We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Grace and Comfort even with kids:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Southern Grace and Comfort even with kids:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned from a family reunion at the Ritz in New Orleans. What a beautiful place with a gracious and attending staff. Our kids, twin 10 year olds, were welcomed like family into a southern manor. The rooms are large and we had double beds with a roll away (try to get the double queen rooms). Our room faced Canal Street so we had two floor to ceiling windows that filled our room with light making it feel like we were staying in a historic home. The textiles, linens and towels are all just yummy. The fitness center is fantastic with both cardio and weights like a top-notch club. The indoor courtyard, large bar area, and private fireplace room provide many places for family and friends to gather over a glass of wine or a cup of tea. The Ritz does a fine job at providing a sanctuary to families, couples and the business traveler in a city that seems to never sleep. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    649
    299
    127
    75
    33
See reviews for
153
416
38
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here with my dog and spouse just after Hurricane Isaac. The staff, some of home must had travelled through soggy mess to get to work, were uniformly cheerful and helpful. We were given a top floor room with a view of the river. The room was small, but the perfect size. The dog loved it. At dinnertime, the three of us ate out in the main courtyard, the dog had a burger under the table. After five days, they switched the power back and we reluctantly returned to our simple house. Would cheerfully inhabit one of these rooms.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a Canal Street room ir you wanr ir quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaplan, Louisiana, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It screamed New Oleans from the time you drive up. Staff is very friendly and helpful, doing everything they can to make you feel special. Room was huge. Living room felt like home. Bedroom was very pleasant and comfortable. Had 2 bathrooms and main had a stand alone shower along with tub/shower seperate. The entire stay was a wonderful experience. I have stayed plenty of times in New Orleans and this one was the nicest by far. Also had a bar, restaurant, and courtyard that had plenty of space for you to unwind. Great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senatobia, MS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at The Ritz in New Orleans on November 16 and 17, 2012. 5 pledge brothers met to attend the Ole Miss vs LSU football game in Baton Rouge. We pledged together at Ole Miss over 30 years ago and this trip is the one time we all get together at the same time. The staff at the Ritz was very nice from the maid service, the bellmen, the front desk staff to the valet parking attendants. The price was reasonable and we had a great view looking down on Canal Street. The only downside is the wireless service is spotty and they charge about $13 or $14 per day. All in all, the trip was wonderful and the hotel staff helped make it a very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Polk, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel just about every time we've been to N.O. The only exceptions have been when they are fully booked or when I have free stays at the Harrah's N.O. Even still, Ritz Carlton New Orleans is my favorite hotel in New Orleans. Here's the good and not so good(which are very few): The location is excellent, especially if you frequent the Bourbon St area. It is literally a 2 minute walk. The rooms are amazingly large for an upscale hotel. (I find that the hotels in the south usually are) The standard rooms are sufficient, at about 400-450 sq ft. The times when we have splurged for a suite, I was amazed at how big it was. The suite was almost 800 sq ft!!! I thought it was the Presidents suite. It had a powder room, a full living room, and an extra bathroom. The hotel not only exceeds the Ritz Carlton standard on appearance, you actually feel you are in New Orleans without even leaving the hotel. They have tea time which may be enjoyed in the courtyard area. The food is also quite representative on the N.O. cuisine. The only reason I did not give the hotel 5 star rating is because the service could be improved upon a bit. Most of the staff are very courteous, but a couple seemed to have a little attitude as if you were disturbing them. It wasn't bad enough to complain to management and I just chalked it up to perhaps they were having a bad day. However, but I feel that when one is paying that amount of money, all employees should be trained to be mindful of the way they come off to customers. All in all, I will definitely stay again and I recommend the hotel. Also, the bell and valet staff are excellent and are so helpful. They even have a car service to take you to any location in the area if you arrived without a car.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans from November 5th through November 7th for a business conference. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel itself is about 4 blocks from Bourbon Street and a 15-20 minute walk to the French Quarter, a bit out of the way as compared to some other hotels in the City. The conference room facilities were located on the 2nd floor without windows, but the rooms were fine and the food very good for a conference. The biggest downside of my stay was the wireless internet connection in the room. It was unreliable in staying connected, dropping my connection many different times. The signal was also very weak in the room. This is very disappointing for a business traveler who needs access to work networks and email. For 2012, wireless internet should not be an issue.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We celebrated our 14th anniversary at The Ritz Carlton in New Orleans. The hotels location is fantastic. We took advantage of the Club Level which is actually a remodel attached hotel to the Ritz. It is very exclusive and the hospitality goes beyond belief. They serve a great breakfast, lunch snacks, dinner Hors D'Oeuvres, and liqueur. 2 blocks from Bourbon gives you the right distance not to be disturbed and sits on Canal street in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans
Ritz-Carlton New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz
New Orleans Ritz-Carlton
Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.