We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Save Saved
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Norwalk, IA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were the guests of the Jazz Quarters on Nov 17 and 18. When we arrived at the B&B, we were greeted by Vincent and Lola. They were our hosts for two wonderful days. The first thing they did was to set us down with a glass of wine or soft drink and go over what we wanted to do for the next two days. They offered suggestions and recommended some possible sight seeing options.
They gave each of us a half sheet of paper with important info; phone numbers, addresses, cell numbers and anything else they felt we would or could possibly need.
The accomodations were great, clean, quiet, comfortable and impecably clean. The breakfasts were gourmet but not over the top, just very, very tasty.
Vincent and Lola both bent over backward to meet our every wish. As an example, we decided we wanted to do a 'plantation tour'. Vincent made several calls for us, lined up the tours, the transportation and return all according to our travel time-frame. I highly recommend the Jazz Quarters and would definately stay with them again.

Room Tip: The inn was gated, which was an additional security for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
My word, what a nice review.


Thank you, Ron.
I am glad that even though your stay was brief, your group had a good time in NOLA.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
211
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Jazz Quarters. I think one of the special things we liked, besides such a GREAT location to visit the French Quarter, is the breakfast. If you're expecting bacon, eggs, toast, coffee etc. this is not your place. Expect something you have NEVER eaten and expect it to be great. They will exceeed expectations.
The inclosed gated parking area is also great for folks like us that drive to N.O.

Room Tip: They have several room sizes with multiple baths etc. just ask the innkeeper, I think he really want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Mac1270, for the review and for coming back to stay with us. To Lola and me, there is no better compliment than a guests who returns to The Jazz Quarters. That you are a fellow Louisianan makes it even better.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first (and long-awaited) visit to New Orleans. I'd read so many rave reviews for the Jazz Quarters (and as a jazz maven, just the name was a positive sign) that I had to check it out myself. It's right where you want to be, walking distance from the good stuff. And the the amazing (and totally hip) innkeepers, Vincent and Lola, know where the good stuff is; trust them if your idea of a New Orleans trip is to go where the locals go for music (ask them about Kermit Ruffins) and eating. My suite (Armstrong) was magnificent and spacious, but I could be happy in any of the accommodations. Last but anything but least, breakfasts. If you don't love breakfast at this place, you've got a hole in your soul. Breakfast couscous! Lola gave me a portion to take back to L.A. My wife flipped. Got the recipe and it'll be on our Thanksgiving table.
There's no other place to stay in NOLA. Period.
Will be back next year for our anniversary fo' sho'!
Laissez les bontemps rouler!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Chuck,

Lola and I still talk about your visit.
You were a fun, well-adjusted and very interesting guest.
Thanks for hanging out with us at Kermit's.

Next time, please bring Jane with you. Lola and I would love to meet her.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hats offf to Vincent & Lola. Somehow these inn keepers allow you to feel you have know each other your whole life. The comfort level is beyond compare. They take pride in their profession, and it shows in every aspect of the running of their B&B. You won't find any run of the mill egg bakes for breakfast, and they know you can't boil water in a microwave for tea drinkers! The breakfast areas encourage conversations, and the patio and gardens are extremely welcoming. The location was perfect and secure. We easily walked to everything in the French Quarter. There was parking available, which we did not need. Our room was impeccably clean, and I'm fussy about that. When I return to NOLA, I will not even look for another B&B. The sense of familiarity, security, and attention to detail has made Jazz Quarters where I choose to lay my hat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Linda, for your positive review.
We loved having you and Charles stay with us.

You are welcome here anytime.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a gorgeous courtyard property. The convenience of the location was excellent, the staff was gracious and welcoming and the breakfasts were to die for. The Jazz Quarters came highly recommended by a close friend and they exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Gary and Anna, for your review.

When the Wisconsin winter drives the thermometer way down, you have a good excuse to come to New Orleans again and enjoy our balmy winter.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This quaint, secluded, secure B&B just steps from all the French Quarter action was more than worth our trip to New Orleans. The inn keepers are passionate about what they do & about New Orleans but with a relaxed, unhurried , southern charm. Sharing a bottle of good wine on the veranda in the evening was simply delightful.

In a city known for its food, the breakfasts @ Jazz Quarters are up there @ the top. Leave your skinny jeans @ home. We were there 6 nights--- I liked the crepes with a savory cream cheese filling & shrimp sauce the best. Husband liked the bread pudding the best. Had to get the couscous recipe. And had to buy a pound of the coffee/chicory blend they use to bring home. The physical set up for breakfast encourages conversations with other guests, which is what we hope for @ a B&B.

Secure parking within the property was comforting. Nearby laundry facility was a good thing. Although Vincent & Lola tried to reboot several times, WiFi was unreliable. A/C and heat worked well (we had to use both in November). Relatively quiet @ night.

Suggestion: perhaps they'd consider unscented laundry products as some people may be sensitive.

Thank you Vincent, Lola, and the rest of the staff for the personal attention you show with all your guests. God bless

Room Tip: The door out to the street should be shut carefully or it bangs, which could be disturbing @ night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Pepper49,

Your review title is one of the funniest I've read in while.
Thanks for the accolades for our breakfasts.

You are right, 'diet' is a four letter word here in NOLA. : )

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Jazz Quarters was perfect for our group of seven people. Being right next to Armstrong Park we were able to enjoy great food and music during the Creole Gumbo Festival. Lola and Vincent were fantastic hosts - they helped with directions, recommendations, made dinner reservations, made swamp tour reservations, bike rentals, etc. … not to mention the great food they served every morning. All the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a great time and will definitely be back to the Jazz Quarters again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks, JvilleGreg, for the positive review.
We enjoyed having your group stay with us.

Come on down South, and see us any time you like.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Louis Armstrong National Historic Jazz Park. Three blocks from Bourbon Street, are the Garlands wonderfully restored Creole cottages. Dating from 1809-1820 these cottages were home to many families involved in the original Jazz movement in New Orleans. "Oh honey if them walls could talk!" Quote from a very old neighbor who played the piano at early neighborhood jazz clubs. Come behind the walls and experience the soul of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.