaire) closing my driver door of my Jag waving bye as we drove off! We stayed here 3 days and never encountered one negative person. Everyone was pleasant. Dwight(bellman extraordinaire) was excellent with his service also. I read other reviews where people complained about having to change elevators to get to the top floors. It didn’t bother us really. It added to the exclusive feel of the Ritz. We had a small maintenance issue with the room and the maintenance guy was just as patient as the front desk concierges! One night I saw the management staff out front fussing at the cab drivers because they were not treating the Ritz guest properly. Talk about the pride and passion! My wife and I are celebrities in our own right and we were treated as such. The room was cozy yet elegant. We are planning to come back to New Orleans next year and there is no doubt where we are staying! WAY TO GO RITZ CARLTON NEW ORLEANS!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Smelled beautiful, looked beautiful. Great location. Can not say enough good things about it. The room was beautiful. Its a stagger away from the great nite life. Close enough to shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz for 4 nights in Aug 2014 for your wedding anniversary. The staff treated us well, always a smile and a "welcome back" when we would return from our day out. Housekeeping stopped by to make sure everything was good in our room and that we were not missing anything. Spent time in the lounge and service there was also impeccable. Rooms are nicely appointed and spacious. Located in the French Quarter and easy walking distance to many of the other districts or the riverfront. Would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The service at the Ritz Carlton in downtown New Orleans was awesome! The hotel is an oasis in the heart of downtown located near several great restaurants. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.