We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judgmental like no other!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade to your Saves list
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Judgmental like no other!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is decent value for money. Located on Esplanade Avenue, HH Whitney House was a comfortable 25 minute walk to the French Quarter and the more recently-developed street of live music establishments, and run by experienced owners who have been welcoming guests to New Orleans for a long time.

The house itself is on the rusty side. It seemed to be tilted. However, otherwise decently-maintained. The rooms all have themes to them. We stayed in the Scarlett O'Hara room, full of Scarlett memorabilia (dolls, books, framed still photographs from the movie, bed covers all green and gold, etc.). The rooms have private bathrooms, but some of the rooms have their private bathrooms located on a different floor or outside the actual bedroom. This might be inconvenient for some guests.

Some real suggestions for Glen, the owner, and things future guests should look out for:

- the Kleenex in the room smelled of vomit (according to my partner)
- Glen never explained how to use the hot water in our bathtub. It was genuinely tricky and while my partner figured it out eventually, the bathtub faucets merit prior explanation from the owner. We never got it.
- the keys to the bedroom and bathroom were also impossible. The keys are those antique keys with ribbons that look like they would open a "secret garden," and not the most precise. It was always a struggle to lock and unlock the doors. But again, no mention from Glen or explanation.

We interacted only with Glen (Randy? is the other owner). He was good about showing us where to go and what to do during our stay, and highlighted color-coded routes on his map for us. However, after this initial sit-down, Glen was unpleasant, passive-aggressive, and judgmental. Not what we expected.

During our three-day stay, Glen made passive-aggressive remarks about what he perceived as our "partying ways" ("I heard you guys come in at 3 AM last night, I woke up and couldn't believe the time" when in reality we came home at 1 AM; "Oh! I didn't expect to see you guys for breakfast. So nice of you to join us!"; "Are you finally going out for the day? (it was 3 PM)"). But bear in mind, we were in NOLA for the last three days of December. It's a festive season by definition. But Glen managed to make us feel unwelcome, like we were intruders, not guests.

The one morning we joined the other guests for breakfast (only served from 8.30 to 9.30), we found the food lackluster and standard.

We got the feeling that Glen does not actually enjoy people or strangers. Yes, we know he runs a business, after all. But we were shocked at the reception we got from him, given that he's been in the B&B business in NOLA for so long. We found him very off-putting, and we were glad to leave HH Whitney House.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
77
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed there for four nights. Am from Louisiana and have been to New Orleans on many occasions. Can affirm that this is a great location to the French quarter, city park( bike lane also) and to the Marighny neighborhood. The host Glenn is a native so he is most helpful with getting around if one needs help. This is a true B&B experience from the ambiance, the host, the breakfast and the location. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The rooms and house are old, but very nicely decorated and furnished, as well as comfortable. The hosts are very friendly people and sat us down to tell us where to go and what to do, as well as recommending great restaurants. The breakfasts they made were delicious, and just the right size. HH Whitney is located conveniently on Esplanade Avenue, although it is quite a bit north, so look elsewhere if you want to walk out into the heart of downtown. That said, that remains the only reason I can think of why not to choose the HH Whitney. It is charming and luxurious, and you will have a great time no matter how long you stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

HH Whitney House is an amazing trip back in time. The house is draped in extravagance and comfort. These qualities shouldn't exist on the same plane but do here. Add to this harmony, the delicious breakfasts, the helpfulness and charm of the hosts, and the interesting location, and it is easy to understand why so many people return year after year.

The B&B sits in a neighborhood that is a few minutes' drive from the French Quarter and a few minutes' walk from Treme. Instead of being surrounded by plastic life, you are living in a beautiful, Victorian house in an area that people call home.

My husband and I had a magical time in the Solarium Suite. The suite holds a fully-furnished living room, a bedroom, a large closet and a large bathroom. It was so nice to spend the day trekking around the city and rest up while watching all the television Direct TV has to offer from a recliner or sip wine on the swing on our balcony.

