We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Family Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade to your Saves list
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanksgiving Family Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We gathered our family from Florida, California, Texas and Georgia and spend the Thanksgiving holiday at this wonderful B & B. Really authentic atmosphere and close to everything. Glen was wonderful and gave great suggestions about touring and dining. Breakfasts to die for. I highly recommend this for the warm atmosphere and great area.

Room Tip: The Solarium Suite has a wonderful sitting room that my family greatly appreciated and used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
78
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Let me start by saying that if you are looking for W style accommodations, that this is not your speed. The house is historic and though well maintained, still has the quirks that old houses do. I am posting pictures from our stay because the pictures on travel websites do not do this place justice. Four of us (2 couples - early 30's) went for Halloween weekend and stayed in the adjoining Brides room and Solarium suites. We loved every detail. It was great meeting the guests from other places and Randy and his staff are just excellent. Breakfast was hearty and divine, there were snacks and refreshments available in the kitchen area 24/7, and the place was kept very clean. The patio is breathtaking and the pool and jacuzzi add a perfect place to relax with a glass of wine (or 3) after a long day of sightseeing.

Location is walking distance to the Quarter and also Frenchman, but cab rides are so cheap (and a girl has got to have on sassy, impractical shoes for going out!) that we ended up cabbing everywhere.

We will never stay anywhere else in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Staying in this wonderful house was one of the highlights of our trip. HH Whitney house is a real grande dame of New Orleans, giving a glimpse of the opulence of creole life on the Esplanade in N O’s heyday.

We arrived, worn out after a tough drive from Natchez, through a seriously scary rainstorm. Our warm welcome in this calm old house that had withstood Katrina was like a romantic fantasy.

We stayed in the garden suite with its sumptuous bed, private balcony and double shower. The pool was a perfect place to cool off after a day out in the heat of high summer.

Glen’s hospitality was warm and generous. Thanks to his local knowledge we were able to get the most out of our time in New Orleans. We experienced some great music, food, culture and history and got very close to some big wild alligators. Glen went out of his way to suggest places we might enjoy. One evening he even drove us himself. The breakfasts, as others have said, are legendary.

We walked up and down the Esplanade and met with nothing but warmth and friendliness from local people. At no time did we feel unsafe in the slightest.

We would certainly stay there again and would recommend HH Whitney House to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite, at the back of the house. It is quiet, private and relatively self-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halstedchi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the HH Whitney House. It is perfectly situated to enjoy both the French Quarter and several neighborhoods just beyond Rampart. Glen and Randy are charming and lovely hosts who made our stay very special. While the other bedrooms seem to be designed with romance in mind, my husband and I loved the very nicely decorated garden room. An extra bonus is the lovely garden with swimming pool. It was wonderful to take a dip to cool off from the intense June heat and humidity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We found our way to the HH Whitney House easily from IH-10 coming from San Antonio to celebrate our son and daughter's 21st birthday. We were met by our host Glen; he gave us a quick tour of the house, asked us about food preferences, informed us breakfast was served between 8:30 a.m. & 10:30 a.m., and then allowed us to get settled. He then headed out to get more snacks & drinks, which are complimentary while you are there. My kids did enjoy this as this also included adult beverages. We had the 3 room suite, which consisted of the bride and groom's room (with a shared bathroom) and the solarium (which has its own private bath). We had run of the front of the house to include being able to shut off the back hallway from the other two guest rooms, if we so chose. Everything was as advisertised and worked wonderfully. Glen made a full breakfast every morning and I can honestly say I had him serve me half portions as the plates were generously large; he is a wonderful cook. The only thing that stood out was the door on the groom's room, it stuck a little but it is an old house so other than that, nothing to complain about. Once we did unpack, the kids hit the pool & hot tub, which was in perfect working order and it was much needed after the long drive. We met our other host, Randy while sitting by the pool. He introduced himself and mentioned that if we didn't have dinner plans that we were welcome to join him and some of his personal guests for dinner as he had just made a large batch of gumbo. Not part of the reservations but these guys are no ordinary hosts. They were just the cat's meow and we can't say enough about their hospitality!!

The French Quarter was 1.1 miles from the B&B but since we drove, we took our vehicle everywhere in town. We were advised that taxi's were better because parking isn't easy to find and they only charge $5 but we opted to drive. Since the neighborhood is still under renovation, it did have its share of questionable neighbors but no one bothered us and we walked a couple of times at night to a couple of corner stores without incident. The mile is an easy walk and the streets are always busy so if you stay aware of your surroundings you should be ok. Other than that we had a blast! We were so glad we chose not to stay at a corporate/chain hotel; the price plus all the perks made for a great stay! We were already making plans to return by the third day of our stay.

Room Tip: April, May and June discounts are offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The HH Whitney is definitely the best bang for your buck. Gorgeous old house, nice pool and hot tub and of course Glen is an amazing host and a great cook! Breakfast was delicious every morning!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have found the place in New Orleans that we hope to always call home when visiting there. The Whitney House is beautiful and located in the historic Treme area. We stayed there for the first weekend of Jazzfest this year and found it uniquely located for access to the fairgrounds, the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. The innkeeper, Glenn Miller, has been able to create a home that is both exquisitely decorated, yet also very comfortable. This is all due to his attentiveness to detail and commitment to customer service. That last point could not be better demonstrated than through the following story: While at the house, my wife and I lost a couple of our tickets to Jazzfest, which we (correctly) believed we had thrown in the garbage. Glenn insisted upon going through the garbage himself and found the tickets, much to our delight. This type of personal attention was typical of our entire stay at the house.

WE cannot wait to return to New Orleans and the Whitney House!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Address: 1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.