We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice and quite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

So great stay here at the ritz Carlton , New Orleans is a crazy place for a great time , staff were very nice and very friendly after coming off of bourbon street it was great to come back to somewhere quite to sleep and rest up , would stay again for sure :-))

Room Tip: All the rooms we looked at we're nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    336
    133
    76
    36
See reviews for
173
456
42
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's pretty pricey, but if you can swing the cost, the luxury and service provided by the Ritz Carlton is hard to beat. We stayed for a long weekend at this property on Canal Street in New Orleans and everything about it was wonderful. It is in a historic building, the old Maison Blanche department store, but other than the outside being obviously a handsome older facade, you'd never know it wasn't built to be a hotel. Lovely, generous room layout and great beds, but what sets it apart is the service. In addition to the prompt and thorough clean-up every morning, you have to nightly turn down, in which not only is the bed readied for you and soothing music turned on, but also the bathroom is tidied up and fresh towels provided. And someone to assist with every entrance and exit, every bag, every need. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of many hotels in renovated department stores on Canal St. Service is excellent. Reception is on the third floor, which actually is a good security feature- drunks can't stumble directly into the lobby from the street. Fitness center is very good, and the lobby and courtyard have nice areas to sit. Didn't eat here, or use the lounge- this is New Orleans! Recommend this hotel if you want top notch service and a very nice room. We got a good deal, and I wouldn't do it otherwise.

Room Tip: Something on the courtyard is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed in several Ritz Carlton's and this one was ok. May be simply because its NOLA party capital. There were three weddings while we were here which adds to the mediocracy. The service was great however, concierge knowledgeable and spa staff wonderful. I would stay here again but perhaps not during wedding season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a GREAT hotel. It is not the most charming neighborhood (Canal Street), but only a minute or two from Bourbon, Royal, and Chartres, and all the restaurants that they offer. The streetcar stops out front, the Harrah's is just a 5 minute walk down the street, and there is plentiful shopping right outside. The rooms are wonderful, the service absolutely outstanding, the restaurant and lounge are first rate (very busy on weekends with the wealthy 20-30 crowd), immaculate bath, beautiful courtyard, lobbies....very very nice.

Room Tip: Upper floor rear rooms have a great view of the french quarter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel common areas were very elegant, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location is great for a tourist. However there were too many other (admittedly small) issues during our stay that prohibit me for giving this hotel a better ranking (considering the name and price). Some examples: we caked maintenance up twice during our stay for bothersome issues, the hot water would randomly decide not to work (I took two cold showers while there), the rooms were jut OK in terms of decor and comfort, some if the facilities in the spa downstairs weren't working right when I was there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When we checked in we waited in line at the desk even though one of the receptionists was not attending to another guest. She was typing diligently so maybe she was finishing another entry …but we waited quite a bit longer than I thought we should have while the other receptionist finished with a guest.

Once in the room I noted the Duvet had not been replaced with a blanket as I’d requested when I booked and that there was mud on the floor as if from treads in someone’s shoes. I called and asked that those two things be attended to while we went for an 80 minute massage (the massage was one of the best either of us had ever had). When we returned to the room the condition hadn’t changed. On my way out that evening I returned to reception ...and stood in line behind one guest as there was only one receptionist. She told me she would tend to the issue and when we returned the Duvet had in fact been replaced but the mud remained the 3 days we were there.

We were on the 4th floor. There are flags outside the window with metal staffs and metal rods that run along the bottom of the flags to hold them out straight. The metal rod is attached to the staff with a metal collar. In even a gentle wind the metal on metal sounds a lot like a chicken outside your window …24 hours a day. When the wind blows a bit more it sounds like someone dragging metal trash cans down the street- it’s loud, avoid these rooms.

Room service was polite and timely. The lounge is very nice and Ritz quality. The Bell and Door staffs were very cordial.

I will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;