We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The club level at this Ritz had the best service and food (at least on this trip) of all the ones we have been to. It is far from cheap but the location is excellent, we walked wherever we needed to go.Other than a couple of maintenance issues in room (closet handle and bathroom door hanger) I can't find anything to fault.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    397
    151
    85
    38
See reviews for
200
558
53
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a blast in New Orleans - and where better to stay than the Ritz right near Bourbon Street. Great location - Mardi Gras parades went right by the hotel. Perfect service - everyone at the hotel was so helpful. Peaceful stay steps from all the craziness!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Locaion! Location! Location! The property is right behind bourbon street. Yes, 1 block away - that's how close you are when you are here. I stayed here in 2012. Spent a splendind 4 days and had an amazing experience.
Room service is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It's a very nice hotel, the rooms are a great size. I was shocked that the property is showing some wear. I've stayed at several hotels in New Orleans, for the price I would pick a different hotel. I also overheard other guest in the elevator stating the same thing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Nrntvn,

Thank you for expressing your enjoyment with our room size, but I would like to apologize that you felt our hotel was a bit worn and not worth the price. I do take pride in The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans and I am sad to learn that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Please know that I walk our property on a regular basis to ensure our guests are able to enjoy the finest facilities, unfortunately this time, we fell short.

I greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us move our operation forward. Again please accept my sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans.


Best Regards,
Jim Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was my first time staying at a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, and it was not at all what I expected... I thought it would be a lot more luxurious than what it actually is... I have to say that I've stayed in hotels with less of a name and way nicer. Overall the hotel is ok, its deco concept is very old europe, so if you are into floral prints and a ton of craft motifs this is your hotel. I stayed there with my boyfriend, we were on a business/pleasure 2 day trip and we had 2 little incidents.
First, on our second day, the internet didnt work, I call the front desk 2 or 3 times and they couldnt fix it... Also, I found it very tacky that they charge you extra for the internet and you are only allowed to use it on 2 devices... My bf and I have 2 phones and a laptop each, and we need to be online in order to work, so long story short, we couldnt work at all from our room. Later that day, we came back to the hotel around 3 in the afternoon, to find out our room wasnt done!! It was still a mess! We were tired, we still didnt have internet and we couldnt either rest or work. Fortunately, the front desk manager was very helpful and kind and got us an upgrade to a room on the Club Level, wich was formidable! We still couldnt use the internet and we barely got any rest, but the amenities that they offer in the club level are great! If you get a chance to stay at the club level, do it, is worth it. I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Club Level is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Surprisingly poorly maintained. Several problems with the room - door lock didn't work properly, phone not working and chipped sink. None a big deal but not what you'd expect at the Ritz. Also the reception is oddly set up being on the third floor. Rooms don't have much of a view - basically you see another building. Overall a bit disappointing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear JamesMorton,


I would like to apologize in failing to meet your expectations. Our credo states “we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for our guest,” but I am sad to learn from your feedback that we fell short. Please know I take full responsibility for any key/lock issues you might have had as well as the fact that your room was not up to The Ritz-Carlton standard you expect.

We are constantly striving to identify our defects in order to avoid reoccurrence and all feedback helps us move our operation forward. I can assure you, I will personally see to it that these opportunities are resolved to the best of my ability.

Again please accept my sincere apology for your inconvenience. Thank you for joining us and I hope you give us another chance to re-instill your faith in The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans.


Best Regards,
Jim Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The room wasn't all that jazz but the hotel itself (the lobby, main entry, courtyard) had a beautiful authentic french feel for it. We had a slight room complication but we weren't in the mood to fuss and the staff was really accommodating. Its location is awesome as you can walk to Bourbon Street and into the French Quarter. Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.