We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Special kudos to front desk receptionist Van. She was delightful and was a true asset.

Big complaint was concierge Karen,found her not very helpful and had a extremely poor attitude,was not up to the job. Hotel is very nice and would recommend it,but,need to upgrade concierge

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    423
    159
    89
    40
See reviews for
213
595
54
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location close to French quarter. The jazz lounge was a great place to relax and listen to some live music. The courtyard was the place for lovely breakfast. The gym had great new cardio machines, but the rest of it was just outdated. They did not have locker rooms, so they wanted us to change the clothes in dirty restroom. Hot tub and pool were simply horrible. Moreover, they wanted to charge extra for the use of sauna. Amenities in the rooms seemed to be quite limited, but we we were quite happy with them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I thought this hotel was wonderful. The staff are all very friendly and helpful with whatever you need. It's in a great location. You can walk pretty much everywhere and there is a trolley stop for the few places that you cant walk. Service was excellent. We were always well stocked with water in our room. The bed was super comfy. I only had a drink and app in the restaurant downstairs but even that was very nice. Live jazz in the bar at night was great. I also appreciated that you needed to swipe your room card to get into the hotel and up the elevator. Gives you a feeling of security. Overall I loved our stay here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is very nice and a great location. Breakfast buffet is fairly good. We asked for a quiet room when we checked in and was told it would be quiet, which did not happen. Our room looked over the courtyard, but above the restaurant. There was a band that played below us all night until early am. It was so loud that I thought the band was actually in our room. Had no sleep and asked to move the next day. No problem in moving us, but was a much smaller room. Still, over all, the hotel is very nice and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the restaurant. There is a band that plays all night until early a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were there for a business conference and were given a club level upgrade. I have never felt so pampered at a hotel. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member we often get club level upgrades and get treated well but the treatment at the Ritz was head and shoulders above any I have ever had anywhere in the world. Leave your phone charger in the car, just say the word and it magically appears in your room. You get to the door of the hotel and it is raining and suddenly an umbrella is handed to you. Checkout is at 2 but your husband has a meeting until 6? Hang out in the Club and enjoy continuous food and drinks while curled up on a comfy sofa with a book from our library and a glass of champagne. . Hungry at 3 AM? Either call room service Otto to the club where you can have cookies. Need a massage or your nails done, the Spa is considered among the world's best. After a long day of shopping the oversize tub can be filled with bubble bath or bath salts from the spa gift shop, the lights dimmed, the candles lit and you can soak away any soreness and just relax. Afterwards there is a plush robe and soft slippers waiting. The staff knows you by name, caters to your every wish and makes you feel like they are glad to help you. I could go on for quite some time about how wonderful our experience was but words can't do it justice. You need to experience this at least once in your life.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You have to take two elevators to get to the rooms. Which is extremely irritating. Both restaurants had great food. The staff was friendly and helpful. I do feel the hotel is a little overpriced. I'm not sure if it was inflated due to the event going on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The rooms are comfy,quiet and very clean. The doormen are so friendly and helpful. It is located on busy Canal St., but so close to all the attractions. There are sketchy people in the area due to the volume of tourists, but the hotel is super safe. We enjoyed the clean workout area! My only recommendation would be to have a coffee pot in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.