We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Save Saved
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent 2 nites here before a cruise
Never been to NOLA and wanted a quaint B&B and very happy with our Shorty Trombone room. Charlie the host was so informative, helpful and knowledgeable of area, restaurants and history,,not to mention a terrific chef. The B&B is just far enough outside the French Qrt for quietness but an easy walk. Cant go wrong if you stay here.
Just made their coucous recipe,,delish

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Yay! We are glad you're enjoying our cous cous at home. Thanks for the review and visit us again soon. Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
214
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we loved being in the heart of town, able to walk everywhere very easily. Charlie was a terrific host and made so many excellent recommendations, that we just followed them all in the end. The breakfast was lovely with local influences. Room was high quality, although we did experience some noise at night from locals hanging out. if you want absolute quiet, pick a room away from the road. The whole group of houses is very secure with locked area for cars which is a real bonus.
we would all definitely go again!!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road will be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon so we can treat you to a few more local favorites at breakfast.
The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend recently, and had a great stay. We were in the Mayfield suite, and as promised, it is definitely romantic :). The people running the Jazz Quarters were awesome - so friendly and helpful! Plus breakfast every morning was delicious. Very gourmet! I also appreciated that they went out of their way to accomodate my food preferences, as I do not eat meat. This B&B is in a great location - easy walking distance to everything, and we never felt unsafe coming back late at night. The whole compound feels very secure, behind a tall gated fence.

My only 2 issues were (1) the mattress was very hard - but this is a personal preference, and (2) the bathroom was a step down from the rest of the room, which could be dangerous if you got up to use the restroom at night. Minor qualms though. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Mayfield suite is just gorgeous, and it is very private! (as long as you don't mind the step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Erin,

Thank you very much for your gracious review of the Jazz Quarters. We are thrilled to learn you would stay with us again. I am very sorry about the step down to the bathroom in the Mayfield. These old buildings are not always designed by our standards of safety. However, we will be doing a renovation of that building, hopefully this summer, and will level the bathroom with the rest of the suite at that time.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Lisa and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Agree with all the positive reviews, but noise is a factor in the front cottages. In mid March in the Armstrong room I had one quite awful night - drug dealing, pimps and prostitutes, cars coming and going for several hours, banging on the gate. Impossible to sleep and rather frightening.

Room Tip: Noise is a factor in the front cottages. In mid March in the Armstrong room I had one quite awful n...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Amber,

We were extremely distressed to learn of the problems you experienced with noise during your stay in the Marsalis suite. We have contactred the police and they have promised us frequent drive-by's in case this problem persists. Again, our apologies that this interfered with your enjoyment and hope your visit was enjoyable in all other aspects.

Best regards,
Rick and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Best find for a B&B on the cusp of the French Quarter! Comprised of a couple individual living quarters with a garden courtyard in the middle. We stayed in the Fountain suite which had a bedroom, front living room, and a bathroom. The suite had everything we needed and was beautiful!

The gracious hosts, Vincent and Lola, are a joy and very informative to the area. Every morning we had a different breakfast that was unique to the area and was a great start to our day! We had some odd arrival and departure times, and they were very accommodating in holding bags until our rooms were ready or we were ready to head to the airport.

After walking around the great city of NOLA, it was amazing to sit in the courtyard with a glass of wine and relax before we hit Frenchman street for some local music!

I will recommend this place every time anyone is looking for lodging in NOLA! And if we are lucky enough to make it back there, I won't need to shop around for a place to stay!!

Thanks again for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Wow--you made our day! Thanks so much for staying with us and for your great review! Sipping wine in the beautiful courtyard is one of our favorite things to do too. We hope you will get back to visit again soon. Have a great summer, The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great place for 4 couples had two suites. The suites were gracious, well furnished with antiques, modern bathrooms, very clean. The building was very safe, and the grounds had nice gardens, outdoor furniture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you return. We are working on some upgrades to the property again this summer that we know your group will enjoy. Thank you for the review.
The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

While this B&B is just a block off the identified French Qtr, it is close to everything and an easy walk through the quarter to wherever you want to be. We had the Connick room and were pleased with the spaciousness - with two separate bedrooms (connected by a shared bathroom). Almost daily we took a break to sit at the bistro table in the gardens, enjoying the fountain, the shade, and a bottle of wine with some snacks. The heart and soul of the New Orleans Jazz Quarters are the hosts Vincent and Lola and all the other people who work on site - they really made the stay pleasant and were always attentive to your needs, remembering how you like your coffee in the morning or other details. The people who work there are really wonderful and they deserve a lot of credit for the success of this B&B.

Room Tip: Personally I wouldn't want a room near the front gate, as it bangs loudly unless the people comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! It was a pleasure to have you as a guest on the property. Please visit us again soon. Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Louis Armstrong National Historic Jazz Park. Three blocks from Bourbon Street, are the Garlands wonderfully restored Creole cottages. Dating from 1809-1820 these cottages were home to many families involved in the original Jazz movement in New Orleans. "Oh honey if them walls could talk!" Quote from a very old neighbor who played the piano at early neighborhood jazz clubs. Come behind the walls and experience the soul of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;