We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel in Garden District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Streetcar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Streetcar Inn to your Saves list
Historic Streetcar Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Boutique hotel in Garden District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a great little hotel in New Orleans. The cable car stops right in front of the hotel, but you can walk down to the French Quarter also. (That way you can justify eating a little more at one of the fabulous restaurants. They provide a nice little continental breakfast. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very safe and cozy.

Room Tip: Room 47 is the best!! It has a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    103
    33
    41
    43
See reviews for
39
112
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Lydia runs a tight ship at this hotel. The Avenue Garden Hotel staff was so friendly and helpful to our party of 4. They even gave us a room at ground level with a porch because they thought the 4 of us would enjoy our 4 day stay better. Lydia knows so much about local history and got us in touch with a tour of the Houmas House Plantation. She was a fount of information about the city and what things to do and where to be safe. We just had a wonderful time at her hotel. The room was clean, there were always enough towels and we just enjoyed ourselves. We have to give an extra thanks to Terri who cleaned our room and just took the time to chat with us and also made us feel so much at home during our first time in New Orleans. Stay at this hotel. You will be quite happy you did.

Room Tip: Try for the two bed room, ground level, facing the street. You will have your own deck and chairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Lovely old style Hotel with free on street parking. Our room had a balcony overlooking the street car line, took about 15 minutes to the French quarter so all in all ideal

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This has the feel of staying in a distant relative's home. This isn't upscale or new. It is homey and comfortable. Breakfast is exactly as it said- continental - coffee, tea and juice - cake, instant grits and oatmeal, bagels and english muffins. We are early risers and coffee was always ready before 7:00. Enough food to get you rolling on your day. The staff was friendly and helpful. Knowledge of the area was freely given and advice of what to see. The owner made our tour reservations for us with curbside pick up.

You are staying in a neighborhood where there are alleys, traffic and neighborhood dogs. It is beyond anyone's control as to when the garbage truck makes it's run and how the neighbors control their dogs. This is a hotel in the city where a backyard isn't going to be found. By the posted photos on the web site you can see there are businesses next to the building and the windows aren't going to have views. I have stayed in other freestanding hotels in the past and have had garbage truck pick up at 4:30 am outside my window.

The room was clean with hair dryer and frig. The courtyard was very nice with the fountain. Great common area to relax and watch TV or use the provided computer. WIFI is available.

This hotel was half the price of the other one I had booked prior to finding this gem. It was secure and in a nice area. Street car and food right outside our front door.

Make sure to eat at Voo-Doo BBQ next door - mmm

If we ever return to New Orleans - would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

There were three of us in an upstairs double room (26). The staff could only find one key to give us when we checked in. Really? The room was clean enough but dated. Funky old bedspreads. Very bland decor in the room. Missing toilet paper roll holder bar. Really? One of the mattress sets seemed worn out, somewhat sunken. The window overlooked a space between an adjacent building where two guard dogs barked at random times in the afternoon and early morning. Internet service dropped one morning of the three nights we were there. There was no coffeemaker in the room and coffee wasn't made downstairs until 8 a.m. Saturday--that seemed late to us. It was prepared by 7 on the other two mornings.

The good points: Great location, easy access to street car. Friendly staff. Reasonable rate. Nice patio/courtyard. Charming hallway.

We knew the hotel did not provide parking when we reserved the room. There were cones on the street in front of the hotel which provided for unloading and loading. And there was no problem finding spots to park along the nearby cross street.

This would not be my first, second or third choice on future trips to New Orleans. There are so many wonderful hotels in this city. And often good deals can be found. But, when an event is going on and other places are booked up, I could see turning to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband helped me choose this hotel, for my road trip with Mom to New Orleans last weekend, based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor.. I was very excited and Mom was curious since she had never experienced staying in other than fancy, more impersonal hotels.

Before I start complaining, I must say that the staff is very nice and friendly and that the place looks charming and cozy.

We were greeted by a nice lady called Aura and a gentleman who helped us out with our luggage; Aura showed us the way to our room. At first I thought it was very convenient because it was located on the first floor (no elevators here, of course) and in the back of the building, next to the breakfast area. It seemed to be very quiet too. The bathroom had the smallest sink I've ever seen in a hotel (or motel!); no room for toiletries and the towels were clean but pretty old.
When I was ready to go to bed, the heater smelled weird, like when something is burning, and soon enough it broke; we woke up in the middle of the night freezing, and to top it of, a garbage truck stopped by and spent what seemed hours on the side of the street emptying the huge dumpsters and making the loudest noise, and a dog who lived in the building behind the hotel (right outside our window) started barking and didn't stop until late morning....
Breakfast was pretty lame: some coffee, teas, some red juice they said was apple juice, half and half, oatmeal, cake and bagels and a cheap cream cheese; no healthy protein, no milk, no fruits.
After a very lovely day out, we got back to the hotel at around 10:30pm to learn that we had to move our stuff to another room on the second floor, because they could not repair the air conditioning unit. We thought that even though it was very inconvenient, (since we had to leave the hotel next morning) it was worth it, so we packed and up we went. What seemed to be a nicer and warm room with a fake fireplace, ended up being just another room right above the one we stayed the first night, with an extremely slippery bathtub, and the noise from the garbage truck and the barking dog repeated all over again waking us up way too early.

I feel bad for writing a review like this, and I wish I could say that we just got and unlucky bedroom and an isolated issue, but unfortunately I can't. Mom left thinking that Ave Garden should not be considered a 'hotel'......

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We love it and will go back. We had 3 people an a room with 2 large beds. We felt like we were staying in someone's home. The staff was great, friendly, helpful, courteous, and made us feel like family. Our cruise was detained for 2 days due to tropical storm Lee and there was no problem stayed in same room. We pack too much and they kept our overage and when we returned for one more night they were glad to see us back. The trolley stopped right in front of the Avenue but you do have to be patient fro the trolley. The cost is $1.25 each way. Breakfast the coffee cake and muffins by Melissa will be missed. After hugs goodbye we will try to get back to the avenue.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Streetcar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.