We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend at the Ritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #28 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Easter Weekend at the Ritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I enjoyed an excellent weekend at the Ritz with my family. This is a wonderful hotel with many nice features. The service was wonderful. Everyone that I interacted with from the doormen, valet parking, housekeeping and wait staff were all incredibly nice and more than accommodating. The rooms were clean and well appointed with modern but classic decor. The beds were very comfortable as well. It has a great Spa and Gym. The location is great as well. It is within a few blocks of Bourbon Street and lots of French Quarter attractions. For some relaxation, spend some time in the courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahjay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is the first time we’ve stayed at a Ritz and it might be our last…definitely not what we were expecting.

We were in town for five days visiting relatives and decided to splurge and stay at the Ritz-Carlton. We tried to book a room on the Club Level but were told they were sold out…desk clerk offered to call us when they had an opening but never bothered to follow up. Our room faced Canal Street and although it had a great view it was quite noisy. The beds were horrible…felt like you were sleeping on a box spring instead of a mattress (and that was after they had been changed out for new ones). We also had to call down to the front desk to ask for washcloths on two different occasions as they were missing from the room. Upon checking out one of the desk clerk even suggested we bring our own washcloths on our next visit…LOL!

The service was pretty good overall and most of the employees were very helpful and friendly with one exception. We had breakfast 3 of the 5 days of our stay at the M Bistro…while the food was good the service was disappointing. Our server had a bit of an attitude and felt it was all right to chew out the other employees in front of the customers (this happened on two separate occasions). His behavior was bazaar to say the least.

I also wanted to add that the doormen were very helpful with both directions and dinning suggestions (one of which was Oceana for breakfast). And I love the fact that the hotel hires employees in all age groups…the older gentleman with the glasses is a gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Please contact Matt Helms or Donna Brown directly to discuss the issues that you experienced. They can be reached at 504-524-1331. Your review is incredibly important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans at the end of March 2012 for business. The meeting facilities on the first level are on par with all other high end hotels, however the proximity to Bourbon street was ideal for exploring the area when I had free time. The gym also had a nice layout where the weight room was separate from the cardio machines, which was separate from the open gym/yoga space. The dual elevators where odd at first, then I soon realized that it was a nice security feature and separated the hotel from the busy streets below. The one complaint (although very minor) I had was that my mini fridge was not restocked, but I was able to order additional bottles of water from room service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahway, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Ritz Carlton in New Orleans is right on canal street and a block from all the cities, french quarter activity. Great Place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
194 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well it was St Patricks Day in the Quarter so green was the color of choice, not just on faces but the clothes too. The Ritz is an oasis, it has a superb location front door onto Canal and back door you fall into the Quarter. Well appointed rooms and smiling happy service. The A/C was broken in our room upon arrival, but repaired within the hour. We enjoyed coming back in the evenings to settle into the lounge for the live jazz trumpet & songs, and for that one last drink you always seem to need. We booked through American Airlines vacations with air, a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS1Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend St.. Patrick's Day with us and for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. We will share your review with our ladies and gentlemen. It is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Made reservations for a long girls weekend in March. The Ritz is nicely located about a block from Bourban Street and was a generally good starting point for all of our activities. The rooms were average, but nothing special.

There was no coffee maker in the room and there was also an additional charge for wi-fi. We didn't use the spa, as it seemed to be pricier than other Ritz's we have stayed at in the past.

The Concierge was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us. Really enjoyed herr recommendation.

The bellhops and door service was very poor. Most times they never asked if you needed a taxi or assitance. Not what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We hope to earn back your business and appreciate that you chose to stay with us for your girl's getaway weekend. We are glad to hear that the concierge's recommendations were helpful and that you enjoyed our location. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Please contact Front Office Manager Jerry Stillwell at the hotel directly (504-524-1331) if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spent the Regional Semi Finals of the 2011 NCAA tournament at the Ritz. 1Br Suite - club level.

Really nice stay. With my Dad, he really liked the Gumbo served in the Club level parlour one day. He expressed his liking to the hostess who in turn had the chef cut the recipe down, print it out and send it up. My father being appreciative said thank you and began looking over the recipe. He looked a bit confused and asked the hostess what a Roux was.

The hostess instead of being flustered, had the head chef come up and spend 15 minutes explaining to my father how to make Gumbo.

It is the little things at the Ritz that they do right.

Nice location too

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group and need multiple rooms, at least one of the rooms should be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimWPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay with your father. And, we're very glad that our Club Level Concierge was able to locate a recipe and a chef to offer assistance. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,071 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#34 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#12 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina until December, 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing