We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this location for the first time and it was our first time in New Orleans. The hotel is right on Canal St. two blocks away from Bourbon St. The room was always cleaned, with plenty of fresh towels. Our view was not great (wall of another building) but that didn't matter since we spent most of the time outside anyway. The bed was so comfortable and the room service was great. We ordered in movies and checked out via TV which was super easy. The lobby was beautifully decorated with Christmas lights above and Christmas trees everywhere. We found that when we used valet parking it took way too long for them to retrieve our vehicle. We waited for at least 25 minutes and my husband had to go and check with the guys again if they were still getting our car. For $44 per day to park there, I feel the service should have been a little faster. Other than that, the hotel was comfortable, clean and centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    687
    316
    131
    77
    34
See reviews for
165
437
41
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Staffs at the lobby and conceige are very nice and helpful. We got the breakfast package but I will recommend you get your breakfast somewhere else. The first night on Dec 21st, there is a very drunk couple throwing a party next door from 8:30 on and then they went out - came back with more noises. I think other than his being crazy, the thin wall played a big part. I waited till next day to ask for possiblity to switch to another room to get some sleep and after I came back, a few minutes later, the power went out. I called downstairs and the girl who answered the phone got really annoyed for some reason and said " we are working on it and hung up on me. I had breakfast and told conciege the power was out. They were polite and nice and said they would see to the matter but refused to tell us the status of this power outage. I thought I'd give Ritz some credit and left for touring around town. At 11:30 pm, we went back, the power was still out! and they told me I can check out if I want or I will be send to another property which would be far from the quarter - I chose Ritz for the location so I don't have to rent a car, which made the second choice not optional. So I opted to pack my luggage and moved to a hotel . They did help me with the booking and offered the previous night for free.

So overall, the service and the staff were all good. I just wish they can tell me the power outage in more details in the morning when I made inquiries twice, instead of going back to a dark room with no power with one letter stating that I can either check out or be transfered. Luckily, the rest of the trip went more smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amazing property with absolutely stunning staff and mind blowing food. Words do not do my stay justice. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful!

Close to lots of the character that I wanted to see in New Orleans while not feeling like I was in the thick of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My second stay at this great hotel and it came through again with outstanding service from their excellent staff. Valet, bell staff and front desk were all attentive and friendly. Valet Parking stings at $40/night, but $35-$40 seems to be the going rate in area. I was very pleased with my room location: high floor; corner room, best view of the river. My room was clean, but a bit worn and dated. No coffee pot in the room, yet all else seemed in order and available. I've slept on better beds at Hilton and Hyatt. I like the linens.

Location on Canal is convenient for our needs and quiet when you want quiet. Great statue of Ignatius J Reilly a couple of blocks down Canal. Ongoing renovations on the bottom floor, I think they are remodeling some shops...not sure. I like the layout even though you have to change elevators on the 3rd floor. Christmas decorations were beautiful and detailed. The bar with Jeremy Davenport is outstanding. I did not eat at the hotel. Friendly service from the guy at the coffee bar...I'm terrible with names, but he did me a solid one morning. Continuing with the excellent service...the business center was unattended early and the printers were not working for me, so the front desk helped me print, sign and email back a document early on check out morning. Finally, the door man on the way out was a cool dude. I really like this hotel and their people.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived on Dec 22, 2012 No electricity .. checked in with a flash light and glow stick..Hotel with no electricity..Have to move later in the evening to another property. Had to pay for taxi to move to another hotel and to come back the next day with emergency power. Checked in on club floor was told only area in the hotel with power .. Room was dirty and dark.

Room Tip: Only club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked this hotel the afternoon of our stay after being very disappointed in our first hotel. They were able to get us a room at the last minute for the five nights of our amazing stay in New Orleans.
The hotel was comfortable and very very nice. It combined luxury with a certain friendly and easy going hospitality that you don't always see.
The staff were friendly, polite. We never had any complicated requirements, so we didn't have the opportunity to see if they would go the extra mile for us, but the doorman was a great help when we had questions about where to go, what to see.

The beds were extremely comfortable and the room itself was always cleaned when we wanted it to be.
The location was absolutely perfect. We have absolutely no completes and would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location....about two blocks from the top of Burbon Street.....and about 6+ blocks from Harrahs. The place was very nicely kept. Decorated nicely for the holidays. Well lighted or well lit if you prefer so you won't feel "at risk" if you are coming or going late at night. Quite, and staff was very nice. Taxi's are abundant as well. If I had to try to find things that were wrong....I'd say my daughters room didn't have a coffee pot (but we didn't ask for one), and there was only one robe in our room (again, we didn't ask for a second one, so no big deal). Really, there wasn't anything wrong. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.