We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ending to a great cruise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #13 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Anita
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ending to a great cruise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had just finished a transatlantic cruise and spent a couple of nights at the Jazz Quarters. Lola and Vincent were most accommodating. They spent time with us at check in with advice on sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. The facilities were perfect. Breakfasts were superb. We would highly recommend this stay pre or post cruise or for any stay in New Orlens. We hope to return soon!

Jeff and Wanda Buer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Wanda and Jeff,

Lola and I had a great time hanging out with your merry quartet..
If, on your next cruise, New Orleans will be a port of call, please come see us.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
219
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My parents stayed here for a few days the week before Thanksgiving and had the best of times. They told me the place was very nice, quiet and with everything they needed. I have to add that the innkeeper was most gracious at letting me know that my parents arrived safely and offering to call her for anything I needed after I explained that may parents are not fluent in English (they are Italians).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks, Stefi, for the review.

Even though neither Lola nor I speak Italian, since your parents are quite fluent in French, we managed to have some very fun conversations.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Jazz Quarters. I booked this property based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. Great location near the French Quarter, the 2-bedroom cottage was perfect and very spacious. Lola and Vincent are great hosts and it was very enjoyable to get to know them and I will definitely stay in touch. I have stayed at many different hotels in the French Quarter area, and in the future I will choose the B&B experience at Jazz Quarters. I hope to stay there very soon, I am already missing New Orleans!

Room Tip: Take your walking shoes, there is no reason to take a cab to the heart of the French Quarter. I real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you G, for your positive words.
Please give our regards to T. and H.

Kind regards,

Vincent and Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Because we do.

My partner Frances and I had an amazing 7 days in New Orleans - in fact amazing doesn't really even cover it, but no words really would. New Orleans is a place that crawled into our heart and soul and a huge part of what made our time here so special was The Jazz Quarters and its amazing innkeepers.

Vincent and Lola could have not been any more wonderful - they made us feel so incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived, and made our week there an absolute joy. They were the perfect hosts and seemed to know exactly what each of their guests needed, offering something that is very rare in this day and age - tailored service. There was nothing fake or forced in the warm, yet professional way they interacted with people and the recommendations they gave for restaurants and music clubs and different areas of the city were absolutely spot-on. The relief innkeepers, Brynna and Charley, were also a delight.

Now I should mention the food. What a treat to wake up every morning and stuff ourselves full of delicious couscous, coffee and orange juice followed by a hot, delicious New Orleans entree. My favourite would have to be the Haitian Bread Pudding with Praline Bacon sauce, though it has stiff competition from every other meal we had (bananas foster french toast, crepes suzette, bbq shrimp crepes, boudin quiche etc etc, my mouth is watering just thinking about it!) And of course they were completely accommodating with the dietary needs of all their guests, providing options for those who were vegetarian and those who wanted to keep their fat content low (hint: not me!)

Our room, the Connick, was absolutely perfect. It felt like a home away from home and a wonderful place to retreat to after a day of walking and eating and sightseeing and eating and some more eating.

The location of the B and B could not be any more convenient. Steps away from Louis Armstrong Park and we were lucky enough to be there the weekend of the fantastic Treme Gumbo festival with some of the best live music I have heard in a long time (and more delicious food of course.) It is also just across the road from the French Quarter and very close to the Backstreet Cultural Museum and St Augustine Church - two wonderful landmarks in the Treme neighbourhood which I heartily recommend to anyone who is interested in the rich culture and history of New Orleans.

It was really hard for us to leave at the end of the week. We feel like we made two amazing friends in Vincent and Lola and can't wait to return 'home' to the Jazz Quarters when we are lucky enough to come back to the city of our hearts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
What a wonderful and beautifully written review!
Thanks, Yvette.
We really hope Frances and you will decide to relocate to New Orleans.

All the best,

Vincent and Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Most B&B's in New Orleans have nice rooms, a few have cooked gourmet breakfasts, fewer yet have secure off-street parking, and few have location convenient to all the city has to offer. The New Orleans Jazz Quarter has wonderful innovative food lovingly prepared by the Inn Keepers Vincent and Lola accompanied by good conversation and wonderful tips on what to see and do.(The Bananas Foster French Toast is awesome!) The gated secure parking is a wonderful touch if you are arriving by automobile. As is the peaceful fountained courtyard--great spot to have a glass of wine and unwind after a day in the French Quarter.( a half block away). The rooms are spacious and furnished with antiques ( well, some of them are labeled faux antiques but no matter). In short this is a gem...like few others in the city and does have it all. We recently completed a three night stay and loved it. Agree with the West Oz reviewers that the Mayfair room is a pleasant oasis from the bustle that is New Orleans.

Room Tip: All good....various size from one to three bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks, G and J for the nice and very-well written review.
Now that you have had a taste of the my favorite city in the whole world, perhaps y'all can come back and see us again.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've stayed in hotels on our previuos visits and always had good luck. Since this was a longer trip we decided to try a B&B. The innkeepers were fabulous! Really made the experience. Breakfast were great and not things I would make at home (Haitian bread pudding) which made it special. Loved the kitties on the premises and the cute little garden courtyard. Afraid to say how much we enjoyed it because I am afraid it will be hard to get a reservation next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Many thanks, J, T, L and B, for staying with us and for your positive feed-back.
But most of all, thank you for your phenomenal generosity and kindness.
We will keep you updated on the progress via email.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, west oz
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a 'far too short' visit to New Orleans and were lucky enough to stay at this lovely B&B with a difference! Vince & Lola, were wonderful innkeepers who cooked a beautiful breakfast every morning & offered some great tips on how to enjoy the magical city of New Orleans, which they obviously love! We borrowed the bikes from the Jazz Quarters & had two lovely days cycling all over, from the Bywater to the Garden District & loved every minute! We stayed in the Mayfield house, which is quite private & a nice place to come back to every night. No complaints, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you, A and T, for the encouraging words.
i am glad the Jazz Quarters is so popular with folks from Down Under as Aussies never fail to be a jolly and fun bunch.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. We are the perfect venue for private weddings, receptions or groups for up to 200 people. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.