We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the Ritz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It is the Ritz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you like Ritz Carlton's you will be happy with this one. It seems a little out of character in NOLA, since this is the capital of sleaze. Rooms are a decent size and the interior ones look out over a lovely courtyard. Courtyard was one of the best parts, had breakfast there as well as late evening coffee. The concierges are very good. Biggest negative is that there are big groups. Second negative is that you have to go on two elevator banks to get out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    360
    139
    80
    36
See reviews for
178
486
44
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When you think of the Ritz, you expect perfection. This was definitely up to that standard. We were here for a bachelorette weekend - not only were the rooms amazing (I stayed in a suite with some friends but also saw the regular rooms) but the service impeccable!

Our suite had 2 queen beds, a giant closet, large living room with a small dining room, and an ENORMOUS bathroom with 2 sinks and 2 showers (one shower, one shower / bath combination). Turndown was great, the space was great, and the service was like no other. The beds are beyond comfortable, free coffee and water in the room, even the toiletries were luxurious. It's also great because it is less than 2 blocks from Bourbon street but being that it was on Canal, it felt very safe and far away from the craziness of Bourbon. One thing that was strange to me is that the lobby is on the 3rd floor. Although it was strange, it is also nice because we felt very safe. You couldn't get to the elevator that took you to the rooms unless you had a room key, which having traveled with 16 other girls, was a nice safety feature.

I would not hesitate to say here again. Although it's pricey, it's well worth it for this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here twice and the first time I had the club level access which was great!!! Food and drinks all day. Staff was super friendly! When I stayed without club level I didn't have as much fun so I highly recommend getting the club level.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

From the valet to the check-in service to the outstanding room and the professional and lovely staff ... The Ritz-Carlton will now be the only hotel I will stay at when I am in New Orleans. Just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I were there for a family wedding on June 14, 2014 and the entire staff working the wedding were extremely nice and attentive. After the wedding, some of our family went to the Davenport Lounge to continue the evening and we decided that we needed a room. Emily, the manager in the Davenport Lounge, was extremely helpful in making our room reservation (even though she could have just pointed us towards the front desk she truly went above and beyond so that we could enjoy ourselves in the Lounge) - as was Ben, at the front desk. Our room was lovely and Ben even followed up with us by calling to make sure the room to make sure that our room was satisfactory!!! Kristi was my very large family's server in the lounge, quite a task, and she delivered flawless service! We never had to look for her to order or had dirty glasses on the table and she even gave everyone separate checks!!! The next morning I realized I had lost something and when I approached Rudy, the concierge, who was able to quickly recover my lost items!! We are locals and we were very impressed with the level of warm service that every single employee we came into contact with at the Ritz was wonderful and willing to make our experience there memorable. We will certainly be back and will certainly stay at Ritz hotels whenever we travel!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here during the week for a conference. The hotel use to be a department store and was converted about 9 years ago to the Ritz Carlton. This is a historic building and has LOTS of charm. The hotel staff was fantastic, very accommodating and proactive.
I loved the courtyard in the lobby - such wonderful space and a great atmosphere.
My room was very spacious and nicely appointed. Turndown service from housekeeping was a bit inconsistent. Some nights the tv was turned on in my room and others times it wasn't. This wasn't a big deal at all but just not expected from a Ritz. I loved the morning housekeeper, she greeted me by name every morning and wished me a great day.
The location of the Ritz can't be beat. It is 1 block from Bourbon Street and all the French Quarter has to offer.
I would definitely stay here the next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Luxury in the french quarter, a wonderful base for your trip to NOLA. Excellent service from staff. The public rooms and the garden bar are beautiful spaces. Walking distance form the best restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.