We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebels at The Ritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senatobia, MS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rebels at The Ritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at The Ritz in New Orleans on November 16 and 17, 2012. 5 pledge brothers met to attend the Ole Miss vs LSU football game in Baton Rouge. We pledged together at Ole Miss over 30 years ago and this trip is the one time we all get together at the same time. The staff at the Ritz was very nice from the maid service, the bellmen, the front desk staff to the valet parking attendants. The price was reasonable and we had a great view looking down on Canal Street. The only downside is the wireless service is spotty and they charge about $13 or $14 per day. All in all, the trip was wonderful and the hotel staff helped make it a very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    336
    133
    76
    36
See reviews for
173
456
42
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Polk, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel just about every time we've been to N.O. The only exceptions have been when they are fully booked or when I have free stays at the Harrah's N.O. Even still, Ritz Carlton New Orleans is my favorite hotel in New Orleans. Here's the good and not so good(which are very few): The location is excellent, especially if you frequent the Bourbon St area. It is literally a 2 minute walk. The rooms are amazingly large for an upscale hotel. (I find that the hotels in the south usually are) The standard rooms are sufficient, at about 400-450 sq ft. The times when we have splurged for a suite, I was amazed at how big it was. The suite was almost 800 sq ft!!! I thought it was the Presidents suite. It had a powder room, a full living room, and an extra bathroom. The hotel not only exceeds the Ritz Carlton standard on appearance, you actually feel you are in New Orleans without even leaving the hotel. They have tea time which may be enjoyed in the courtyard area. The food is also quite representative on the N.O. cuisine. The only reason I did not give the hotel 5 star rating is because the service could be improved upon a bit. Most of the staff are very courteous, but a couple seemed to have a little attitude as if you were disturbing them. It wasn't bad enough to complain to management and I just chalked it up to perhaps they were having a bad day. However, but I feel that when one is paying that amount of money, all employees should be trained to be mindful of the way they come off to customers. All in all, I will definitely stay again and I recommend the hotel. Also, the bell and valet staff are excellent and are so helpful. They even have a car service to take you to any location in the area if you arrived without a car.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans from November 5th through November 7th for a business conference. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel itself is about 4 blocks from Bourbon Street and a 15-20 minute walk to the French Quarter, a bit out of the way as compared to some other hotels in the City. The conference room facilities were located on the 2nd floor without windows, but the rooms were fine and the food very good for a conference. The biggest downside of my stay was the wireless internet connection in the room. It was unreliable in staying connected, dropping my connection many different times. The signal was also very weak in the room. This is very disappointing for a business traveler who needs access to work networks and email. For 2012, wireless internet should not be an issue.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We celebrated our 14th anniversary at The Ritz Carlton in New Orleans. The hotels location is fantastic. We took advantage of the Club Level which is actually a remodel attached hotel to the Ritz. It is very exclusive and the hospitality goes beyond belief. They serve a great breakfast, lunch snacks, dinner Hors D'Oeuvres, and liqueur. 2 blocks from Bourbon gives you the right distance not to be disturbed and sits on Canal street in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I traveled with several other couples during the weekend of Nov 9 -12. I think my review will be on par with most travelers to this hotel. The customer service is excellent. They were constantly checking to see if there was anything they could do to make your stay better. We stayed on club level we had a wonderful hot breakfast every morning that we had until 11 to enjoy. I've stayed at other hotels with club level service and they required that you keep all food & drinks in the club room area but not here - so if you wanted to grab some breakfast or light lunch and take it back to your room it was no problem. This hotel is located 1 1/2 blocks from Bourbon Street - so you have access to the party area without having to be exposed at all times. I will have to agree with others that the elevator situations can be very confusing- it took 3 sets of elevators to get to our room - but after a while you just get use to it. The final issue that I had with the room is the walls are paper thin. One couple traveling with us could hear the entire conversation of their neighbors on one side and a baby crying on the other. We even had security come to our room one night when all of our traveling crew met in our room.

Room Tip: Splurge for the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The dirty little secret about expensive hotels: they nickle and dime you. If you want to stay in an expensive hotel room because you think you'll get pampered, this isn't the place. Yes, the room is nice, the bed is comfortable, customer service while you're there is good, but don't think you'll receive some of the basic amenities you take for granted at your average hotel such as having breakfast included, free wifi or a coffee maker in the room. Do yourself a favor stay at the Hampton Inn two blocks away for a hundred bucks. You'll receive the same customer service and quality hotel for a fraction of the price.

Good luck to you if you stay and leave something in the room. They won't even call me back after two attempts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff is outstanding and very helpful. The proeprty is on Canal Street and has a back door entrance to the French Quarter. Apparently i need to add additonal characters to the review so it will publish. I am short of nice things to say so i hope this is enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.