We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Davenport Lounge is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Davenport Lounge is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Davenport Lounge offers a great place to relax, enjoy a classy environment with wonderful jazz music by renowned music of Jeremy Davenport. Loved it!! Great cocktails, wonderful service! If you like jazz, you'll love this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    364
    142
    80
    36
See reviews for
179
493
44
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I spent four nights earlier this month at the Ritz Carlton to attend a conference that was being hosted at the hotel. We were lucky to get a good rate on the rooms, because this property more luxurious than the hotels where I usually stay. The level of service was noticeably high - I was called by name, I was offered extra services (though not in a pushy, up-selling way), and the venue is beautifully maintained.

I have a few tiny complaints, which I mention only to balance out the review. A hotel that is as luxurious as this one probably doesn't need to resort to scented candles in the lobby, which I found a bit jarring. The extra security feature of needing to put your room keycard in the elevator to get to the guest room floors stymied many guests. The location, Canal Street, is a little seedy (not the Ritz's fault, I'm sure). All the same, this was a fine hotel, and I would return to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This luxury hotel is on Canal St., sitting at the top of the Fench Quarter. Its architecture offers marble granduer and lingering in the courtyard or in the sumptuous bar. The rooms are classic Ritz Carlton and service everywhere is top notch. This is my second trip and I will not go to any other hotel in New Orleans.

Room Tip: For a quieter room face away from Canal St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just checked out after spending three nights in a club room at the Ritz. What a fantastic experience. We were celebrating our honeymoon and a special birthday and the staff treated us like royalty. Experiencing the club lounge (breakfast, lunch, evening snacks) really helped to make this a wonderful vacation; the food, drinks, atmosphere and the service all were top notch. So relaxed and enjoyable. The decor was French Provincial and was a pleasure to look at. Kudos go to Russell, Janis and Dianne and everyone in the lounge.

Our room was on the 9th floor with an OK view of the city. It was large, very clean and very comfortable (the bed, the bedding, towels etc) and in fact was quite luxurious. When we called for something to be delivered to our room, it came within a few minutes! This is the kind of service one expects from the Ritz. We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Make your you stay on one of the club floors. It is really worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans over the weekend. It was conveniently located just one block from Bourbon Street and was the edge of the French Quarter. It was a bit confusing going from the first floor to the third floor for the check-in, but once I got there, everything went smoothly. I was especially impressed on Sunday morning when they had an older gentleman there to greet and hold the elevator for me. It's a nice addition to have that kind of service. And Bubba, one of the door men, graciously helped me hail a cab and get me off to the airport while everyone was busy trying to get to the Saints Game. My only criticism is that the hotel is a bit dated, but when thinking about it, it adds to the charm of the hotel; make it more nostalgic. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location of this iconic branded hotel. You are just close enough to Bourbon Street and all the local activities and yet just far enough away to get some quiet and relaxing sleep. Plus, in addition to the great service you expect from the Ritz, i.e. golf umbrellas to keep you dry during an unexpected rain shower, etc. the lounge at the hotel is the place to be! Jeremy Davenport is an amazing jazz musician and the bar is packed for his great weekend performances. There's also a quaint outdoor garden just off the lobby and bar area if you want to step outside for a moment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were going to New Orleans for the Rutgers - Tulane football game. Originally scheduled to arrive on Thursday, we didn't get in until Saturday. The check in was painless and the staff extremely helpful. Physically parts of the hotel are not up to Ritz standards and tired looking. The elevator lobby on our floor smelled of damp and rot (due to hurricane?). Location is good, food and drink prices astronomical. Our room was acceptable but nothing special. Hotel staff throughout were very helpful and apologetic since they were understaffed due to the hurricane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.