We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 1st Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #13 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful 1st Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jazz Quarters in for our first anniversary. We had never stayed at a B&B before but we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Jazz Quarters Inn. We had also never been to NOLA prior, so I relied heavily on Trip Advisor in finding a place to stay and this time TA didn't let us down. The B&B was in the perfect location (it's close enough to the quarter to walk but far enough away to not hear the hustle and bustle in the evening). The cottages are behind a gate and there is even a safe place to park your car (which is rare in Nola). We felt comfortable walking back and forth both at night and day and for the price of being this close to the quarter you really can't beat it!

Breakfast was delicious every morning and was served early enough for us to eat and then be on our way for the remainder of the day. The hosts were very hospitable, always checking to see if they could get you anything or help you with anything (I work in the hospitality industry and this is rare). We stayed in the Mayfield Room which had both a living room area and bed room (the two rooms made you feel like you had a lot more room compared to a hotel room which was nice, however, we didn't spend too much time at the B&B).

If we're lucky enough to come back to Nola we will be returning to the Jazz Quarters for our stay. I would recommend to anyone looking for accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing the Jazz Quarters for your first trip to New Orleans, and particularly to celebrate your anniversary! As our backgrounds are in hospitality it is great to hear the opinions of someone in the industry. We hope you will return soon to New Orleans and the Jazz Quarters.

The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
220
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

As my title suggests, the location of this B&B collection of individual cottages, behind a steel gate for a reason, just inside the Treme District, is a very good launch point into the most interesting/odd blocks of the French Quarter. The Jazz Quarters' location across the street from Louis Armstrong Park makes for a great daytime stroll into the park, but resulted in a different homeless individual sleeping against the fence directly across the street each night. Once I got used to the posture, I recognized that said person was less menacing than coked-out. Once I understood the flavor of the neighborhood and looked confident and aware, I had no problem on foot or on a bicycle. Awareness is everything. If you have it, there will be no problems. If you're absorbed in a small screen in your left hand, that's another matter altogether.

I stayed in the Pete Fountain Suite, which was about the size of a normal hotel room divided into a sitting room with a flat-screen TV with a couch/day bed, chair, coffee table, and a two-door TV stand that provided a necessary storage spot for my electronics. The bedroom portion contained a bed, a small desk, and an armoire for closet space.

The living space was classy, the antique furntire was uncommonly comfortable, and the poster bed mattress and pillows were primo for a good night's sleep. Wear socks or try an experiment: don't wear socks between evening activities and bedtime. Get your feet wet in the shower, and then step on the pristine-white bath mat. You will leave a black footprint. I know nothing about the care of hardwood floors, but apparently only a once-a year buffing might the only thing that will make them other than what they are and always have been. Yikes.

The depicted gardens are small and beautiful. Depending on the weather, you can opt for breakfast outside or inside the inkeeper's dining room space with staff Charlie and Brynna. You won't meet the owners. Daily breakfast alternates between sweet and savory for the second course. Each breakfast begins with a cous-cous sweetened by fruits and nuts. One day will bring you a delicious sweetbread-pudding muffin with luscoius sweet potato, maple syrup, and real bacon bits. It's imported rather than homemade, but it tastes good. Alternate days will bring you grits topped with medium-sized shrimp.

Bottom line: In my opinion, the location of the Jazz Quarters is sketchy. If you are looking for an adventure close to the grittiest part of the French Quarter, which was my wish, this is the best place for you to launch from. If you're looking to be pampered via auto travel to restaurants and environs outside of the adventurous parts of town and more toward the mansions of the Garden District, by all means look there instead.

Whether or not you specifically choose the gritty NOLA experience as I did, I have to put in a plug for the wonderful American Bicycle Rental Company and its related Free Wheelin' Bicycle Tours, which turned out be the highlights of my stay in New Orleans. I'd advise taking all three of their bike tours if you are open to the perfect experience of sight, sound, smell, and taste of your surroundings. If you stay at the Jazz Quarters and want to knock around the French Quarter, rent a bicycle to see and taste your surroundings.

Room Tip: First time. The Pete Fountain Cottage is great for a couple, and do-able for a family with one or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Guest Relations Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are so correct - awareness is always key in any city. Thank you for staying with us.

The Jazz Quarters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Halloween weekend with another couple. Quaint rooms, good location, showers were great with good water pressure (this is a big deal to me). The hosts we very accommodating and the breakfasts were amazing! We stayed in The Music Hall, had our own patio, and the only room where breakfast was set up for the four of us on our patio every morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Now that you have discovered New Orleans we hope you will return soon.

The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay with some great Nawlins character and incredible breakfast you have found the right place. Just a couple of blocks outside all the hustle of the French Quarter, Jazz Quarters is a perfect location with different accommodations for a couple or a group. Piece and quiet at night but close enough to all the action to be into the action in a few minutes. If you don't know where to go to eat, or for some not so touristy fun just ask Charlie. He didn't steer us wrong once. On your walk into the French Quarter take St Phillip and stop on the corner of Bourbon at Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop for the BEST Hurricane's in town...get one on the way back too!

Room Tip: If you have a group of friends the Music Room is perfect. Plenty of room for everyone. The patio o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Guest Relations Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. You have great taste----Lafitte's definitely has one of the very best hurricanes. We agree ---Charlie is our fountain of info---especially when it comes to food and fun. He won't brag about himself, but we can---he's a great cook too. He makes most of the breakfasts. So glad you enjoyed them.
Hope you will come back and visit us soon.
The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a few days here as part of our honeymoon trip. We stayed in the Fountain Room which was very comfortable although the bathroom was a little small. The hotel is one street away form the French Wuarter and right next door to Louis Armstrong park and was perfectly located for exploring the city. The B&B also has the benefit of not being slap bang in the French Quarter which can get quite noisy, especially Thursday-Sunday nights! The breakfasts consisted of traditional New Orleans fare and tasted great, however, some of the dishes we found to be a little too heavy going for breakfast - shrimp in hot sauce for example - delicious but possibly not at 8.30am.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our property and breakfast. We like to make sure that our guests get a good hearty breakfast as they start a busy day visiting the city. We hope you enjoyed our daily lighter fare too- breakfast cous cous and yogurt. Visit again soon! Cheers- Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the Mayfield room for a week in mid October of 2013 and loved the place. The staff was very friendly and helpfull with great recommendations and advice. Right on the fringe of the French Quarter so most everything was within walking distance. The breakfast was small but just right with a new dish each morning. The garden area was very nice and a great place for sharing a bottle of wine and relaxing after a long day of walking. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Mayfield room was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Bob M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate you comments.

The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

11 of us had a birthday celebration for our mother in New Orleans and The Jazz Quarters was a terrific spot to stay. The rooms were comfortable, although Shorty did have a small bathroom. We had 1 large cottage, The Music Hall (4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a large common area), and 3 other separate rooms (Mayfield, Shorty, and Kermit). The Music Hall has a large patio that enabled all of us to share breakfasts together and plan the day and enjoy time together during the afternoons and evenings.

The B&B is within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, Jackson Square, Frenchman Ave. Bike rentals are close by and it's next to Armstrong Park.

Charlie is welcoming with lots of information and a glass of wine upon arrival. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I read some of your other reviews and feel very fortunate to be included among your favorites. We really enjoyed having you with us! Charlie, Sam and I agree that your entire crew was just wonderful, and you were a treat to have as guests! I hope that your travels will one day bring you back to New Orleans, and that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Lisa and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. We are the perfect venue for private weddings, receptions or groups for up to 200 people. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.