We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night jazz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Night jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Came here in late evening to get a break from burbon street, good solid jazz band, friendly staff, reasonable drink prices and almost not a bad seat in the house, nice n intimate. We weren't staying here but didn't have any problem getting in

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    348
    138
    77
    36
See reviews for
177
474
44
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on business. I enjoyed the excellent service by all parties from checkin to turn down service and room service delivery. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and I enjoyed a view of the large Christmas tree in the courtyard. The location is perfect for those wanting to see the French Quarter! Thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Anyone who is not giving this hotel five stars is crazy! There is no better place to stay in New Orleans. I have stayed at the Monteleone and the Omni and, while both are delightful and charming, neither compares to The Ritz.

My boyfriend and I stayed here with his parents over Easter 2012. I would highly recommend staying here during this time. The hotel goes all out for Easter, complete with a petting zoo of bunnies and chicks on Sunday morning.

I ran the Crescent City 10K that weekend as well and the hotel had complimentary water bottles chilled and waiting for runners who were returning. They also had safety pins ready for our bib numbers, as the 10K organizers forgot to put safety pins in our running packets!

The rooms were exquisite. Clean and modern, while still maintaining a sense of New Orleans history. The rooms were also QUIET, which was a treat during a holiday weekend.

Jeremy Davenport is amazing to listen to, whether you are staying at The Ritz or not. Be sure to come by the bar at The Ritz and listen! He's sensational!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,248 reviews 1,248 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A company hotel that has great service, nice cozy rooms and great bar area.. The location is great and the rates are good..The bedrooms are not that big but they are comfortable. The hotel is located right on Canal and close to the nightlife within a block.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned from a family reunion at the Ritz in New Orleans. What a beautiful place with a gracious and attending staff. Our kids, twin 10 year olds, were welcomed like family into a southern manor. The rooms are large and we had double beds with a roll away (try to get the double queen rooms). Our room faced Canal Street so we had two floor to ceiling windows that filled our room with light making it feel like we were staying in a historic home. The textiles, linens and towels are all just yummy. The fitness center is fantastic with both cardio and weights like a top-notch club. The indoor courtyard, large bar area, and private fireplace room provide many places for family and friends to gather over a glass of wine or a cup of tea. The Ritz does a fine job at providing a sanctuary to families, couples and the business traveler in a city that seems to never sleep. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here with my dog and spouse just after Hurricane Isaac. The staff, some of home must had travelled through soggy mess to get to work, were uniformly cheerful and helpful. We were given a top floor room with a view of the river. The room was small, but the perfect size. The dog loved it. At dinnertime, the three of us ate out in the main courtyard, the dog had a burger under the table. After five days, they switched the power back and we reluctantly returned to our simple house. Would cheerfully inhabit one of these rooms.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a Canal Street room ir you wanr ir quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaplan, Louisiana, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It screamed New Oleans from the time you drive up. Staff is very friendly and helpful, doing everything they can to make you feel special. Room was huge. Living room felt like home. Bedroom was very pleasant and comfortable. Had 2 bathrooms and main had a stand alone shower along with tub/shower seperate. The entire stay was a wonderful experience. I have stayed plenty of times in New Orleans and this one was the nicest by far. Also had a bar, restaurant, and courtyard that had plenty of space for you to unwind. Great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.