We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a life time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade to your Saves list
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Experience of a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute four day New orleans get away. I couldn't decide bed N breakfast (since we have never been to one) or hotel. Well, we chose bed n breakfast it was the best experience! We got sooo much done in 4 days because we had a personal assistant at the HH whitney bed n breakfast. Glenn was superb! Every reservation he made for us...every place he sent us...was unbelievable. When we couldnt get a cab....he drove us. The house was neat and clean. Many beautiful features. We will definately go back for a visit. To all at the HH Whitney house thank you for the experience :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
77
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon MS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend at the Whitney House. Randy and Glenn made us feel very much "at home". Breakfasts were wonderful, including the home made hot sauce, and the kitchen was open any time for a variety of drinks. Our room was perfect for relaxing, and it was quiet at night. The shower was large and had two rainfall shower heads, providing a very relaxing experience at the end of a day of sight seeing. The HH Whitney house is just a few easy blocks from the Quarter. Randy and Glenn's recommendations for dining were spot on. My wife and I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We came to New Orleans (4 days/3nights) to celebrate our 10th anniversary. This 1865 house is beautifully decorated and in a perfect location. You feel comfortable walking to the French Quarter during the day and only a $7-8 cab ride back at night. Glen (the Innkeeper) was very knowledgeable about places to visit and had excellent suggestions where to eat at local restaurants. We enjoyed every restaurant he recommended! We rented the Bride & Grooms room (at the front of the house, closer to the street). However, if you’re looking for a quieter environment, ask for a room more towards the rear of the home. The first night, we heard a lot of car traffic but were used to it by day two. Breakfast was excellent and huge portions. Bottles of water, sodas and snacks always available in the kitchen. All the staff was very friendly and made us feel like we were staying with old friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We gathered our family from Florida, California, Texas and Georgia and spend the Thanksgiving holiday at this wonderful B & B. Really authentic atmosphere and close to everything. Glen was wonderful and gave great suggestions about touring and dining. Breakfasts to die for. I highly recommend this for the warm atmosphere and great area.

Room Tip: The Solarium Suite has a wonderful sitting room that my family greatly appreciated and used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Let me start by saying that if you are looking for W style accommodations, that this is not your speed. The house is historic and though well maintained, still has the quirks that old houses do. I am posting pictures from our stay because the pictures on travel websites do not do this place justice. Four of us (2 couples - early 30's) went for Halloween weekend and stayed in the adjoining Brides room and Solarium suites. We loved every detail. It was great meeting the guests from other places and Randy and his staff are just excellent. Breakfast was hearty and divine, there were snacks and refreshments available in the kitchen area 24/7, and the place was kept very clean. The patio is breathtaking and the pool and jacuzzi add a perfect place to relax with a glass of wine (or 3) after a long day of sightseeing.

Location is walking distance to the Quarter and also Frenchman, but cab rides are so cheap (and a girl has got to have on sassy, impractical shoes for going out!) that we ended up cabbing everywhere.

We will never stay anywhere else in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Staying in this wonderful house was one of the highlights of our trip. HH Whitney house is a real grande dame of New Orleans, giving a glimpse of the opulence of creole life on the Esplanade in N O’s heyday.

We arrived, worn out after a tough drive from Natchez, through a seriously scary rainstorm. Our warm welcome in this calm old house that had withstood Katrina was like a romantic fantasy.

We stayed in the garden suite with its sumptuous bed, private balcony and double shower. The pool was a perfect place to cool off after a day out in the heat of high summer.

Glen’s hospitality was warm and generous. Thanks to his local knowledge we were able to get the most out of our time in New Orleans. We experienced some great music, food, culture and history and got very close to some big wild alligators. Glen went out of his way to suggest places we might enjoy. One evening he even drove us himself. The breakfasts, as others have said, are legendary.

We walked up and down the Esplanade and met with nothing but warmth and friendliness from local people. At no time did we feel unsafe in the slightest.

We would certainly stay there again and would recommend HH Whitney House to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite, at the back of the house. It is quiet, private and relatively self-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halstedchi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the HH Whitney House. It is perfectly situated to enjoy both the French Quarter and several neighborhoods just beyond Rampart. Glen and Randy are charming and lovely hosts who made our stay very special. While the other bedrooms seem to be designed with romance in mind, my husband and I loved the very nicely decorated garden room. An extra bonus is the lovely garden with swimming pool. It was wonderful to take a dip to cool off from the intense June heat and humidity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Address: 1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.