We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive and obsolete” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Streetcar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Streetcar Inn to your Saves list
Historic Streetcar Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Too expensive and obsolete”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Obsolete hotel, need major renovation and upgrade. Location is good, walking distance from the french quarter and charles avenue is nice to walk all the way to the end or take the street car.
If rooms where less than 100 uds would have been honest, regerdless of the high season.
Bathroom kind of dirty, not from lazy cleaning staff but for age of premises, movable tiles, cracked door, rusty shower etc.
Breakfat is a joke, do not count on that, walk out and get proper food.
Noisy AC made sleeping difficult if not impossible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueGM1509, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. In regards to the age of the hotel, we are a historic property, so modern hotels do have a different style than what you might have been expecting. We believe that we offer an experience that is truly New Orleans, and part of that is the style and history of the area. Our breakfast does offer a diverse menu for a continental breakfast and we are expanding it in the coming months, but I am sorry the menu was not to your liking.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    104
    33
    41
    43
See reviews for
39
112
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kata, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

if this had been a 75.00 a night hotel it would have been satisfactory. First of all, there is NO PARKING at this hotel, the only parking is first come first serve on the side streets, which are very crowded, no security. Once you get a parking place at night, you dont want to get back out because you might not get a spot when you come back due to the restaurants surrounding the hotel. We got there the first night, to no heat in our room, and it was VERY cold. They tried to bring us one of those fan operated heaters?!?!! Obviously we were not going to accept that, so we had to pack up and move to the second floor. The next room did have heat, but was very small, barely enough room to move around, two beds, four people. My husband kept complaining about his bed (yes we each sleep with child on vacation). By the third night, i sat on it and realized what the problem was, a broken box spring!!! We did complain and they did switch it out, but it still squeaked every time you moved. The furniture in the rooms was outdated, and i dont mean antique. Did not match, had a broken handle on dresser. Like I said, for 150.00 plus a night, i think it was way overpriced!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueGM1509, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We followed all the excellent reviews on this "hotel" and were really disappointed. Although the property had lots of potential, this property is clearly lacking and in desperate need of major repairs. We were running late for an event, so didn't have time to change rooms or hotels, otherwise I would have never stayed. The room had major water stains on the ceiling, wallpaper coming apart and hanging at several seams, the carpet was filthy, fan in bathroom was broke, the ceiling fans in the hall were connected with extension cords hanging off the ceilings and wall and seemed extremely unsafe, and parking was a major issue with us. The staff were friendly and lobby where we ate breakfast was clean. Bagels, toast, and cake were available with coffee, tea, and OJ. This place has so much potential I can't even begin to explain it, but use caution...this is absolutely not a 5 start hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueGM1509, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I will be using this hotel again. It is well situated on St Charles Avenue in the Garden District. The street car and the bus give easy and inexpensive access to Canal Street and the other way into the Garden District. The rooms are well appointed and services. I had a very comfortable bed and slept well. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just returned from New Orleans and stayed 5 nights in the Avenue Garden Hotel. We feel like we've just been adopted and have a new home away from home. The staff was incredible and fun. The room was clean and stocked well every day. We had great advice on where to go and things to do. They were right on the trolley line and it was convenient for the Garden District or the French Quarter.

Lydia, Ora, Mimi and Melissa were great to us and treated us like family. We will go back and stay right there! It's like being in a large B&B.

Room Tip: There were 3 of us having a "girls" vacation and the room on level 3 had 3 beds for each o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a pretty and inexpensive place to stay in NOLA. The cons: nice hotel, very pretty and well maintained; however, like most places in NOLA the house is old so you will have some creaky and uneven floors, a bit of an older look, and maybe not all the super modern conveniences. If that is important to you, then go stay at the Marriott. If you are looking for a cross between a b&B and a hotel, then this is for you. The MAJOR disadvantage to this hotel is that they often want a non-refundable 100% deposit when you book- so you need to be sure your trip is on and that this is where you want to stay. The breakfast is bread/continental only. The pros: Excellent value, with a lot of good restaurants around. It is right on St. Charles close to downtown- in between the Garden District and downtown. The streetcar does run right in front of it, though it is closed through there for repairs. This is a great place to stay for Loyola or Tulane parents- just save a room for me! I have stayed here three times and did have some noise from trash collection the first time, but the other two times were fine and one night we slept with our balcony door open, facing St. Charles, and it was not noisy.

Room Tip: Make sure that this is where you want to stay and that your trip is definitely on-they will want ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We paid $119/night for a small room, which is not bad for NOLA. However, the room was not clean, the bed was not too comfy, it was loud nightly until 4 a.m. I wish we would have paid a little more to stay somewhere else.

I wanted to be on the St Charles Streetcar line between the quarter & garden district.... unfortunately the street car is under construction. We were not told that before booking. The hotels website fails to mention this as well.

Or, if the hotel would clean the carpets, paint, clean mildew off showers/curtains, and otherwise clean the place up a little, it could be a nice place. It is not currently worth what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for quite room & make sure the streetcar is running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Streetcar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.