We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty little secret” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dirty little secret”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The dirty little secret about expensive hotels: they nickle and dime you. If you want to stay in an expensive hotel room because you think you'll get pampered, this isn't the place. Yes, the room is nice, the bed is comfortable, customer service while you're there is good, but don't think you'll receive some of the basic amenities you take for granted at your average hotel such as having breakfast included, free wifi or a coffee maker in the room. Do yourself a favor stay at the Hampton Inn two blocks away for a hundred bucks. You'll receive the same customer service and quality hotel for a fraction of the price.

Good luck to you if you stay and leave something in the room. They won't even call me back after two attempts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    361
    139
    80
    36
See reviews for
178
487
44
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff is outstanding and very helpful. The proeprty is on Canal Street and has a back door entrance to the French Quarter. Apparently i need to add additonal characters to the review so it will publish. I am short of nice things to say so i hope this is enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for our first night on a 3 night vacation in NOLA. I was so looking forward to our first night at the Ritz. It's been a good two years since our last stay at a Ritz property and I was curious as to how they compare to the Four Seasons Hotels we love.

Would also like to disclose that we booked through AMEX Platinum Fine Hotels. This should give us a room upgrade if available, early check in and late check out as well as breakfast and hotel dining credit.

We arrived and were welcomed by a very nice front desk person. She acknolwledged our AMEX Platinum reservation and informed us that sadly they couldn't upgrade us today due to the hotel being at 100% occupancy. No problem. She then told us she was giving us one of, "her favorite rooms facing the courtyard.

We go up to the room without a bell man. Open the door to find an old, dirty, white, college dorm type refridgerator in the room. Also, found some waters, a couple of chocolates from the Ritz given at nighttime and a large pile of clean towels at the entrance.

Looked to us like either someone had quickly left the room and it was never completely cleared for us, the new guests or...housekeeping wasn't doing their job.

Called downstairs and complained. It took 25 minutes for Housecleaning to come and tend to the room. They were very nice, very apologetic for our expereince thus far. Treated us to a glass of wine and beer at dinner.

We were paying $550/night and honestly, even though New Orleans was packed the Ritz is the Ritz and offers a level of service that we have come to expect. This was less than a perfect Ritz experience.

Breakfast was excellent. M Bistro was excellent. Hotel was nice but not perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for a convention and was veryt impressed with the service and decor of the hotel.

Having stayed at a few Ritz Carlton hotels in the past, this one had the nicest ambiance and atmosphere. The lounge bar area was a very relaxing place to sit and relax in the evening with subdued lighting and very attentive staff.

The area immediately surround the hotel did not seem the best and I didn't feel 100% easy about walking to the local pharmacy. That said, the hotel made up for it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The most oft heard phrase from the staff was "I'm sorry that happened". It's a nice hotel with lots of "leaks" and the staff is there to patch and plug them up as they surface. For example, on more than one occassion, there was NOBODY at the front desk. One time I used the front desk phone to call the operator to relay that there was no staff present. Still waited about 2 minutes (the lady behind me kept asking in a whiny annoyed voice "did you talk to anyone?" "Is anyone coming?" over and over.) Then suddenly 3 people came out of random doors as if they all were informed simultaneously. Another example, TV didn't work upon arrival. Had to call to have someone fix it. Another, there is no coffee machine in the rooms. One has to ask for a coffee machine box to be brought up. cream/milk has to also be requested. I did both. The milk arrived via room service. But the coffee machine never made it. Had to call back about it and received a free coffee from the lobby coffee stand. Yet another, no bath towels one evening after the room was made. as a result, was late to a dinner meeting because I couldn't get ready in a timely fashion.

Fip side: whenever complaints were made regarding the above mishaps, the response was always "i'm sorry that happened" and then the matter was always corrected without attitude. However, there were so many of these, that it became annoying.

The gym is very, very nice. The spa seems lovely. Nice clean rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from celebrating my 14th anniversary with my husband. Spent the weekend at the Ritz Carlton New Orleans. It was great! If you have read my reviews before you know that I am a stickler for SERVICE.

We checked in on 11/10 and I must admit I thought that I had made a booboo:-). The reservation process did not reflect the "calmness" of a Ritz Carlton check in process. The city was a buzz over the weekend with a lot of activity. Let me pause here to say.....even though it was chaotic the staff were effecient, professional, and met the needs of all the guests.

We booked a room on the club level and it was perferct. It was like walking into another world, the "calmness" was back and I knew then that I had indeed made the right choice. Soon after we were settled into our room a bowl of chocolate dipped strawberries served in a chilled bowl with sugar crystals and the writing, "Happy 14th Anniversay" was delivered. You see this is what I mean by service. It's the little things that leave a big impression.

I would highly recommend that if you are ever going to stay at a Ritz Carlton property. Book the club level as the staff have re-defined the word PAMPERED. They have taken SERVICE to a new art form.
The location of the hotel was perfect as we were walking distance to everything. Burbon, Canal, the Quarters so close you didn't even realize that you were there until you looked at the street signs.

The food servings throughout the day on the club level are plentiful and filling and the drinks just keep coming, and coming, and coming:-) Kudos to Bud the bartender! Now to experience this type of service it comes with a price. Here's my advice to those that might be concerned about the price. If you want to experience Top Notch Service and really enjoy your vacation. Then price is not a concern and you need to book the Ritz.

Room Tip: Any room on the club level floors 4th - 9th is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked with Marriott reward points and we were not afforded the same service as our traveling friends who did not. Seems reward members are second class citizens at this hotel. This is not the "Ritz" as you would expect it, had to get the toilet fixed, the light bulb replaced and new batteries for the remote. Went to patio for a drink and no one ever bothered to come take our order. $5.00 for a cup of coffee, ridiculous! There is a great hotel NEXT door and another across the street that would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.