We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #13 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A hidden oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! We stayed 4 nights in the Fountain Cottage and this B&B exceeded our expectations. The hosts, Lola and Vincent were fantastic – very accommodating yet unobtrusive. Prior to arriving I received an email with all the information I needed to be able to access the cottage after hours. We did not expect and were very pleased with the ‘orientation’ we received from Vincent on the area – where to go and where not to wander, maps, restaurant recommendations, etc. The breakfasts and overall service were excellent. There was a small issue (strange odor in the cottage) but this was rectified within an hour. The location was perfect as we could walk to everywhere in the French Quarter, yet we were away from the noisy crowds. If we were to return, we wouldn’t stay anywhere else.
Joanne & Jim

Room Tip: For 2 people, the Fountain cottage was perfect. We liked the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi J & J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Jazz Quarters on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed our fair city.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
222
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed six-nights at the Jazz Quarters, which provided safe, comfortable, and secure refuge from (and a quick easy, walk to) the bacchanal of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. Each breakfasts was delicious and the personal yet unintrusive attention of inn keepers Lola and Vincent was appreciated. (Be sure to follow their advice for drinking, dining, neighborhood forays, and NOLA outings. The small staff was courteous and efficient. Be sure to visit the nearby Backstreet Museum and allow Sylvester to give you his informative tour.
Bottom Line: We will stay here next time we visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in and recommend the Kermit 'quarters', it is situated at the center of the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi M and B,

Greetings from sunny New Orleans.
Lola and I are glad you had a good time with us.

We hope to see you two again.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at The Jazz Quarters a few weeks ago for 3 nights.On arrival we were greeted by Vincent and invited to sit and share a glass of wine. Vincent was well prepared to give us advice on how to enjoy our stay in New Orleans. His maps of the various neighborhoods proved to be very helpful since great bars, restaurants and sights were indicated on each map. Lola and Brina also shared great tips to enhance our stay.
We enjoyed the Armstrong room which proved to be spacious, immaculate, private and comfortable.
The breakfast served each day was delicious and plentiful. Conversation flowed easily with fellow travelers because our hosts encouraged conversaion by engaging each person athe table.
The location was perfect for us. We were able to walk to most places we wanted to visit. Cabs were readily available nearby or with a call from our hosts.
All of the above mentioned were the obvious amenities of the Jazz Quarters. It was the attention to detail that made our stay exceptional. Delightfully scented towels, filtered water in the fridge, visually pleasing decor, free parking come to mind.
We are already discussing a return trip to NOLA.The Jazz Quarters will be our choice for our home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Lynne,


Many thanks for the flattering review.
We hope you and Edward will come see us again if you find yourself down South.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

. Lola and Vincent are the most attentive, caring and knowledgeable hosts that our group have ever come in contact with.. We are a group of five woman who travel together, all with different tastes and interests.we have had the pleasure of many vacations to equally as many bed and breakfasts But none can compare with the jazz quarters. Our hosts were fantastic... We were given extensive information about the city, recommendations about events, places with superb food, how to travel within and beyond the city, they acted as concierge ... On and on.. Do not miss this place, they show the ultimate in hospitality.. Thank you and thank you again Lola and Vincent for your caring attitude ,warmth and charm . Not to forget the fabulous breakfasts. We will be back.. Warm regards. Kathryn ,Karen, Beverly,Angela and Vicki.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you, ladies, for this generous review.
Lola and I truly had a blast with the five of you.
Now there's a breakfast none of us is going to forget any time soon : )

Thanks again for being your wonderful, vivacious selves.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This bed and breakfast exceeded all expectations. From greeting us on street, to waving good-bye at departure, everything was memorable. The location was perfect-easy walking distance to all attractions. Lola and Vincent gave the best insider recommendations for entertainment. The rooms are all one of a kind. Breakfast? Gourmet!!!! My husband became ill on trip and with their help we went to Urgent Care which was a good decision. I'd go back to New Orleans just to stay at Jazz Quarters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, General Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Many thanks for thinking about us and writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad there wasn't anything wrong with your husband.
But it is always better to be safe than sorry.

We hope to see y'all again.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lola and Vincent are the perfect hosts. Always available when you need them with up to the minute smart advice on all things New Orleans: out of the way music venues, restaurants, parades, where to go and where not to go and when. They cook delicious breakfasts and are unfailingly cheerful and interesting. The grounds of the B&B with its gardens and boardwalks between individual cottages makes the whole place feel like you're in your own small town. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We had a great time as a couple but it would be terrific for families, business, friends or solo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks, V, for your kind words.
When you and R are back in town, we'd love to have a cocktail with you.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This bed & breakfast was an amazing place to stay in New Orleans! The innkeepers (Vincent & Lola) were so friendly and hospitable. They gave us awesome recommendations on places to eat, things to do, and where to go. They have great insight for navigating away from the tourist traps and getting a more authentic feel for New Orleans. Also can't forget - the breakfast here is AMAZING! The property was very well maintained with clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi Matt and Stephanie,

Lola and I greatly enjoyed your company.
You were wonderful guests and we hope only good things will come your way over there in the City of Angles.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. We are the perfect venue for private weddings, receptions or groups for up to 200 people. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.