We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Save Saved
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Treme - Lafitte)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #13 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went with a large group of family and this was the perfect place for us! Great food, spacious quarters, and within walking distance of the market, bourbon street, louis armstrong park, and so much more. very quiet neighborhood! each cottage was beautiful! can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. Until then, Cheers! Amy and the Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
215
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wanted something a bit different for a business trip and found this B&B on Trip Advisor. It's located right next to Louis Armstrong Park on the line between Treme and the French Quarter. I stayed in Trombone Shorty which was a bit dark (no windows except for those in the door) with a teeny-tiny bathroom. But it was comfortable and the charm made up for any downsides. The breakfast was fantastic and really unique. They alternate between sweet and savory and I was bowled over by the apple bread pudding with praline/bacon sauce! Service was good -- thanks Charlie! Easy to walk into the French Quarter and there's free music in the park next door in the evenings on weekends (at least when I was there).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love that we put the B in Bed and Breakfast! Our team has been working to change the menu seasonally and we agree the fall apple bread pudding was amazing! Charlie says hi. Cheers Amy and the Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a really delightful B&B just outside of the French Quarter. We loved our stay here. Brenna, Charlie, and the rest of the crew go out of their ways to provide information, tips, help wherever they can. We loved being with them. And the food! OMG!! Truly amazing breakfast cuisine. The owner also owns a cooking school, so that indicates the level of delights. Wow. Do plan on a hearty breakfast here every morning. From the outside, it looks like nothing, but inside, it is several brightly painted buildings housing lovely rooms. The fountain room is fantastic - quiet, great sleeping, a huge comfy bed with sitting room. We were lots of people staying in several different suites. We stayed in the Music Hall, which houses 4 couples. This is the reason this review is a 4 and not a 5. The layout of the Music Hall is wacky and somewhat awkward. There are two big, comfy rooms with big beds. To get to those rooms, you must walk through a MUCH smaller room with a double bed. But wait, there's more. The bathroom is located in the double room bedrooms. So, it's cozy! And a bonding experience!! Well, it was for us, anyway. We didn't get that from the description on the Web site, nor were we told how... um... unique the layout was when we reserved. The other room, the Marsalis, sleeps two couples. Nice, big rooms with the bathroom and kitchen between the two. Each bedroom has its own entrance. The bathroom has a big tub with a handheld shower head, which is also a little bizarre. This room we can't recommend, because it is right at the entrance where other guests kept our friends awake into the wee hours with coming and going, banging of the front gate, and loud talking. It's on the if-y side of the French Quarter. Our local cousins winced when we said we were walking to and from constantly. But we had absolutely no problems. There is a large courtyard that is also lovely. Overall, a really fantastic place. Choose your room carefully, and you'll give it a 5!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review. We appreciate your comments and are constantly striving to provide great service and rooms for our guests. Some of our buildings are almost 200 years old, so they can be a bit whacky :) The shotgun style architecture in New Orleans can be unique for those who are not familiar with it, thanks for reminding us. We made certain to update our website with photos that show the layout of the room so guest can get an idea of what it looks like. We hope you return and visit us again. Cheers- Amy and the Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jazz Quarters in for our first anniversary. We had never stayed at a B&B before but we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Jazz Quarters Inn. We had also never been to NOLA prior, so I relied heavily on Trip Advisor in finding a place to stay and this time TA didn't let us down. The B&B was in the perfect location (it's close enough to the quarter to walk but far enough away to not hear the hustle and bustle in the evening). The cottages are behind a gate and there is even a safe place to park your car (which is rare in Nola). We felt comfortable walking back and forth both at night and day and for the price of being this close to the quarter you really can't beat it!

Breakfast was delicious every morning and was served early enough for us to eat and then be on our way for the remainder of the day. The hosts were very hospitable, always checking to see if they could get you anything or help you with anything (I work in the hospitality industry and this is rare). We stayed in the Mayfield Room which had both a living room area and bed room (the two rooms made you feel like you had a lot more room compared to a hotel room which was nice, however, we didn't spend too much time at the B&B).

If we're lucky enough to come back to Nola we will be returning to the Jazz Quarters for our stay. I would recommend to anyone looking for accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing the Jazz Quarters for your first trip to New Orleans, and particularly to celebrate your anniversary! As our backgrounds are in hospitality it is great to hear the opinions of someone in the industry. We hope you will return soon to New Orleans and the Jazz Quarters.

