We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
pascagoula,ms
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night after getting a good rate. I had pretty high expectations because of the Name well it's very pretty but the many scented candles almost triggered an asthma attack on check in. When we got to our room it was small but well appointed and very luxe. They had the standard Mini Bar and designer water for $6.00. I was surprised to find lots of loose hair on the floor in the bathroom and the water glasses were dirty but the little cover was on them?? So overall this is a nice hotel to say you stayed in a Ritz but for me I probably will never stay here again just wasn't my type of place. Oh and parking is 42.00$ / night

Room Tip: If you can swing it go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    687
    316
    131
    77
    34
See reviews for
165
437
41
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my fourth trip to New Orleans and the Ritz Carlton definitely is situated the best of any hotel I've stayed at. It is very close to Bourbon Street, but just far enough away from the madness so you don't hear a peep at night. Anyone who has been to New Orleans knows that Bourbon Street goes from being the most fun place ever during the day, to one of the shadiest places at night. This is why being close, but just a bit tucked away is ideal. Also though, the Ritz Carlton is located really close to the Trolley, so you can conveniently get to the other beautiful parts of New Orleans, which there are so many to explore.

The hotel itself was what you would expect from an RC property. Beautiful rooms and lobby, friendly staff, classy hotel bar and a little bit of stuffiness from patrons. Overall, a great stay and would absolutely return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel close to Bourbon street. The garage of the hotel was the old S.H. Kress five and dime store. The architecture is typical of the time period in which it was built. New Orleans is a exciting city with a rich and historic background and this hotel is beautiful example of it's historical background. My room was beautiful and the staff in this hotel are very attentive to one's needs. The hotel is a little pricey but worth it since it is so close to Bourbon street.

Room Tip: Ask for one that views either the courtyard or canal street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

One expects the best from the Ritz-Carlton, and that's what one gets. This hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport, has both covered inside and an outside entrances, and is convenient to the French Quarter and the New Orlens Convention Center.

The "pens" comment in the title? For me, a tie-breaker for equally starred hotel/resorts has become the quality of the pen in the room because this one item seems to reflect the quality of the facility and the staff.. Every Ritz-Carlton where I have been a guest has had excellent quality in-room pens...

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent three nights here in April 2013. We have stayed before in the regular hotel and the service from valet to check in has been superb. We splurged on the club level because it was our anniversary and there were no rooms available on the hotel side. We got a Ritz Carlton candle and two drink passes for the Davenport lounge for our anniversary. We were escorted to our room and shown the club lounge and told there were five food service times per day. The breakfasts were outstanding, I looked forward to them each morning. The concierges were appropriately attentive. However, the rest of the food service seemed to consist of a light snack service of salad and light appetizers available at noon and dinner time. Between 3-5 in the afternoon, when a competitor hotel in town would have an afternoon full tea service in the club level, there was only bottled drinks and fruit. That was disappointing.

The rooms on the club level had extremely comfortable beds and nicely appointed bathrooms. The doors were thin, though. I heard a entire exchange from the hall outside my neighbor's room from the bed!

The fitness center was very nice, the hot tub was peaceful and clean and our overall stay was lovely. Would stay here again, but I think their competitors in town offer a better New Orleans experience for a better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just spent four nights here and honestly the thing that I feel needs to feature most in this review is how excellent the staff were in the club level - pleasant, professional, incredibly helpful, giving good thoughtful suggestions and advice. We found that having access to them and to the amenities was a great advantage.
The beds were comfortable - the furnishings in our room a little tired and slightly grubby if I'm nitpicking - the bathroom excellent (much better than at a recent Four Seasons Beverly Hills visit!).
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants so I can't judge, but you're right in the middle of so many other choices. The situation is brilliant.
Even their selection of movies on demand was pretty impressive!

Room Tip: Club Level rooms are a must - it's almost a separate 75 room hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The good things: good location; pleasant staff; nice rooms that were clean;
Check in was difficult: the reservations were confused by the hotel(we reserved 4 rooms for a total of 8 people); it took about half an hour to straighten it out and get all 4 rooms that had been reserved 2 months earlier. The newspapers were not delivered to the rooms; the air fresher piped through the ventilation system was heavy and way too pungent and unpleasant as were the candles that were lit on the lobby level. The really egregious issue was the alarm going off in the middle of the night ordering guests to evacuate immediately; we were on the 14th floor and the announcement was repeatedly made so we walked down a stairwell that was poorly marked and at a lower level appeared to end with no exit to utilize. Behind the "blank" wall was another set of stairs which should have had signage directing guests to it; we went down three more flights and finally exited the building onto a side street. There was no sign of fire trucks, police etc. we went to the front of the building and saw a handful of other guests from our floor. It took 20 to 30 minutes to get anyone from the staff to come downstairs and inform us that all was now fine. The staff were not trained for such an event and had it been real and not a false alarm , guests would have been at risk. We reported it to the manager who was very responsive and later that morning she told us they were redoing their plan and training for such events. They were nice about comping our rooms for that night( only one floor was affected by the false alarm). It was disturbing that a hotel with the reputation of the Ritz had such a poorly planned and poorly trained staff to deal with a potential emergency.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.