We also used the powerful jets and the hot water of the whirlpool to soothe us. The website does not mention it but the hosts offer guests complimentary soda, bottled water, fruit, granola bars and hot and cold cereal.

You can make your stay at HH Whitney House what you want it to be. You can use it as a place to lay your head or you can pull up a chair and share some wine and some stories with the hosts. I chose the latter and I am a better person for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We enjoyed our time in H H Whitney House. The house is beautifully decorated, breakfasts were delicious (‘small’ European sized portions, just perfect :-) and the pool was refreshing in the afternoon. We rented the small apartment in the front on the second floor. We loved sitting on the big balcony and watching people go by. Disadvantages: if the owner is preparing a meal in the downstairs kitchen you can smell it in the rooms. Taking a shower in the bath tub is a bit of a claustrophobic experience (with the shower curtains all sticking too you). Glen was friendly, but we did not see him around much. He seemed to be a bit stressed because of his sick mother and family matters. We met Randy ones. He immediately invited us to join him and his friends for dinner and drinks at the pool. Charming guy. If you do not like to have little children around all the time (at breakfast, in the pool) this is not the place for you. We did not mind, but the owner’s daughter (‘Princess’) is around much, sometimes she with her friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent a long weekend there with my son, The hospitality was beyond my expectations, the beauty and warmth of Whitney House was priceless. Glen and his staff treated us as old friends and like family you want to be around. Being from new Orleans, this house has all the charms you could desire. each mornings breakfast was perfectly delivered and Glen helped us with our selections of best eateries. being just blocks from the French Quarters makes this the ideal place to stay. cant wait to bring love ones to share the experiences.

Room Tip: All rooms were wonderful, ,ps we shared a bathroom never really noticed the differences of private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

To celebrate my wife’s 60th we drove 1600 miles from Canada to spend a week in New Orleans. After a lot of research we chose HH Whitney because it looked beautiful and – most importantly – had a pool. Glen, our host, was very helpful in the booking process and suggestions of things to do that fit our interests.

We arrived on a Monday around 6 to an empty home with instructions on how to gain entry. Glen’s mom was recently taken to the hospital and this was obviously a stressful time for him. His ex-partner Randy did pull into the driveway while we were loading in, as he lives next door. There never was a tour of the home, but we were very impressed with it – exactly what we hoped and expected – filled with antiques and beautifully decorated.

Our kids and their partners (24 – 30) were scheduled to fly-in for four days later in the week, so we basically rented the whole house for the week. Beds were comfortable and the rooms beautiful.

The grounds could have used some maintenance but not to the point that it impacted on our vacation. Being August it was really hot and we constantly used the pool and were very thankful it was there.

Glen and Randy had an adopted daughter living next door, who was a real sweetheart. We love kids and it was not an issue, but if you don’t want a 4 year old around (for breakfast, in the pool etc.) then that might be a game changer.

The little girls mom cooks breakfast, and since we always arrived at 9:30 there was a little bit of an attitude but nothing overt. She basically remained in the background for the bulk of the stay, with a cell phone permanently stuck to her ear.

All of us had a problem with Glen’s attitude. He got put off easily and severely reprimanded one of our kids for a drunken incident that shouldn’t have happened. Unfortunately no amount of apologizing seemed to help and Glen called them liars to their face rather that take the high road and let it slide. (it involved wearing Glen’s Mardi Gras mask in the pool at night).

This was a recurrent theme in the house – when Glen isn’t happy, everybody is unhappy. He was over opinionated and often condescending. Not good qualities in a B&B host. To be fair he was also very helpful at times, it was just that we always felt like intruders rather than paying guests.

Randy, on the other hand, was gregarious and fun to be around. He invited us to his favorite gay bar on Bourbon Street and bought us a round of drinks, which we appreciated. He also invited us to join him and friends for dinner at the house but we only had four days to spend together as a family so gracefully declined.

All in all we had a fabulous time and were very happy with the accommodations, price and location. If the host’s has less strong opinions about everything, listened more than talked and more consideration for the atmosphere for the guests it would have been perfect!

Room Tip: Solarium the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Address: 1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.