We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible New Orleans Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Orleans Jazz Quarters to your Saves list
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #13 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible New Orleans Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our awesome friend found this place for us--we celebrate our birthdays together every few years. The place is secluded and on a quiet street, yet still just a few blocks from the French Quarter. Vincent and Lola and the entire staff were incredible! We stayed in the "Connick" cottage, which was set back at the rear of the property. Steps outside our door was the perfect porch swing to relax in. It's across the street from Armstrong Park and taxis always were parked just around the corner from the property. It's an oasis of quiet after a busy day of New Orleans adventures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
W are very happy, Lee, that the three of you had such a blast in New Orleans.
Thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
219
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Jazz Quarters is the perfect place to stay in New Orleans...located in a quiet neighborhood, but just steps from the French Quarter. Vincent and Lola were great hosts - very knowledgeable and helpful, but not intrusive. The Mayfield is a beautiful suite and located in a very quiet spot on the property. Breakfast was very good - a perfect southern breakfast. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, S and P.
If you decide to come down to the beautiful crescent again, try to stay a bit longer because there is so much to do and see in belle Nouvelle Orleans.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

For two old ladies traveling into "The Big Easy" and due to an unexpected storm, on the road, arrived after dark, Lola and Vincent were our saviors. We called to ask directions, after we became lost, and Vincent came from his sick bed to guide us block by block, by phone, then actually stood on a street corner to show us where to turn. Poor Vincent went back to his sickbed and Lola took over by helping us with our luggage. I have never felt so welcomed and cared for by any form of lodging. They served us supreme breakfasts and because we had tours booked early they had to get up early to fix our meals. They visited with us and told us things to see and how to get there. After three nights, when we had to leave, they insisted on Vincent leading us, in his car, to I10 where we continued with our journey. Hopefully someday we can return not just to NOLA but to the Jazz Quarters and Lola and Vincent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you, ladies, for the review and for the wonderful conversations we had during your stay.

It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I wish I could give 4.5 circles to this GREAT B&B! We will definitely be back and will recommend this find to all of our friends.

The Jazz Quarters is right at the edge of all of the sights, sounds, tastes and adventures you'll find in New Orleans. It's a short (10-15 min) walk to Cafe du Monde, Frenchman St, and many other attractions. Free parking is available in a secure lot on sight. This is a MAJOR bonus of the property.

The rooms are comfortably decorated - quirky / charming decor gets you into the New Orleans vibe. Many of the rooms are spacious; just check out the room you would prefer when you book as there is some variety in size, amenities, etc.

Breakfast is delicious. I would have liked some fruit or veggies to go along with the tasty offerings - but what was served was very good.

The owners are very generous, lively and have many wonderful recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area.

Check it out for yourself - Jazz Quarters will not disapoint you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on Tripadvisor.

Lola and I hope to see y'all again when you come visit our beautiful city.

kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to NO, and the "Jazz Quarters" is just 3 blocks from Bourbon Street in a quiet setting. A quick walk to all attractions but in a safe area. The innkeepers are wonderful and go above and beyond to make your stay great, from reservations to dinners, tours, information, wonderful breakfast, drinks and more! The rooms are wonderful and clean and it could not have been better! Being just 3 blocks from Bourbon is great and close to everything but away from the noise at night. Just at the street outside our door, is the bus stop if needed, and the bus and the street cars are easy to take to get back and forth to the Garden district and other areas. Be careful on the bus. We did get the wallet pick pocketed on the bus, but Vincent took care of everything for us and after an hour of stress, we were back vacationing again. Would definitely stay here again when we return. Vincent and Lola really make you feel at home and are just a lovely couple.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marsalis room and it was very big, clean and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Many thanks, S & B, for your nice review.
We enjoyed having you over, and we are glad you had a good time in New Orleans.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have just returned home after a week spent in the New Orleans Jazz Quarters. Upon arrival I went through the inn keepers Lola and Vincent received. I had the week of my life thanks to their help. The room was clean and well maintained. I can enjoy being a part of this city and I can only conclude that a week deficit is to discover all of its beauties.

In 2013 I will again visit this city and the Jazz Quarters. Everybody who loves music, culture I wil reccomend to keep this going.

Vincent and Lola, thanks for everything. We became good friends.

Repo man.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks, Thijs, for spending so much time with us.
It was wonderful to hang out with someone from the old country again and practice my Dutch.
We hope to see you again next year.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My sister and I planned a "sisters only" weekend in New Orleans, opting to pay a bit more so that we could stay in the Trombone Shorty room at the Jazz Quarters. Wow, was it worth it!

Vincent and Lola are wonderful innkeepers: so knowledgeable about the city, handing out maps marked with all of the restaurant and shopping spots they recommend, cooking the most scrumptious and filling breakfasts you could desire, and just being generally great folks to hang out with.

Our room seemed a bit dark, and the bathroom a bit small to begin with, but you know, it is New Orleans - you turn on some lights, and make sure it is one person at a time in the bathroom, and then you enjoy the very spacious room, comfortable beds, chilled water in the refrigerator, big tv (though it does not get in your way if you are not interested), and the fact that you can sleep as late as you like since the sun will not wake you.

We could not believe how fast our time there went by!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you, M & S, for your kind words.
We hope you will come see us again sometime.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. We are the perfect venue for private weddings, receptions or groups for up to 200 people. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.