We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the HH Whitney to anyone traveling to NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade to your Saves list
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend the HH Whitney to anyone traveling to NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The HH Whitney is definitely the best bang for your buck. Gorgeous old house, nice pool and hot tub and of course Glen is an amazing host and a great cook! Breakfast was delicious every morning!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    12
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
77
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have found the place in New Orleans that we hope to always call home when visiting there. The Whitney House is beautiful and located in the historic Treme area. We stayed there for the first weekend of Jazzfest this year and found it uniquely located for access to the fairgrounds, the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. The innkeeper, Glenn Miller, has been able to create a home that is both exquisitely decorated, yet also very comfortable. This is all due to his attentiveness to detail and commitment to customer service. That last point could not be better demonstrated than through the following story: While at the house, my wife and I lost a couple of our tickets to Jazzfest, which we (correctly) believed we had thrown in the garbage. Glenn insisted upon going through the garbage himself and found the tickets, much to our delight. This type of personal attention was typical of our entire stay at the house.

WE cannot wait to return to New Orleans and the Whitney House!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed HH Whitney House. Very quiet home, but the city is quite loud, so I did have to buy earplugs while I was there. Home is beautiful and I don't even think the website photos do it justice. Glen is a wonderful host and has thought of everything to make your stay the best it can be. Walking at night to the french quarter and back is not recommended however, I did it a few times and never really felt insecure in the slightest, even as a female travelling with another female.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and everything was described to us including recommendations as to where to dine on our first evening in New Orleans.

The Groom's room was comfortable and spacious with all amenities we required in the shared bathroom. Fabulous claw footed bathtub and shower ( although curtains in the shower were a little long). Also the 10 foot pocket door to our room was a little sticky- nothing we coudn't deal with considering the home is 165 years old!

Randy and Glen were the most hospitable of hosts who invited us to join the Birthday Party of a special little 2 year old with whom they were acquainted. What a great party! The food was exceptional, the company interesting, engaging and fun. We were treated like family and really felt it.

If we were to return to NO, we would definitely stay here again. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at the HH Whitney. Steven was such a great host. We had the house to ourselves but it was so warm and comfortable that it felt like home. The house is gorgeous. Steven gave us some great suggestions for places to see and to eat. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The first time we visited New Orleans, it was about 20 months after Katrina...and hurricane Gustav had just blown through as well. The HH Whitney still had the ubiquitous spray painted orange "X" painted on the wall of the front patio which indicated it had been checked out and verified as evacuated after Katrina. Windows had plywood sheets nailed to them from Gustav, and all the palm trees out back were truncated or missing altogether. When deciding on vacation plans, we wanted to support New Orleans in it's financial recovery after the hurricane, and decided the HH Whitney was the place to stay. We've never had a single regret. Since that first visit, we have been back two more times, and most recently in December 2010 with our 21 year old son accompanying us. Glen and Randy, the proprietors of the HH Whitney welcomed us once again, as warmly as if we were family members...which we kind of think we are by now! The HHW's spacious, funky, cluttered kitchen was often the impromptu site for a glass of cognac or a martini with other guests as well as friends of HH Whitney who might stop by. We've stayed in both the "Garden Room" and the "Solarium Suite" and enjoyed them both tremendously. Our son stayed in the "Groom's Room" and felt like royalty. Of course the house is almost 150 years old and has its idiosyncrasies, but we don't stay there looking for rooms full of modern amenities, we go for the New Orleans ambiance, and the HH Whitney oozes ambiance! The home itself is an old world charmer, full of stuffed armchairs, chandeliers, tall draped windows, vases stuffed with flowers and gilded frame pictures. As traffic rushes by on the Historic Esplanade, you can settle into the parlor with a nice book, a glass of wine and just drift away to another era...or better yet, sit outside on a porch swing and enjoy the birds and flowers that are abundant during fall and winter months. The neighborhood is still struggling with the hurricane aftermath, but each time we return, we've seen more improvements, more homes restored, and happily, all of the wonderful greenery revived in front yards and on the "neutral" which is the median that runs down the center of the Esplanade. When in New Orleans, we walk everywhere from the HH Whitney, and have never encountered anything that would make us uneasy...but then, we love the people and the spirit of New Orleans and have completely embraced this wonderful town. I don't hesitate to recommend the HH Whitney and the hospitality of Glen and Randy to anyone I know that plans a visit to New Orleans. We will be returning there ourselves as often as we can. "Laissez les bon temps rouler!"

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We just wrapped up our our Christmas holiday trip to New Orleans, and our third stay at the wonderful HH Whitney House. There is no place we would rather stay in the city. Here's why:

Location -- There are lots of great neighborhoods in this great city, but we love the HH Whitney's location on historic Esplanade. It's within walking distance of both the French Quarter and City Park. We love walking in New Orleans because it gives you a close-up view of the great architecture (that's not to say catching a trolley ride or the ferry over to Algiers are not worth it -- they are). Esplanade features some marvelously restored homes, as well as some old structures that are still in need of rehab. We feel we get a taste of the real city here rather than in some of the more carefully manicured areas.

The HH Whitney House -- The house itself is a grand old structure that has been lovingly restored. You can see the rooms well enough on their website, but you don't get the full effect of the interior decor until you walk into their parlor. It's like walking into some sort of antebellum dream. After Katrina, they even hired a color consultant to guide them in the repainting, and the choices are stunning!

The inkeepers -- Glen and Randy are top-notch hosts. On our first visit we felt immediately like members of an extended family, rather than just guests. It's the best feeling you can have at a B&B. Glen's breakfasts are to die for (and one of the reasons we need to walk a lot!). He's always on hand to provide easy directions or make stellar recommendations. Last visit we were fortunate to join them and some friends for Christmas dinner. Gotta tip my hat to Randy -- he's a marvelous chef. Still need that oyster dressing recipe!

Those of us who love the B&B experience look for a fun and funky experience -- something more authentic than you get in a regular hotel. We know for some people only a Day's Inn will do, but if you are like us, and look for a real taste of New Orleans when you visit, we suggest you consider the HH Whitney House. It's the recommendation we make for our friends and family. It's a great place to stay in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Address: 1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.