We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Streetcar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Streetcar Inn to your Saves list
Historic Streetcar Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Not the Ritz, but nice if you can get a good rate. We got a double for $109. Room was a little worn down but clean and comfortable. We stayed in Room 16. Door knob to the room was loose. Could be easily fixed with a screwdriver. Old kind of TV and kind of a hodge podge in regards to furniture and decorations. Felt like we were staying at Grandma's cluttered house. Big Head Drew Brees adorned the mainhallway along with old misc. pictures and mirrors. Kind of different. Also, you actually use real keys to get in hotel and room. Wow!

Shower had a little drainage problem (ended up with water around my ankles). Could be easily fixed. Cute little courtyard. You have to park in the street since they have no on site parking. But felt safe and nothing happened to car. You also have to load in through front door which has stairs to climb. Could be an issue if you have big bags, although they helped carry them in. Staff was extemely friendly! Very nice and accommodating. Check in was a breeze.
I wouldn't stay for more than a night or two, but if you are on a tight budget and just need a place to sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    111
    43
    48
    52
See reviews for
48
127
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I prefer this type accommodations when in NOLA instead of the boring, newer hotels and to be an older building, it is in great shape. Good location with several good restaurants within walking distance. Parking can be an issue...we usually had luck across the street near the athletic club. Our room was clean and comfortable...it's more like a home instead of a hotel. The front desk and housekeeping staff were always friendly and helpful. We thought it was pretty quiet here considering it's located on a city street. My only complaint would be a couple issues in our bathroom in need of maintenance. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

we stayed at the Ave. Garden Hotel on St. Charles Ave. Most pleasurable stay ever. Keith and staff went beyond any normal customer service and really took care of our needs. If i ever visit New Orleans again i will definitely stay here again. stay was more of a homey stay then staying at a big name hotel chain. thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing place, not corporate sterile environment, a true taste of NOLA. I love the people there, and am going to go back as soon as I can to stay with these amazing people again! If you are booking here I envy you right now!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was just as advertised. The rooms were clean and the location was great. The street car stop was right across the street. There is also a great daiquiri shop two blocks away. One of the best daiquiris in the entire city.

Room Tip: Room 20 is right near the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, a long weekend trip over the St. Patrick's Day weekend, March 2012. Our group included four couples, and we each had a queen room. The rooms were clean, well-appointed, comfortable, and surprisingly quiet. Super convenient location; catch the charming St. Charles streetcar right across the street. There is a great pizza place, "Slice" , right next door and Voodoo Barbecue next door on the other side, the old standby St. Charles Tavern (open 24 hours) and an Irish tavern right across the street. Service was friendly and the continental-style breakfast was just enough. Our entire group met every morning for coffee in the charming courtyard with pretty flowers and a cute fountain. A great deal, reasonably priced. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

First of all this is no where near a hotel. This is a cheap 1970s bed and breakfast. This is an old house and you rent a bedroom that has a bathroom that I could barely fit in. I sat in a chair in the room and dust flew out. The floors are so uneven the ironing board would barely stand. You could hear anyone who walked the halls at any time. We are a younger 30s couple that travels 6 to 7 times a year and came to New Orleans a day early and had to stay here 1 night and it was horrible. If a 1970s bed and breakfast is your cup of tea, then this place is perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Prytania Park
#75 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
The Hotel Modern
#73 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#68 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#74 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Brent House Hotel & Conference C...
#115 of 156 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Streetcar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.