The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

As my title suggests, the location of this B&B collection of individual cottages, behind a steel gate for a reason, just inside the Treme District, is a very good launch point into the most interesting/odd blocks of the French Quarter. The Jazz Quarters' location across the street from Louis Armstrong Park makes for a great daytime stroll into the park, but resulted in a different homeless individual sleeping against the fence directly across the street each night. Once I got used to the posture, I recognized that said person was less menacing than coked-out. Once I understood the flavor of the neighborhood and looked confident and aware, I had no problem on foot or on a bicycle. Awareness is everything. If you have it, there will be no problems. If you're absorbed in a small screen in your left hand, that's another matter altogether.

I stayed in the Pete Fountain Suite, which was about the size of a normal hotel room divided into a sitting room with a flat-screen TV with a couch/day bed, chair, coffee table, and a two-door TV stand that provided a necessary storage spot for my electronics. The bedroom portion contained a bed, a small desk, and an armoire for closet space.

The living space was classy, the antique furntire was uncommonly comfortable, and the poster bed mattress and pillows were primo for a good night's sleep. Wear socks or try an experiment: don't wear socks between evening activities and bedtime. Get your feet wet in the shower, and then step on the pristine-white bath mat. You will leave a black footprint. I know nothing about the care of hardwood floors, but apparently only a once-a year buffing might the only thing that will make them other than what they are and always have been. Yikes.

The depicted gardens are small and beautiful. Depending on the weather, you can opt for breakfast outside or inside the inkeeper's dining room space with staff Charlie and Brynna. You won't meet the owners. Daily breakfast alternates between sweet and savory for the second course. Each breakfast begins with a cous-cous sweetened by fruits and nuts. One day will bring you a delicious sweetbread-pudding muffin with luscoius sweet potato, maple syrup, and real bacon bits. It's imported rather than homemade, but it tastes good. Alternate days will bring you grits topped with medium-sized shrimp.

Bottom line: In my opinion, the location of the Jazz Quarters is sketchy. If you are looking for an adventure close to the grittiest part of the French Quarter, which was my wish, this is the best place for you to launch from. If you're looking to be pampered via auto travel to restaurants and environs outside of the adventurous parts of town and more toward the mansions of the Garden District, by all means look there instead.

Whether or not you specifically choose the gritty NOLA experience as I did, I have to put in a plug for the wonderful American Bicycle Rental Company and its related Free Wheelin' Bicycle Tours, which turned out be the highlights of my stay in New Orleans. I'd advise taking all three of their bike tours if you are open to the perfect experience of sight, sound, smell, and taste of your surroundings. If you stay at the Jazz Quarters and want to knock around the French Quarter, rent a bicycle to see and taste your surroundings.

Room Tip: First time. The Pete Fountain Cottage is great for a couple, and do-able for a family with one or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Guest Relations Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are so correct - awareness is always key in any city. Thank you for staying with us.

The Jazz Quarters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Halloween weekend with another couple. Quaint rooms, good location, showers were great with good water pressure (this is a big deal to me). The hosts we very accommodating and the breakfasts were amazing! We stayed in The Music Hall, had our own patio, and the only room where breakfast was set up for the four of us on our patio every morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Now that you have discovered New Orleans we hope you will return soon.

The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay with some great Nawlins character and incredible breakfast you have found the right place. Just a couple of blocks outside all the hustle of the French Quarter, Jazz Quarters is a perfect location with different accommodations for a couple or a group. Piece and quiet at night but close enough to all the action to be into the action in a few minutes. If you don't know where to go to eat, or for some not so touristy fun just ask Charlie. He didn't steer us wrong once. On your walk into the French Quarter take St Phillip and stop on the corner of Bourbon at Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop for the BEST Hurricane's in town...get one on the way back too!

Room Tip: If you have a group of friends the Music Room is perfect. Plenty of room for everyone. The patio o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Guest Relations Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. You have great taste----Lafitte's definitely has one of the very best hurricanes. We agree ---Charlie is our fountain of info---especially when it comes to food and fun. He won't brag about himself, but we can---he's a great cook too. He makes most of the breakfasts. So glad you enjoyed them.
Hope you will come back and visit us soon.
The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. We are the perfect venue for private weddings, receptions or groups for up to 200 people. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.